We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southwestern art lover”

Stark Museum of Art
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Orange
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Stark Museum of Art houses one of the finest collections of nineteenth and twentieth century Western American art in the country. It focuses on the stunning land, dramatic people and diverse wildlife of the West. Paintings, sculpture and prints interpret the West from nineteenth century frontier artists to twentieth century artistic colonies. Artists include John James Audubon, Frederic Remington, Charles Marion Russell and Georgia O’Keeffe. Also, American Indian art; decorative arts; special changing exhibitions.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Southwestern art lover”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you are a fan of southwestern art this small art museum is a must! The collection is surprisingly extensive. We could have spent more time....

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cookieandfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    13
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“5th GRADE FIELD TRIP!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Went with 5th graders on a field trip. I had so much fun. You know some of the kiddos thought it was kind of boring but not ME! Everyone was friendly. The lady that gave us a tour was so funny and sweet. Very nice building. Everything is nicely placed. Beautiful art work displayed everywhere. There was so much info to take in...so much history! Would go again and take my time. one recommendation don't touch... There is security all over which I loved! It use to be free I was told but now there is a fee.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MandaRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
264 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great western art works”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The musuem has been updated, is easy to view and has impressive works

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bent NM
Level Contributor
408 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Western art and porcelin birds”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Good collection of cowboys and Indians art along with ceramic birds figurines some glassware. Free admission. Allow an hour. Located downtown across from the Stark house, also an attraction.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Odis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A real gem in an unexpected location”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Although one tends to associate art museums with larger metropolitan areas, such as Houston or Dallas, there are some real gems to be found in some smaller cities, and this is one of them. Granted, the museum is rather small, but that is actually one of its advantages. It is possible to view all the works on display during you visit and not become overwhelmed. The Stark Museum's collection is actually much, much larger than can be displayed at one time, so the painting exhibits change frequently (the porcelain and Steuben glass are on permanent display,and quite well worth seeing). This was our second time to visit the Stark, and we saw a number of works that were not on view the last time. The focus is particularly on American art, and specifically Southwestern art. To top it all off, admission is free. Any visit to Orange should include this museum, and tour the Stark House too, while you are at it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GulfCoastGirl517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stark Museum of Art also viewed

 
Orange, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Stark Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing