We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Express Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Palestine
Palestine, Texas
1 review
“TERRIBLE”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Bed was very uncomfortable. I rolled to the middle when I laid down.There was no fold out device for the suitcases. The television is an old style anaolg / no digtal. When iI asked staff about the fold out device for suitcase, theyacted like they didn't know what I was talking about. Will not stay here again !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EXPRESSINN, Owner at Express Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Most of our guest rave about the bedding at our hotel. We use the same premium pillow top mattresses used at Sheraton hotels and have modern down comforters in ALL guest rooms. The hotel does have plans to install flat panel televisions in the near future. Like most hotels at our price point, we do not have luggage holders in the rooms. All rooms do have 6 draw dressers which typically provides ample storage room.

As the owner of the hotel I am very disappointed in the low score from your review. We strive to create a positive guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
20
8
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horseshoe Bay
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The motel was mostly empty, staying on a Saturday night. The room was old, an older tube type TV with a very blurry picture. The sink had no stopper. There was no weatherstripping on the room door, so I kept the heat on high and as hot as it would go to keep the room comfortable (it did work, and the room was comfortable, outside temp was about 40 degrees). The signal from the wireless internet was weak. It did work, but was slow due to the weak signal.

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was simple, but good. They had make-your-own waffles which came out well. I would call breakfast adequate, but they took it away promptly at 9:00 a.m., so no late sleeping if you want breakfast.

I was satisfied based on the price, which was $67 including tax. This was on the low end of the area. Would I stay there again? Maybe, maybe not. Probably would if all I'm looking for is a bed for the night, which is all I needed on this trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dro1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EXPRESSINN, Owner at Express Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
The hotel does have plans to install flat panel televisions in the near future. We currently have the regular 27 inch televisions with 48 channels. The hotel does offer five movie channels including hbo and showtime.

Our hotel is built out of concrete and blocks which does minimize noise from other guests. Each room has block walls between them; the first and second floor has a 6 inch thick concrete floor. The extremely solid construction of the hotel does make it difficult to pick up more than three bars on a wireless internet connection. The hotel does subscribe to the largest internet bandwidth package in Palestine which is 15 meg.

The housekeeping staff were happy to hear that you found our rooms clean and comfortable. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Wonderful customer service from the Albe and Jeremy. Very clean rooms, thanks to Maria in Housekeeping. Our family will stay again when we ride the Polar Express next Christmas. My husband and I recommend other families to stay here when in town. The pizza party was a fun send off that really set the mood for the Polar Express. The pizza party also gave us time to visit with other families. The prize for one lucky family was a sweet gesture. Able was very kind to cook breakfast and did so with a smile. Jeremy was great with treating you like family. Very family friendly staff and promotions. Jermey shared an inspiring story of the owner updating the propery himself. The owner was visible during our stay but never greeted us. We typicaly stay where we can receive Hilton Honnors points but the trip advisor reviews tugged at the heart strings. If you keep in mind you are staying at a motel not a hotel you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SavedByJesusChrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EXPRESSINN, Owner at Express Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Abel, Maria and Jeremey were all very happy to read your positive comments. Being personally recognized by guests in their tripadvisor remarks is a great moral boost for the employees. I am very happy to see that the hotel measures up to the very high standards of a regular Hilton hotel guest. Maria has been the head housekeeper at this hotel for over six years.

I look forward to personally meeting you when your family comes back to the hotel in 2013. The pajama party has been a great hit amongst our Polar Express guests. We shall definitely be making the pajama parties a regular event at our hotel during upcoming Polar Express 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My family and I decided to take a trip to Palestine for the Polar Express. We have never been to Palestine before and really didn't know where to stay. I found the Express Inn and Suites on the Polar Express website and booked the room. The price of the room was great and when we arrived the gentleman working the counter was Jeremy. He always had a smile on his face and was very nice and friendly. Our room was fabulous it had all the amenities we needed. They also threw a pizza party for all of the Polar Express riders. My kids had a blast and so did I. I will most definitely stay here again and would urge anyone else this is looking for a great room and at a great price to stay at the Express Inn and Suites.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KF509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EXPRESSINN, Owner at Express Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you Ronda for taking the time to review our hotel. Five stars in all categories is what we aim for. I am happy that the employees took care of your family during your stay at our hotel. Our hotel has the lowest prices compared to all the hotels on the Polar Express website. There is no need for potential guests to shop around; we gaurantee the lowest rate in Palestine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Louisiana, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is very nice! The price is great and staff is friendly. We were able to do the pajama party, they feed the entire family pizza and cookies! The rooms are also very clean, would recommend this hotel! Jeremy was working almost the entire time we were there and he was very nice, friendly, and informative!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EXPRESSINN, Owner at Express Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
The employees received a great moral boost when they saw that you had given the hotel five stars all across the board. Positive guest reviews helps me as the owner understand that the employees are taking care of our valued guests.

The hotel rented a bounce house for the weekend on Dec 14th, 15th and 16th. The children throughly enjoyed this extra activity. The bounce house stayed full most of the weekend with children waiting in line to get a chance to burn off any excess energy they may have had.

Thank you for reviewing our hotel; we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a great weekend in Palestine riding the Polar Express. We stayed at the Express Inn and Suites and do not regret our choice of hotel. They had a pizza pajama party that was included with price of the stay and a nice hot breakfast was included as well. The place was very clean and the value can not be beat. Jeremy was very helpful as well. I highly recommend staying here and riding the Polar Express.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EXPRESSINN, Owner at Express Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you Amanda for sharing your experiences at our hotel on Tripadvisor. The December 8th Pajama Party was the largest one we have had to date. We had over one hundred of our hotel guests attend the party that evening. The atmosphere in the lobby that evening was something special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

This is not just the bargain motel for the Palestine area. I am a traveling salesman, so I have stayed in most. The Express Inn is clean, comfortable, maintained, and has friendly employees.

Rooms have coffee maker, fridge, microwave, decent TV and channel selection, and large desk (important to me). Carpet is fairly new and very clean. Quiet rooms with soft comforters and sheets that FIT on the bed.

You will have to pay close to double the money to get one nicer in this town.

It is my new regular place to stay when I come to Palestine, TX.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blazinpistol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EXPRESSINN, Owner at Express Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Express Inn & Suites is an AWARD winning, two diamond ranking AAA approved hotel. Our hotel has the lowest rates in Palestine, amongst our competitive set. The hotel is able to offer the lowest rates because it is not affiliated with any franchise. Franchise fees account for a large percentage of a guests room rate. Since our hotel does not have to pay any franchise fees, that large savings is passed down to our guests.

The maintance manager was very happy to hear that you noticed the extremely clean carpets. The hotel uses high quality bed linens and comforters. Many of our guests rave about their comfortable sleeping experience at the hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palestine hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Palestine Inn
Best Western Palestine Inn
#5 of 10 in Palestine
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Palestine
Motel 6 Palestine
#7 of 10 in Palestine
10 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Palestine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Palestine
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 10 in Palestine
409 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palestine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Express Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express Inn & Suites

Property: Express Inn & Suites
Address: 1100 E Palestine Ave, Palestine, TX 75801-7314
Location: United States > Texas > Palestine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palestine
#5 Business Hotel in Palestine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Express Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Southern hospitality can only be found at the Express Inn &Suites of Palestine. With 93 guest rooms, Express Inn & Suites is by far the largest hotel in Palestine. We have the very best rates in Palestine on both nightly and weekly stays. All of our guest room amenities are new and meet the demands of the modern customer. Our guests do not want to get out of bed in the morning having experienced the most comfortable pillowtop mattresses in Palestine. We offer a FREE HOT BREAKFAST every morning from 6:00am - 9:00am. You will find the convenience of a Guest Laundry in the hotel and FreeWIFI in all rooms. For added pleasure, we welcome you to enjoy Palestine's LARGEST outdoor salt water swimming pool. If you like to travel with your pet, we allow pets with an additional fee. Please contact hotel directly for available pet friendly rooms. Smoking and Non-Smoking rooms are provided in separate buildings for the comfort of all our guests. We offer special Rates for extended stay workers that are coming into the area, so give us a call today to find out our current specials. We can accommodate any size crew and have ample truck parking for you to bring all your equipment. Why pay more? You can get better quality for lower rates at the Express Inn & Suites. You will find the convenience of many attractions, restaurants and shopping close by, so take your time weather you are traveling on business or pleasure to enjoy the Palestine area. Express Inn and Suites offers the best value in town, with all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Express Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Express Hotel Palestine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing