We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice visit for Dallas series fans”
Review of Southfork Ranch

Southfork Ranch
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Parker
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: View memorabilia from the television series Dallas at "J.R.'s" home.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice visit for Dallas series fans”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

There is a store where you can buy different souvenirs.
You can also buy a guided tour around the premises and
also a lot of information about the the different places from
Dallas series. You will have access to the house and
the rooms after the guided tour.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank coffeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    215
    59
    20
    18
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Tour!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was a must see especially since my husband and I have seen every episode - both old and new! There is plenty of parking outside the gift shop where you purchase tickets. We got our picture made with the cowboy hats in front of the illuminated Dallas sign at the beginning of the museum. The museum was full of pictures, video, and information on both series.

The tour starts at the back door of the museum. We boarded a tram that took us on a tour of the grounds and dropped us off at the mansion. Our tour guide explained everything we would see in and around the house. She took us in the living room and allowed us to take pictures in front of the fireplace. We were then free to wonder around anywhere on the grounds and in the house for as long as we desired. I thought this was great as most tours are very strict about pictures and staying with your group.

All outdoor scenes are filmed here. The indoor Southfork mansion scenes are filmed on a set. The bedrooms had themes that were partially replicated from ones on the original Dallas series. The pool was much smaller than it looks on TV. It was cool sitting at the same patio table they sit at for breakfast outdoors on the show.

If you get hungry on your visit there is a Miss Ellie's Deli with a variety of sandwiches. There is a second gift shop next to the deli that has the car that Jock Ewing drove in the show. The shop also has clothing and many other items for sale. If you are a Dallas fan you will want to allow at least two hours for this visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Terrihav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I had a great time at Southfork Ranch!! The best part about this tour is that you are aloud to roam around the ranch without having to be stuck with a group or tour guide. We walked around the ranch and took lots of pics. And met some really nice employees. Thanks to everone for such a great experience :)

Helpful?
Thank Romanticgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Been there done that”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Visited this attraction on the fly. Due to weather we could not fly back home as planned so we enjoyed Dallas and surroundings. Having seen a couple episodes of the series when it was aired in Europe we thought this might be a nice opportunity to visit the location.

Behind the gift shop a little walk of fame is created with pictures and nice to knows about the serie.
Outside you can either walk along the exhibits or jump on a "train" where the driver explains some history about the buildings on the property before ending at the house used in the series. Inside the house another guide explains all about how and why the filmmakers had chosen this property. Some rooms are still the same as they were in the series including the place where JR found his end.

Its not time consuming, though entertaining if you are in to Dallas series. A triple hurdle of longhorns are living on the premises.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arno0571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
185 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

If your a old or new "DALLAS" fan you will enjoy your visit. Give yourself a good two hours to take the tour and walk the grounds. It starts out by you entering the gift shop where you purchase your tour ticket. The ticket with tax cost me $16.09 to be exact. Then you walk thru a mini museum about the show and out the back door where you get on a tractor trolley that takes you around the grounds and eventually to the house. While on the tractor ride you get told some interesting facts about the show. Once dropped off at the house you are told you can take all the pictures you want and encouraged to walk the grounds after you see the inside of the house. Once in the house your tour group is sat in a room and told more facts about the house for about 10 minutes before you are allowed to tour the house on your own. I found out during my 10 minute briefing that in my group we had people from France, Australia, Netherlands, Brazil and myself from Germany just to view the ranch. The staff told me that is a typical day to get people from all over the world who visit the ranch. You can take as many pictures as you like inside and outside. Once you are finished touring the house you can walk through a second souvenir shop called Lincoln and Longhorns or stop at Miss Ellie's Deli. There is also some livestock on the ranch to see. If your a fan of the new "DALLAS" you can also walk thru Elanna's house. Also there is a make shift cemetery with Jock, Miss Ellie and JR head stones are at. There is also a huge hall called Oil Barron's Convention Center which can be rented out for parties. You won't be disappointed in your visit. The staff was very delightful and friendly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Polishedfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southfork Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing