We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK Place to Stay, But Nothing Special”
Review of Holiday Inn Odessa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Odessa
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Odessa
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I visited the Odessa Holiday in during March 2013. It's a brand-new facility -- one of about a dozen new hotels going up in the twin cities -- and one would have expected a tiny bit more from the Holiday Inn system. So we end up with a hotel that's OK, but not great, and really could have been much better.

From the street, the building is handsome and modern, easily seen from the highway. BUT -- there's a trick -- you can't get to the hotel from the exit. Use the exit BEFORE the hotel, right in front of the Best Buy store. From there you can scoot right into the hotel parking lot. Otherwise, you have to pick your way through a gas station and car dealership to get back to the hotel. Interestingly, most of the guests are Halliburton oil workers, but they were all very friendly and polite dispite their huge sizes.

Inside, the hotel is clean and tidy. The rooms are good sized but filled with too much furniture. There's a nice bench for holding your luggage, plus a fridge and a microwave. The air conditioning was powerful but VERY noisy, so we turned it off most of the time. The exterior lighting on the hotel is extremely bright and on all night (talk about your carbon footprint!) so we had to close the curtains to get some sleep. Not my favorite arrangement.,

The bar opens late and closes early. The kitchen is understaffed so service is irregular. The food is an interesting mix: the portions are generous but not terribly tasty. The selections of wine are poor. One of the elevators broke while I was there, leading to LLOOOONGGGG waits and hikes up the stairs. **sigh** They should have bought American Otis elevators, not stuff from Europe.

Most interestingly, the shower curtain in our room was too short, and flipped outside the tub, allowing water to accumulate on the floor. Come on, Mr. Hilton -- you can do better than that!

So all in all, it's OK, but nothing special to bring you back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PilotMike2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Odessa, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear PilotMike2009,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused you and for falling short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 58 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were just passing through from NM to San Antonio, TX. Only stayed the one night. Hotel was clean, easy check in/out process, down the road from ihop etc, good sized car park. A bit expensive for what you get but thats due to location/lack of competition. Would have been better if they provided a complentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samserena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Odessa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Samserena;

Thank you for your considerate review. It is great to hear you found our hotel nice and decent. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback is greatly appreciated.
Thank you again for staying with us, and if there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were greeted first with a very nice lady Yolanda I believe at the front desk. The trashy wait staff and bar tenders were not impressive and after 07:00pm you have to pay to get into the bar and they have no restrooms in the bar so you will eventually pay. The Two Odessa Police Officer were friendly that were hanging out in the lobby.Our room 332 was outdated. The bed needs a new mattress so you dont all roll to the middle of the bed. The Hookers that were coming in the back doors of the hotel were not Impressive either ! Next time I will stay in Midland at the Double Tree for the same money and not the trash

Room Tip: Stay at the Elegante Or in Midland
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Odessa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Jimmy E;

Thank you taking the time to write a review. Unfortunately, based on the information in your review, we can conclude that you are speaking about another Odessa hotel. We've never employed anyone at the front desk by the name of Yolanda, or at any other area of the hotel.
We do not employ Odessa Police Department for security or other reasons.

Our waitstaff and bartenders are required to wear branded uniforms, which are kept up to date.
Our lounge is open from 5-10pm, is in an open area located in the lobby of the hotel and is made part of our restaurant. It does not have doors at all, nor is payment a requirement. The restrooms are located very near the lounge, but not in the lounge and are easily accessible.

Our beds are updated regularly as well as the bedding and we, fortunately, don't have issues with unwanted guests such as you had mentioned in your review, our back doors do not open from the outside without a guest room key.

For more information about our hotel, please visit www.holiday-inn.com/odessatx

Thank you
Sincerely
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Convenient location from Midland airport. Traveled back and forth from Midland to Odessa for shopping, eating, and work. Received free appetizer at checkin. Cheap lemonade and burned cookies were served in the afternoon...that could be better. Overall nice stay and would definately return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MommasTripn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

The hotel itself is clean and appears to be well maintained. My room was spacious with a love seat, coffee table and desk. The one main problem with the hotel is service for the price you pay. The bar tender not only tends bar, but also waits tables and make the room service runs. I saw several people who closed out their tabs early simply because the poor bar tender was seldom around. I also noted that the person at the desk also appeared to be multi-taksing as well. Due to the oil boom in the area, most hotels in the area, including this one, are getting 180 for their rooms, but for that rate I would think they could hire more help. Not sure if I will return simply due to the lack of service.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blkbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Odessa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Blkbart;

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Odessa Holiday Inn. We appreciate and take all reviews seriously whether they be positive or negative. We are so glad that you found the hotel to be comfortable and clean. You are correct about the oil boom in our area and along that line of thinking, the area has been suffering as most potential employees move on to oil field related jobs. We are working dilligently to make sure that all guests are attended to in a timely and friendly manner.
Since you last wrote this review, we've successfully staffed the restaurant and lounge and would love to invite you back to try us out!

Thank you
Sincerely
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I stayed here two weeks in a row with several co-workers. The first week my co-worker was placed in room 304 which was missing a love seat or easy chair and a phone on the desk. He requested to be moved to a different room. The next week the hotel put me in the same room and the furniture and phone was still missing. I requested to be moved and they put me in a room right beside the exercise room. I asked to move again and I stayed in the third room. This room (room 325) had an extremely noisy ceiling light in the bathroom and the vanity lights over the sink would periodically go out. I stopped by the front desk the next morning but after waiting several minutes with no one there I left. I noted that the sign where the manager's name is suppose to be was empty. I can't believe they are putting people in rooms that are not fully furnished. My last comment is that there were six people waiting in line to check in and only one person struggling to help them as well as answer incoming calls. Someone needs to manage the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in 304 or 325.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crackerjack1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My family along with several others stayed for a week for a softball tournament. The rooms were very nice and clean. Daily room cleaning service was very slow and they ran out of towels often. The front desk was not very friendly either. Maybe this was because they were so busy?

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjmorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Odessa hotels
1.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Odessa
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Odessa
Courtyard Odessa
#17 of 40 in Odessa
29 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Odessa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Odessa North
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus North Odessa Inn & Suites
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#13 of 40 in Odessa
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Odessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Odessa

Address: 5275 E 42nd St, Odessa, TX 79762-5248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Odessa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Odessa
Price Range: $99 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Odessa 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Newest Full-Service Odessa, Texas Hotel Visitors to the newest hotel in Odessa, Holiday Inn Hotel Odessa enjoy our convenient location and easy access to Odessa's businesses and attractions. Corporate guests appreciate lodging in our Odessa hotel because of our premiere location. The University of Texas Permian Basin is just across the street. Major companies like Halliburton, Weatherford, Diamondback and the Center of Transportation Services are only a short drive away. In addition, our Odessa hotel's complimentary shuttle service can take you to nearby Midland International Airport (MAF). We know what business travelers need and we have free high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and meeting space that handle groups up to 250. Leisure travelers love our Odessa hotel's location too. The Music City Mall, with its indoor ice rink and movie theater, is just one mile from our hotel. We're close to the Presidential Museum & Leadership Library, the childhood home of George W. Bush and the Odessa Meteor Crater. The Globe Theatre is only five miles away. Guests lodging in our Odessa hotel can enjoy our many full-service amenities. There is a sparkling, outdoor pool, spa and a well-equipped, 24-hour fitness center. Dine in our restaurant with a menu featuring West Texas favorites or relax with a drink in our lounge. On your next visit to the Permian Basin, enjoy our great Odessa hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Odessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Odessa Hotel Odessa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing