We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Consistent Food and Service”

Johnny Tamale Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 197 Restaurants in Pasadena
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pasadena, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always Consistent Food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Been going to JT's for many years (the old and the new location.) The food and service has always been very good, not great Mexican food, but better than many others I've visited. I've never found any to compare with my Mexican Food holy grail, Bertha's Genuine Mexican Food Restaurant, which closed several years ago when Bertha Garza Robinson passed away. I'm still looking for the one place in every place I town or city I visit.I can never rate any place 5 stars because of growing up eating Bertha's food. I don't hesitate to recommend JT's to my friends, though. Always good food and consistent service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    23
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keene, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The restaurant is very clean. The Service Staff was very attentive. Our glasses never emptied, the food was very good and served hot. Over all a very good place to eat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Margarita”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Their Malo Margarita is one of the best I've ever had. And that's saying something, as I travel a lot and frequently get "top shelf" of "perfect" margaritas. Everything else about the place is above average tex-mex restaurant/bar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Always quick and great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Walking distance from Hampton Inn Pasadena (across the side street, less than normal block distance).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Solid Tex-Mex”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We eaten here about 3 times and the food is really good. Service is always as expected. Queso is not to spicy and the combo plates are tastey. Enchiladas, tacos and fajitas are all good choices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seethemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Tamale Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Pasadena, Texas Gulf Coast
Pasadena, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Pasadena, Texas Gulf Coast
Pasadena, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Pasadena, Texas Gulf Coast
Pasadena, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Johnny Tamale Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing