We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place ruined a Polar Express train ride trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Express Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Palestine
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place ruined a Polar Express train ride trip!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My two grandsons (ages 7 & 3) , my mother and myself stayed at this "place" . The beds & pillows were horrible. The room itself wasn't spotless clean and the paint on the ceiling was peeling off in huge pieces. The next morning @ 8:20 we went down to eat their free breakfast, which ended at 9:00am. There were six tables of parents w/children eating. After waiting our turn to cook our waffles and preparing my grandsons plates I barely had sat down with my own plate and here comes the hotel worker w/empty containers packing up the food. There were still at least five tables of the parents eating, trying to politely wait their turns to use the waffle iron and microwave. My watch said it was 9:02. That was RUDE. The purpose of this trip was to take my grandsons to ride the Polar Express train, which they enjoyed, but I have to say this place and their actions were very DISAPPOINTING......I won't go back and I will tell everyone how crappy this place is.

Room Tip: I wish I had stayed next door at the Holiday Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EXPRESSINN, Owner at Express Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Nancy, I am deeply sorry to hear about the negative experience that you had at our hotel this past weekend. Having spoke to you personally on Sunday I have made the necessary changes to make sure each guest has access to the Hot Breakfast. Even though breakfast is from 6am - 9am, I have instructed the breakfast attendants during high occupancy weekends they need to ask guests in the dining room if they would like to get any additional items from the breakfast buffet area; before closing it. This should make sure that your experience during breakfast this past Sunday is not repeated.

Many guests rave about our bedding and especially the Pillowtop mattresses. The housekeeping department prides themselves on providing clean rooms. I have spoke to the head housekeeper about your comments and she was disappointed.

Once again I am sorry and I appreciate your comments about your experience.

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    24
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
20
8
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Metro Phoenix, AZ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was the worst place I've stayed in over 15 years. It's on travel sites as 2 1/2 stars but it's a total dive.

It's worse than Motel 6. It stinks! Their excuse for breakfast is laughable. Terrible eggs, undercooked sausage. They are too cheap to serve orange juice they served some watery concotion (might have been Tang), coffee was terrible.

The bed was rock hard, the room was musty and the bathroom looked lik eno one had scrubbed the tile since the 1960's. NASTY NASTY NASTY!!!!!!

There's weeds all around the motel on the outside where you can drive up to the room door. Just flat out NASTY!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't book at this MOTEL. It's not worth the $45-70 a night they charge!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EXPRESSINN, Owner at Express Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
I am very disappointed to read such a negative review about the hotel. The front desk did notify me that they had given you two warnings about the noise level coming from your room. As a last resort, I had to force you to check out because of the multiple warnings about noise which were not rectified. The hotel strives to provide a quite and safe environment for all of its valued guests.

Our hotel is independently inspected and rated from one of the most oldest companies in the travel industry; AAA has approved and recommends the hotel at the 2.5 star ranking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The staff was very helpful and we enjoyed our stay We didn't have to worry about anything at all. And the beds were very comfortable. The flat screen tv's were an added touched. We usually run out of towels at other hotels, but here that was not an issue at all. The facilities were really nice. All of our events went off without a hitch. The large kitchen was such a help considering it was our family reunion. We will definitely request to book these facilities next year for our family reunion. All we can say is thank you,thank you,and thank you for your generous hospitality. Their is nothing I can say or do to have asked for more regarding your service. Once again thank you very much.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naturale28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EXPRESSINN, Owner at Express Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing to have your family reunion at our hotel and banquet facilities. Our banquet facilities easily accommodated your 130 family members who attended the two day event. Our large staff was able to clean and maintain the banquet facilities for all three of your events this weekend. As the owner I pride myself in providing banquet facilities which are cleaned and ready for each event in a timely manner.

Most of the guests that came in for the reunion did stay at the hotel. The 42" LCD televisions are the newest room amenity we recently added. We look forward to being able to take care of your family next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This isn't a five star hotel but for the price it is a 5 star value. The rooms are spacious and clean. We had a sofa, microwave and mini refrigerator in our room which came in handy during our stay. Nice salt water pool. Breakfast was good with hot eggs, biscuits and gravy as well as fruit, cereal and waffles. The customer service was excellent and all requests were quickly handled. I will gladly stay there next time I return to Palestine

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vdsmith85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EXPRESSINN, Owner at Express Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
I am very happy to read all of the positive comments that you posted on Tripadvisor. Express Inn & Suites has recently installed 42 inch LCD televisions. The hotel offers the largest televisions, salt water pool and hot breakfast in Palestine. All of the employees look forward to seeing you when you come back to Palestine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've stayed here every time I come to Palestine. But this time my reservation was unpredictable but timed. We came for the arrival of my third grandson, Jeremy was great to work with me with a window of days on either side. As it turned out we arrived two days early and they had a room waiting for me and then on my scheduled arrival date they switched me to the original King room I reserved. Abel did a great job getting me all checked in the middle of the night after a very long unexpected drive. Both gentlemen and the owner do a wonderful job making sure their guests are well taken care of.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bogus g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EXPRESSINN, Owner at Express Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
All of the staff at Express Inn & Suites appreciate the repeat business that you bring to the hotel. When guests repeatedly choose to stay at my hotel, it shows that the employees are treating our valued guests with true Southern Hospitality.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We held our school reunion in their banquet hall. They were so kind and helpful. Had over 200 people each night. They set up, cleaned up, kept it cool, and gave us a lot of value for our money . So glad we chose them as our reunion venue. Great free breakfast, pool, clean cool rooms, mini fridge and microwave in each room.
Perfect for our out of town reunion guest.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allifruge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EXPRESSINN, Owner at Express Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
The housekeeping and maintenance staff take great pride in keeping the hotel clean and accommodating. Maria has been the head housekeeper at the hotel for four years and she is the one who was cleaning and preparing the banquet room for your event. Maria was very happy to hear all of the positive remarks you left about her housekeeping department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I recently spent the weekend here for a high school reunion and was impressed by the service of the staff. Special thanks to Jeremy the front desk clerk for going above and beyond to make our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EXPRESSINN, Owner at Express Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
I appreciate the Neches High School reunion for choosing our hotel and banquet facilities this past weekend. The banquet events went seamlessly both Friday and Saturday. Jeremy has been with the hotel a long time and worked the day shifts all weekend long. He checked in all of your 25 rooms and helped tremendously in fulfilling all of your needs for the banquet event. He was very happy to hear your positive comments and we all look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palestine hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Palestine Inn
Best Western Palestine Inn
#5 of 10 in Palestine
256 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Palestine
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Palestine
Motel 6 Palestine
#7 of 10 in Palestine
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 10 in Palestine
402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Palestine
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palestine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Express Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express Inn & Suites

Property: Express Inn & Suites
Address: 1100 E Palestine Ave, Palestine, TX 75801-7314
Location: United States > Texas > Palestine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palestine
#5 Business Hotel in Palestine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Express Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Southern hospitality can only be found at the Express Inn &Suites of Palestine. With 93 guest rooms, Express Inn & Suites is by far the largest hotel in Palestine. We have the very best rates in Palestine on both nightly and weekly stays. All of our guest room amenities are new and meet the demands of the modern customer. Our guests do not want to get out of bed in the morning having experienced the most comfortable pillowtop mattresses in Palestine. We offer a FREE HOT BREAKFAST every morning from 6:00am - 9:00am. You will find the convenience of a Guest Laundry in the hotel and FreeWIFI in all rooms. For added pleasure, we welcome you to enjoy Palestine's LARGEST outdoor salt water swimming pool. If you like to travel with your pet, we allow pets with an additional fee. Please contact hotel directly for available pet friendly rooms. Smoking and Non-Smoking rooms are provided in separate buildings for the comfort of all our guests. We offer special Rates for extended stay workers that are coming into the area, so give us a call today to find out our current specials. We can accommodate any size crew and have ample truck parking for you to bring all your equipment. Why pay more? You can get better quality for lower rates at the Express Inn & Suites. You will find the convenience of many attractions, restaurants and shopping close by, so take your time weather you are traveling on business or pleasure to enjoy the Palestine area. Express Inn and Suites offers the best value in town, with all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Express Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Express Hotel Palestine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing