We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable stay ever!!!”
Review of Luther Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palacios
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luther Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Palacios
Reviewed July 8, 2009

The hotel is unique in itself. If you don't mind antique furniture and decorations, then this is the hotel for you. The host and hostess were very entertaining and took very good care of us during our stay. The staff was very helpful. We stayed 5 days and were not wanting to go home after our stay. We just loved the place and the people.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babbyjoe07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 93 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2009

We took a family trip out to Palacios on May. 2009. We found a site for fishing and Luther Hotel right acoss the water. The stay was very nice and quiet different. My family and I enjoyed it very much and felt like home. The staff was very nice and helpful! We plan on taken a trip out back out there very soon and staying the whole weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nietoj2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2007

We stayed at the Luther Hotel for our Honeymoon in early September 2007. We booked the penthouse suite. While the penthouse was a little outdated, it was very nice and comfy. It had a kitchen with a full oven and range, sink, toaster, full size fridge and freezer and was stocked with silver ware and cups and plates, etc. The living room had a full size tv with remote, couch, dining room set and chair. The bedroom had a queen size bed and dresser. The bathroom had a tub (no shower) and huge vanity area and commode. While the penthouse has not been updated in quite some time, the view from the rooftop balcony was wonderful and romantic. We could see the bay from the rooftop and took many strolls along the water. The rest of the rooms in the hotel were more recently updated (we peeked in a few). The best part of the hotel is the HOSPITALITY. The people working there are friendly and go out of their way to accomodate you. There is a breakfast room in which they have cereals, juice, coffee and fresh pastries ready for you every morning. Lots of historical photos of presidents and hollywood stars who have stayed there before. It's a quiet relaxing wonderful retreat. No phones in the bedrooms. If you need to get away from it all, this is the place. Make sure to eat at the Outrigger restraurant. It looks kind of scary from the outside (old lumber yard) but the inside is hip and trendy and ocean friendly. Fantastic food! Friendly staff! This is where everyone goes.

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank RecentNewlywed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2007

Our experience at the Luther Hotel was nothing but wonderful. The onsite owners were very gracious and gave us a very homey feeling. This quaint Hotel is just like a New England Bed and Breakfast. You feel like you are walking into the living room of family. It was nice to sit and relax and visit with the owners in the sitting area in the main living room. The food was excellent, fresh seafood at a great price. And fishing at the pier in the evenings was perfect, right across the street. We will make this a regular location for our retreats. Thank You again for a great weekend. V & M

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank number20isnumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2007

She was once a grand lady, but she's still a nice place to stay run by a great couple. In front there's an expansive front lawn with a curving driveway from a quiet street, and then the sea wall and fishing pier. We were in the Magnolia Room upstairs, and it was very nice and very clean. There are albums of old pictures and articles about the hotel and community, and the "breakfast room" walls are covered with more pictures. We'd definitely stay there again. Be sure to have a shrimp boil dinner at the Outrigger, where you get a pound of huge and very fresh shrimp.

Stayed: February 2007
7  Thank RockyPt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2006

We take our vacations with no destination in mind and fell in love with the old and quaint picture the Luther presented as we were driving along the very clean beach. The rooms were spacious and clean. Although old furnishings, they were comfortable, clean and the view was spectacular. Our Grandson loved the pier for fishing and the park and was made very welcome by the staff. We were fortunate to be there when the owner was in residence and learned all the old history ot this wonderful home and the restaurants in the area were delicious. Good and plentiful for the $$$. Can't wait for our next trip there. No more chain hotels for us.

Stayed: July 2006
6  Thank coshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Seabrook, Texas
17
Reviewed May 15, 2006

We stayed at the Luther Hotel Mother's Day weekend. We loved the peace and quiet. My husband did some fishing and I got a little sun. We loved the history, slow pace and friendliness of the place. I think you will enjoy it if you like historical, peaceful places. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are planning to return for our anniversary.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palacios
24.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca
25.0 mi away
Best Western Port Lavaca Inn
Best Western Port Lavaca Inn
#3 of 8 in Port Lavaca
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Peaceful Pelican Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
American Inn & Suites
American Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Port O'Connor
16 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Luther Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luther Hotel

Address: 408 S Bay Blvd, Palacios, TX 77465-5434
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Palacios
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Palacios
Price Range: $70 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful old hotel, full of charm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luther Hotel Palacios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing