We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this as children of the 80s!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Southfork Ranch

Southfork Ranch
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Parker
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: View memorabilia from the television series Dallas at "J.R.'s" home.
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Loved this as children of the 80s!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We grew up watching Dallas as teenagers and on a whim decided to stop at Southfork as we left Dallas on our trip last month. Not expecting much except kitsch, we were pleasantly surprised and felt this really ended up being a highlight of the trip!

The included tour was fun and just long enough. The man giving the narrative had a great sense of humor and shared plenty of facts we didn't know about the show and the ranch. Our tour guide inside the house was just wonderful; I could tell she just loved what she did. It was interesting to learn the history of the ranch and how it was used (or not used) for various parts of the show, both the original and the new series.

It was great to get to linger as we wanted when the tour was over, so we strolled around and took it all in. A great highlight though is all the memorabilia inside the gift shop before the tractor tour. We remembered so much of what is on display there. What a great collection!

I'd really recommend this strongly for those who were/are fans of the show or like tv memorabilia.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank amybatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    214
    58
    20
    16
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ewing Mansion”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is a replica of the Hollywood set used as the setting for the TV show Dallas that was watched by millions. It was an actual mansion where the owners raised their children. Tours of the ranch with it's longhorn cattle, horses and other things make for an interesting day. Site is available for weddings and special occasions and conferences and concerts are held in the conference center on the ranch property.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dallas TV Program”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Located just outside of Dallas is the ranch known as Southfork Ranch. This ranch became famous as the setting of the television program "Dallas". It is now used as a tourist attraction and is owned by the owner of the Forever Living Products Company. Some of the scenes are still being shot at this location and it is possible to see some of the cast and crew at times.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaltbommel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
277 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Nice tour and free dwelling over lands”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The entrance building is big and contains a shop and a small museum, displaying the original and new Dallas stars. The tour group is brought by tram to the Southfork Ranch and the reception over there is wonderful. The first thing you'll hear though is that the interior is not used in the series ! Not even remakes of the rooms....but the tour is nevertheless interesting. A few rooms have been dedicated to actors and my favorite were the chairs near the fireplace where JR & Sue Ellen sat in with the big photograph of Jock Ewing as mantle piece ! All the outside scenes are actually shot on the premises. After the guided tour you can dwell as much and long as you want over the drive way, paddocks, buildings and of course gift shops. Well worth the visit and drive !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dutchkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Our tour came as part of a stay at the Southfork Hotel so we saved on the $15 dollar admission charge. Reception staff were friendly, advising us of departure time and location of next guided tour. Tractor trailer takes you round a guided tour of the property before you visit the house. Tour guide at house was enthusiastic and professional, offering to take pictures for couples / families. After the tour which takes around 45 minutes in all, you can wander around the property for as long as you like with no areas off limits. There's no hard sell here, with the café providing reasonably priced if limited menu. A must for Dallas fans and even I as a non Dallas watcher enjoyed the tour and learned something about the programme, the actors and how it's made.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BlackKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southfork Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing