We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what was expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Deluxe 6 Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olmito
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Nice people here, but the lobby and exterior were enough to relocate. We actually ended up here by central reservations at laquinta. We wanted the LaQuinta in Brownsville--5 miles down the road. The lobby had an odor to it and the fruit on the counter was looking days old.
I agress with Rusty, this is at most a one night stay.

Room Tip: if you want to stay at LaQuinta, check out 5051 N Expressway. We ended up here, rooms are all updat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank Manuel V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Checked on priceline, hotwire, hotels.com and found this hotel. Went to the front desk and asked for the best price they had and got a $67.50 aarp rate. That was as good as any of the above had.
Checked in and the lady @ the front desk was friendly and helpful. Went to our room and found a spacious and clean room with 12' ceilings. Upkeep and maintenance was pretty standard with little things needing to be done (lots of dings in the paint on the wall behind the chair at the desk). Nice desk area with wired internet access which was easy to connect to and reasonably fast. Room has small microwave and fridge we did not use. Wife took a shower and then it was my turn. Found out we only had one wash cloth. Wife went to front desk and was told that they had no more!!! Apparently lots of things are stolen from the rooms here. (We were actually told that @ checkout!) Next day we had enough wash cloths.
Pool area ok but old and in need of resurfacing of the pool deck. Chairs in need of replacing.
Breakfast not bad. Scrambled eggs, breads, waffles, juice, yogurt, etc.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

Clean basic motel on the outskrits of town. Room was large and comfortable. Breakfast was good. The only complaint was the walls are a little thin and noise carries from room to room.

Hi speed was slow

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msfromgptx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

the room has a musky smell, like wet carpet. was down for work had to stay for 2 weeks. had to by candles the second day to tolerate the smell of the room. its noisy, and the beds hard.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rusty000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

Stayed in this hotel right after Christmas, 2008. The desk clerk told me it was a Super 8 but had recently been converted to a LaQuinta.

The lobby is nice. There is a very small (too small for this property) breakfast room where continental breakfast is served. There are only about 5 tables and chairs there for a 57 room hotel. They seem to keep the breakfast there fairly well stocked, but it only goes until 9AM even on the weekends. The breakfast choices are not that great...bagels, yogurt, toast, cereal with 2 choices of juice and milk. There is also a waffle maker. It is adequate I would say.

The rooms are fairly nice. Basic as you would expect. THe hotel was clean the the bathroom was small but not too bad. Everything was functional. The hotel was quiet even though there seemed to be quite a few people there.

A few things about the place. Its on the "outskirts" of Brownsville - sort of in a strange place. THere is a bar/grill near the hotel (never tried it) and some warehouses behind the hotel that the hotel overlooks. when you look out these windows, what you see are the inside of these warehouses and they are ugly! So leave your curtains closed LOL. There is a gas station and convenience store there too about a block away. But that is all that is there. Restaurants and shopping are about 3 or 4 miles away.

The beds in the room were hard as cement. They don't give at all and I'm a big guy (over 300 lbs) and when I sat down I didn't fell much give - my back could definitely tell it. If you love an extremely firm mattress - this is the place for you.

The rooms are well kept but could use another color of paint other than plain white like a hospital room. It would make the room a little more appealing as well as putting in drapes and taking down the cheap curtains.

Overall, I would stay there again. Average hotel - just bring some pain pills for your back!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sopransfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2007

My husband stayed at this motel for a one night business trip. He couldn't say enough good things about the staff and motel. It appears to be recently built so no wear and tear in the rooms and his non-smoking room smelled fresh. They have a free continental breakfast which consisted of the usual fruit, cereal, and pastries. He said that it was a good selection and the area was kept clean. The hotel is a little north of Brownsville but is in a location that is growing and not far from downtown. We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Texas2Houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deluxe 6 Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deluxe 6 Inn & Suites

Address: 8280 N Expressway 77, Olmito, TX 78575-9800 (Formerly La Quinta Inn Brownsville)
Location: United States > Texas > Olmito
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olmito
Price Range: $49 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Deluxe 6 Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe 6 Inn & Suites, Formerly La Quinta, conveniently located on North Expressway 83 in Olmito, Texas...just a stone's throw from Brownville, Texas. Minutes from Port of Brownsville, South Padre Island, Brownsville Sports Park, Gladys Porter Zoo, Museums, Bird Sanctuaries, World Class Golf Courses, Hospitals, Shopping and University of Texas Brownsville and Matamoros, Tamaulipas, Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Deluxe 6 Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Olmito
Olmito La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing