We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, "hole in the wall" barbeque”
Review of Wagon Wheel BBQ

Wagon Wheel BBQ
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Ozona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Old-fashioned Texas BBQ, home-made bread, cobbler, side orders, iced tea brewed fresh daily, down-home atmosphere, indoor/outdoor dining, free wi-fi.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
485 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Fantastic, "hole in the wall" barbeque”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

During a recent trip to Big Bend National Park, we found ourselves in the middle of no where on I-10 at lunch time. Based on Tripadvisor reviews, we detoured a mile south of I-10 in Ozona to try the Wagon Wheel BBQ. The hardest part is finding the place, as it is in an old converted gas station with limited signage. But don't let the "hole in the wall" location deter you...the BBQ was fantastic. We sampled the brisket, sausage, ribs as well as cole slaw, bean, and potatoe salad sides and everything was wonderful. In addition, they serve home baked desserts and we had the outstanding peach cobbler. This is all provided in a very plain and homey environment by the wonderful family oriented proprietors who were very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend you take the detour if you are near Ozona and hungry for some great BBQ.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank rustycat83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    19
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best BBQ and Fixings!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Awesome food and service! Great hospitality! Love it! Wish they were a chain. Better than Dickie's! Loved the homemade bread and desert'a too!

Helpful?
4 Thank Vickie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Finally!! REAL BBQ in Texas!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We were on a road trip, and part of the purpose was to partake in some of that famous Texas BBQ we've been hearing about...After several mediocre to disappointing meals, we finally found it in this totally "out of the way" and real "Hole in the Wall" kinda place! And by "out of the way" I mean Siri couldn't find it - so just FYI - if you use Siri, you won't find it!! And by "hole in the wall" I mean... well, you just have to see for yourself! The family was very kind and endearing, and the food was SUPERB!! They had REAL homemade cobbler - the brisket was amazing!! We LOVED it!! Hope we have a good reason to come through Ozona Tx again!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Barbecue!!!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Got the Rib and Sausage plate, and let me tell you. "It was good" Wish I would have discovered this place a lil sooner. Will definitely be coming back.

Helpful?
4 Thank Invalid_Name
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lucky to have happened here by accident!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a place to eat in Ozona as we had been on the road for quite a while. We couldn't find the one listed on the GPS, so I stopped at this place not realizing it was a restaurant. What we discovered was BBQ to die for! I will stop here again the next time I in Ozona, Texas.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Countrynewsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wagon Wheel BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing