We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adaquate facilities with modern touches but had strange odor”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hampton Inn Odessa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Odessa
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Odessa
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Adaquate facilities with modern touches but had strange odor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

Like someone else mentioned in their review, there was a strange odor permeating throughout the building like they had kept dogs there or something. Once you grew immune to the smell, it was a nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeremycriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    45
    21
    13
    14
See reviews for
50
15
19
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victorville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

I came to Odessa for a quick trip for a graduation. I was checked in early which was nice, but when I walked into my room, I immediately smelled the strong scent of a dog. While I do like animals, I don’t want my hotel room to smell like a dog has been there. Luckily when I b-lined to the front desk, I graciously was given another room. However, this room also had the smell of a dog. It doesn't smell like animals outside of or in the hall of the hotel because if it did it would make sense, so why does it smell like dogs are staying in these rooms instead of humans? My eyes are watering and my skin is itching, so if they let animals stay, they need to clean the rooms better. I stay at Hampton Inn all the time coast to coast as a Hilton Honors Member, and this one is unfortunately the lowest on my list.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taimewu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level Contributor
185 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

Stayed here for the night with my spouse. It was clean and quiet. No problems. Good breakfast in the AM

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

I've been staying at this place in Odessa off and on since it opened. It's still a good place. Only negative I recently noticed was that the milk at breakfast seemed spoiled. I prefer the milk really cold and the stainless pitchers they use just don't keep it cold enough. Surprised someone didn't get sick on that milk.
Air Conditioning was great though. Had to turn it down at night. Nice little pool area and very convenient location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepid_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

The young man on night duty seemed sincere in that he wanted to get me a non-smoking room (do rooms smoke?) but he indicated the rooms were all taken when I checked in late on Wednesday, April 21, 2010.
The hotel was generally clean and modern and the next morning Maxine at the desk was quick and gracious in getting me changed to another room even while the houskeeping personnel were still at work from the capacity crowd of Wednesday night.
Although I did notice a few maintenance items about the room that needed attention, both cleanliness and friendliness were thorough and professional.
This particular building must be very well designed where sound proofing is concerned. During my four night stay at the Hampton Inn Odessa, I heard neither bump nor peep from other guests even on the night when the Inn was sold out to capacity.
The hot breakfast (no extra charge) available to all guests starting at 6:00 a.m., was outstanding. Although the choices were many, I especially liked the sausage patties, omelettes, and waffles with honey. The coffee was hot and plentiful with several types available. A helpful attendant was available all during the breakfast till 10:00 a.m.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boplenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

This is my second stay here in 4 months and basically it is the same and maybe a little worse. The exercise room is still unbearably hot with no explanation. The towels are still thin and scratchy. The lights might be a little better however some of them are hard to turn on because they have the small little knob on the base. New isues are A/C is hard to regulate. The temperatures have been around 70 this week and it gets hot in the room. I had to turn it down to 68 to cool it off (which made it too cool) and leaving it at 69 was too hot. It is in a great location and the beds are nice and the rooms are quiet. I do think though for the money there are better choices and next time I will seek them out.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJSBCITY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

This hotel is outstanding is has everything and then some it is just a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshua761312006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Odessa hotels
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS North Odessa Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Odessa
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Odessa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#4 of 40 in Odessa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Odessa
1.8 mi away
MCM Grande Hotel
MCM Grande Hotel
#26 of 40 in Odessa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Odessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Odessa

Property: Hampton Inn Odessa
Address: 3923 John Ben Shepperd Pkwy, Odessa, TX 79762-8129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Odessa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Odessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Odessa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Odessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Odessa Hotel Odessa
Odessa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing