We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the ONLY place to stay in the Bay City/Palacios area!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Peaceful Pelican Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Palacios B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 19, 2010

This old house is spotless, grand, elegant, and fun, with fabulous views of Matagorda Bay. Edith is wonderful with breakfasts and with wine at cocktail hour, and VERY accomodating. Too bad she doesn't do dinners!! I have stayed here several times, and now wouldn't stay anywhere else when I am in the area!! This B&B is the best.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank madewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 52 of 52 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2010

If you are searching for a coastal destination away from the crowds, this is the perfect spot. The B&B is right on the water and all of the rooms and common areas have wonderful views. Edith, the owner, is a fine host. The town of Palacios may not have that much to offer, but it is a refreshing break from the surf shops and traffic jams found elsewhere on the coast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hell0m0t0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

The Peaceful Pelican was a wonderful and comfortable inn for my recent business trip to Palacios. The hospitality was warm and breakfast with when I needed it was perfect. Edith even shared her recipes with me. The free wireless Internet and complete bathroom amenities made packing for my trip a little easier. If I had a few days in East Texas, I would certainly spend them at the Pelican with its wonderful water views and quiet atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank club60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Need to get away from the concrete jungle of Houston? This is it. Comfy bed, classy private bath, bay views, and a warm hostess. A different gourmet breakfast each morning and fine wine or lemonade in the afternoon.
The atmosphere inspired me to compose a new Blues tune for my upcoming CD.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lis2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

One night at this quiet b & b was not enough.....we added this stop to our anniversary trip at the last minute and are very glad we did. The house itself was very nice, as was the owner/innkeeper Edith. Our room was so tastefully decorated, with a seperate sitting room and our bathroom was spacious with both a clawfoot tub and a seperate shower.We really enjoyed the ground floor room - not many b & b's have ground floor availability - yet we did not have any problem with noise from the guests upstairs. The sheets were exquisite and towels were soft, excellent a/c and ceilingf fans. Best of all, the whole place was clean and well-kept. It was hard to leave the rocking chairs on the front porch - the view of the bay across the street was so relaxing!! The breeze made it enjoyable even on a hot Texas afternoon. Five o'clock brought lemonade/wine hour and time with Edith to learn the history of the house and the town. She also gave us a great tip for a wonderful fresh seafood dinner at "Soonbill's" - an enjoyable 30 minute drive away. Breakfast was yummy: a fresh fruit parfait, stuffed french toast, bacon and sliced bananas. Again, to the porch we went, enjoying morning coffee. Check -out time was noon, allowing for a leisurely morning. We didn't join in, but we saw many folks enjoying morning walks on the 1.5 mile seawall along the bay. As we told Edith, we will be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodimarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Peaceful Pelican for 2 nights on a leisurely drive down the Texas coast. The home is beautiful and the view of the bay is magnificent! We were also able to bring our small, well-behaved dog with us. We stayed during the week, and there was one other person staying the first night, but we were alone the second night. We explored the other rooms and were amazed by the number of windows in all of them. The breeze from the bay was very restful. We enjoyed sitting on the porch drinking wine in the evening and coffee in the morning. The seawall walk is lovely and is one and a half miles long. It is directly across from the B&B. There is also a fishing pier and the B&B had fishing poles on the back porch. This was a great place to just relax. The town is small and has a few shops and restaurants, but the bay setting cannot be beat! We really enjoyed the Matagorda County Birding and Nature Center which is about 30 miles away - it is lovely!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarrolltonTXTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Peaceful Pelican Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peaceful Pelican Bed & Breakfast

Address: 317 E Bay Blvd, Palacios, TX 77465-4917
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Palacios
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Palacios
Price Range: $151 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peaceful Pelican Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of our historic 1910 home and its scenic bay front location in the quiet shrimping town of Palacios, Texas. The Peaceful Pelican is proud to offer 5 luxury rooms, all with private bathrooms, first class amenities, wireless Internet and gourmet breakfast. Just right for a romantic getaway, a business retreat, or a special trip to one of the best birding spots in the United States! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Peaceful Pelican Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing