We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good for M6, but pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel 6 Odessa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Odessa
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Odessa
El Rito, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good for M6, but pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

The motel itself is fine. No problems. Clean, quiet, comfortable. Better than the average M6, but because the oil patch is booming, many workers have to stay anywhere they can find a roof. That has enabled every motel owner in Midland/Odessa and surrounding towns to raise their rates sky-high. Nothing you can do about it if you have to stay in the area, but if you can, drive on further to get out of the boom area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    9
    5
    25
See reviews for
10
5
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gatesville, TX
Level Contributor
426 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Odessa/Midland was our stopping point during a drive home from our 10 day Las Vegas and Scottsdale AZ vacation. After reviewing hotels on Trip Advisors mobile app I couldn't believe what I was reading --- hotels/motels below $100/night were extremely limited to two choices. For a road trip stopover hotel stay we rarely spend over $100/night. Our 4 star hotels in Las Vegas and Scottsdale had cost us only $63/night. So this was a shock to find such expensive hotel choices in Odessa (not your loveliest town in Texas). We think our gas prices are higher due to all the oil and gas companies doing business in Odessa/Midland are having to pay such high nightly rates at these hotels/motels. You know, oil boom town atmosphere jacks up the hotel nightly rates.

We finally chose the Motel 6 and asked for a room as far away from the freeway as possible (which we got from the friendly receptionist). However, the freeway noise heard within the room was horrible. Our room was extremely small. It was clean-ish though. The door looked as if someone had tried to take a crowbar to get into the room. Bed was very uncomfortable. ANd we were irked by the light switch for the bathroom shower/toilet area automatically turned on the noisy fan. Lastly, there was no shower curtain liner which meant the "fancy" outside shower curtain couldn't hold in the water meaning we had a drenched bathroom floor. Hoo boy - we were so glad when daylight arrived so we could get on down the road. And all this for just a mere $87/night.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasCatBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Odessa hotels

Leonard, Texas
Level Contributor
388 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Brought my whole company to Odessa for a 6 day business trip. This was the only hotel I could find for under $100 a night. It is bare bones but not bad. Maybe we got all of the updated rooms but they are not bad this trip. Seems like they have some new paint, flooring, TVs and a few other things in our rooms.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack2148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Nuys, ca
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

Besides the friendly front office person, this was a horrible experience. The room smelled, the toilet was dirty ( the whole bathroom for that matter), and questionable stains on the bed. Filthy all around. I spent five minutes total in that room, called around and got another room at another hotel. I would suggest staying elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

$86. and no clock radio, no in room coffee, no microwave, no refrigerator, no iron or hair dryer., no free breakfast. Super 8 motels and most Days Inns have all the above and are much less expensive. Worst thing is the floors are not carpeted. That's great on the second floor, but if you are on the first floor, you hear every single step the people upstairs make. I mean there is no sound deadening at all.

Room Tip: If you must stay there, be sure you reserve a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biggeorge8639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

The motel is pricey for the class. $90 for the less than adequate linen and a dirty room. They charge for wifi usage. You may find a better place in the vicinity. Keep looking or stay in Midlands. It is only 15 miles away.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay city
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

Ugh, idk where to start. Very outdated,only thing updated that i saw was the flat screen TV. My husband has been working in the Odessa area and had been staying here. We did not plan on staying here but thought it is reasonably priced, I will try it.Started to regret it as soon as I walked, very, very small. Just looked filthy and dirty, no matter how much cleaning they did. The only positive thing that I can say is the gentleman that was there in the morning is very kind and helpful.Looking for another place as we i write this.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Odessa hotels
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#15 of 40 in Odessa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
4.7 mi away
Great  Val-U Inn Odessa
Great Val-U Inn Odessa
#24 of 40 in Odessa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
5.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#29 of 40 in Odessa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#17 of 40 in Odessa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
5.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Odessa
0.3 mi away
Ramada Odessa
Ramada Odessa
#30 of 40 in Odessa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Odessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Odessa

Property: Motel 6 Odessa
Address: 200 East I-20 Service Road, I-20 at US 385, Exit #116, Odessa, TX 79760
Location: United States > Texas > Odessa
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Odessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Motel 6 Odessa 1.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Motel-6 and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Odessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 - Odessa Hotel Odessa
Motel Six Odessa
Odessa Motel 6
Odessa Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing