We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MULTIPLE MAINTENANCE PROBLEMS & FRONT DESK STAFFS ATTITUDE”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of MCM Grande Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MCM Grande Hotel
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Odessa
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“MULTIPLE MAINTENANCE PROBLEMS & FRONT DESK STAFFS ATTITUDE”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

I am a Travel professional who experienced the World, and we were in Odessa with a group of friends for a high school reunion and had several problems with the hotel.
In the first room assigned, the water reached near boiling temperature as soon as we turned open the faucets: So we can either boil ourselves or not to clean at all since there was hardly any water pressure!
The second room assigned, the toilet does not flush properly and AC hardly blow (even at the maximum setting).
Front desk staffs & managers (Belinda, Betty & Kendra) were rude and forced us to wait multiple times (causing us to be late on both of our prepaid special events).
After much struggling, we were finally given a working condition room (by Belinda). Other guests at the hotel told us about similar problems during their stay. We learned from one of the hotel staff that the hotel assigned less desirable rooms to those who booked at discount prices on the INTERNET!
On our day of departure, to end the visit on a high note, we asked to play table-tennis after breakfast (about 9:00am) for just half hour before our long driving trip back: Manager Kendra refused in an abrupt manner, claiming they have a wedding reception scheduled at lunch time. This is despite the fact that many children & people in bathing suits were running and screaming around the lobby in the indoor pool and miniature golf areas, right where we planned to quietly practice our ping pong for half an hour (which is at least TWO and a HALF hours before any reception guest arrives! These front desk managers and staffs are the REAL SHAME and a "typical" bad example of our AMERICAN HOSPITALITY & TOURISM industry.

Room Tip: Interior corridor rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllLinesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    21
    20
    26
    37
See reviews for
62
18
5
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

(ILL GO IN TO DETAIL IN THIS REVEIW)
So the school district booked us at this hotel for regionals for all the swim teams. It was dingy looking at first because of the tacky blue paint on the outside. Inside is pretty neat, it's a little 90's but it doesn't harm the eye too much. This is a fun hotel for kids and teens, most definitely. It's such a strange hotel but it brings great memories of the time with my team at regionals.
We came around February the 7th, the district put some of the lucky ones inside the hotel (suites I suppose) and the rest outside the hotel. The outside is like one huge motel. A FREGGIN MAZE TO FIND YOUR ROOM and extremely annoying when it's 15 degrees outside.
The rooms were okay. Very small and the windows were easily opened so one could easily sneak out or break in (I forgot my key and my friends were being stupid and were refusing to open the door for me, so I easily came in through the window, they were in awe haha) also very dark. The bathrooms were the worst I think, small and the lights in my room would flicker, leaving you in the dark while peeing.
The food was AMAZING. especially for the hungry swimmer, it was a large variety of breakfast items to choose from, coffee, milk, water, a soft drink, or orange juice to choose from. And the dining area isn't too shabby either, it's basically a buffet.
The jacuzzi and both pools (indoor and outdoor) were the BOMB. honestly! They were super hot even the one outside was as hot as the jacuzzi, and it was at least 20 degrees outside, which was a great experience!

And lastly the play area was fun, even for us high school kids, the Ping pong, the mini golf and the jungle gym were all enjoyable.

The only bad thing about this hotel was of course the outside rooms and the dingy people that stay there, if you are a woman alone in this hotel do not risk it, there's strange people everywhere, weird old men that stared at the high school girls. It's not like they did anything or they were cons or anything but the people were strange.

Also avoid staying at hotels in early February.. Because it's regional season for swimming and wrestling a like. Let me tell you, we are anything but quiet, we're restless, reckless, careless and extremely loud.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms INSIDE THE HOTEL. because there are rooms outside and finding your room is a MAZE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

This room was small. The bed was a tiny twin bed. Even though it was very comfortable, it was small for two people to share. The bathroom shower was dirty. It really looked as if it had not been thoroughly cleaned, the shower curtain had something on it, that I really tried not to analyze too hard. The outside parking was nosy, I was waken multiple times thinking someone was trying to come in. The restaurant was not up to par either. We waited a while to have our order taken and then even longer to receive our food. It was not all that great. It's an older hotel, that is really taken advantage of the boom that is going on and is NOT worth $200+ a night! But with vacancies limited, you pay the price and settle. Id look hard and plan ahead so as to not stay in this establishment again. Front desk was polite, the maid service was accommodating when asked for more towels. Perks, to this hotel are the lounge, restaurant on premises, and the front desk to try to have rooms available. But be prepared, this is an older establishment in need of updating.

Room Tip: upper inside room for peace and quiet. Outside ground rooms are NOSY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Odessa hotels

Hobbs, New Mexico
Level Contributor
100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We have been several times, once we stayed in the Jacuzzi Suite for my daughters birthday, and brought all of her girl cousins. It was a blast! They loved the pool, play dome, and we all adored the Sunday Brunch! The Sunday Brunch is worth the price. I highly recommend it. The second time we went we brought along my Mother-in-law, and she watched the kids while we went dancing at the bar. It was a great get away for all of us! A great weekend trip.

Room Tip: The suite with the Jacuzzi was heavenly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindydbentle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Great stay welcoming staff. The food was fabulous will come back again soon. My kids love coming to MCM Grande. If your a family traveling to the area this is the best hotel to stay at. They are also pet friendly which is great.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 648 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Our company held a meeting here two weeks ago, having never been here before. And we will never return. The meeting was almost a disaster. We had clients and staff coming from all over the U.S. and one of our managers in Houston had set up the meeting through the MCM's meeting and catering department. In the process, the people at the MCM assigned us to three meeting rooms with the main room next to a large ballroom. What they did not tell us was that at the same time of our proposed meeting, there would be an auction of oil and gas field equipment in the ball room that would be so loud that the entire wing of the hotel vibrated. Luckily I went to the hotel the day before to check it out and discovered what was about to happen the next day. When I complained, the meeting and catering people told me that there was no other space for us and we would have to find some way to adjust.

In fact, there were other meeting rooms available, but they had assigned them to smaller groups who meet more regularly at the hotel and were 'regular customers" in order to protect them from the drumbeat of the auction. At one point, the hotel meeting planner met with the hotel manager and they agreed to move us to the quieter rooms, but the banquet manager objected because the "regular customers" were friends of his and he knew they would object.

Finally we settled on a compromise before our clients showed up and everything worked out okay except they tried to charge us before we were allowed to see the bill and then tried to run it through without authorization after they were told they would need authorization for the amount of the final invoice.

The bottom line is that the hotel meeting and catering staff are not honest, are rude, and disrespectful to business guests who are not regular customers. I am sorry if this sounds slanderous but it is the truth and is also my opinion.

We work really hard for our money and go out of our way to please our clients. We expect our vendors to do the same. These people do not and we do not recommend them..

On the other hand, the servers from the catering department were warm and friendly and we really appreciated their hard work and helpfulness. It is a shame that the management of the hotel has not learned from them.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rwaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

No words can explain !!! We had so much fun....staff, room , and facilities were top knotch!! As I read the reviews on here its amazes me the negative comments people have to stay about this hotel. I have stayed here numerous times and I enjoyed every bit of it!! People just have to learn to stop being picky and relax.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Odessa hotels
0.5 mi away
MCM Elegante Hotel
MCM Elegante Hotel
#18 of 40 in Odessa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Odessa
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#15 of 40 in Odessa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS North Odessa Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Great  Val-U Inn Odessa
Great Val-U Inn Odessa
#24 of 40 in Odessa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
2.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Odessa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MCM Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MCM Grande Hotel

Property: MCM Grande Hotel
Address: 6201 E Business Interstate 20-E, Odessa, TX 79762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Odessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Odessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MCM Grande Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your MCM Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcm Grande Odessa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing