We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No room, even with prepaid reservation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Palestine Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Palestine
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“No room, even with prepaid reservation”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We went to Palestine for a weekend trip and had reserved a room with Hotels.com. We specifically called the hotel property in advance to review their pet rules. We were assured it was a pet friendly hotel, and were set to go.

When we arrived the hostess was checking us in, but then her manager took over and started making a major issue about our dog. He took forever to review his inventory, and at the end we ended up walking out, since he was being so unreasonable. There was another major event in the city and most of the hotels were completely sold out. It was clear he wanted to resell the room at rack rate.

Luckily Hotels.com canceled this reservation for us, and we were able to find another place (after dozens of frantic calls).

I would never go back to this place nor recommend it. The manager was completely unreasonable and unethical.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motorcycle_Tourist_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwpalestine, Manager at Best Western Palestine Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Motorcycle_Tourist_5,

Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent cancelled reservation for our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Upon check in, you had mentioned you have a dog and when we reviewed the reservation that came through www.hotels.com there was no mention of a pet not even in the special request column. As a limited number of rooms are designated as pet friendly rooms we need advanced notice for special room assignment. As you stated in your comment “there was another major event in the city and most of the hotels were completely sold out” so were we. In spite of the major shuffling of many rooms and most big group blocks, I was in process of locating the pet friendly room for you, at this time you decided to walk out of the hotel lobby. After I had allocated a pet friendly room to your reservation, we waited for you to come back to check in. After a few minutes had gone by, I called www.hotels.com to locate your phone number that is when I was informed that you have cancelled the reservation. Unfortunately, I did not have your contact phone number on file and was unable to contact you.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again, so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 903-723-4655.

Sincerely,
Manager
BEST WESTERN Palestine Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    55
    21
    8
    8
See reviews for
113
49
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel was clean, the owners were very nice, and the beds were comfortable. We were in town for a funeral and arrived at around 6pm. We ended up in a room that had a broken lock, so we couldn't lock the door. We called the front desk, they came by right away. While figuring out what to do, the owner actually offered to stay in our room and babysit our belongings while we went to dinner or anywhere we needed to go. Turns out they didn't need to because they were able to move us quickly to another room. They offer a free hot breakfast which is very tasty. Overall it was one of the best hotels I've stayed in. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerriCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwpalestine, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Palestine Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and for the kind review!

I am glad that your stay was a complete satisfaction. We take immense pride in being recommended by you. I appreciate you taking the time to admire our staff who provided excellent hospitality during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okc, Ok
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Three of us went on a motorcycle trip and this was our first stay. Very clean and very quiet room. The staff were very nice and helpful with a great place to eat. The free breakfast at the diner next door was very good and the waitress was a hoot. I would certainly stay here again and would recommend it to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandVOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwpalestine, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Palestine Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing us as your destination in Palestine. We really appreciate that you took time out of your busy schedule to write a review. We hope to see you soon and I will pass along the compliments to everyone that made your stay a success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean, quiet and the AC worked well. I do not watch TV but clicked it on. It had a clear picture and lots of chanels. There was a free breakfast at the cafe next door, but I did not partake if it. I did appreciate that the nice lady at the front desk called me shortly after I got to the room to make sure I was satisfied with my accommodations. I will stay there again next time I get to Palestine.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muttonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwpalestine, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Palestine Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to review our property and for choosing us at the Palestine Inn. Your kind words help us to strive harder everyday to be the best we can be. Hope to see you on your next trip to Palestine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The management and staff at this motel went over the top to show us a very warm welcome. The management and staff were very cordual and looked after our needs as they came up. My personnel thanks to the manager for his thoughtfulness and his help. We had a great time and he went above and beound our expectations. The rooms were great and the food in the morning was fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwpalestine, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Palestine Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I will defiantly pass along your compliments to the Manager and Staff. Your comments really put a smile on our faces and help us do what we do best. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Fabulous place! We stayed here with a huge group and we had a blast there...the manager and his wife we out of sight! They actually were the icing on the cake the whole time...whatever we needed, they took care of it, laughed and had fun with us, truly made the weekend! Rooms are great and clean with lots of room. You rock!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toejam003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwpalestine, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Palestine Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review. Your kind words will put a pep in our step. Your words are a true inspiration as they are exactly what we strive for everyday. We hope to see you and everyone that was apart of your group very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Clean rooms with very good beds. Great breakfast in the morning. Host was very friendly and gracious. Could use an upgrade on bath towels but no big deal. the location is convenient to dining and access to major roads.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palestine hotels
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Palestine
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palestine
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 10 in Palestine
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Palestine
2.3 mi away
Motel 6 Palestine
Motel 6 Palestine
#7 of 10 in Palestine
10 reviews
2.2 mi away
Express Inn & Suites
Express Inn & Suites
#6 of 10 in Palestine
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Palestine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Palestine Inn

Property: Best Western Palestine Inn
Address: 1601 W Palestine Ave, Palestine, TX 75801-3326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Palestine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Palestine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Palestine Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Palestine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palestine Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing