We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smells....Not worth the prices.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Odessa
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Odessa
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smells....Not worth the prices.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you're going to pay the prices for the lodging in Odessa, stay somewhere nicer. This property was dirty and it was in need of repair. There were oil workers in and out of the building all night slamming doors and yelling in the hall ways. One guy had his truck on blocks in the parking lot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XXXFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Odessa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. I appreciate your candor; we look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest room appearance is an area we are actively examining. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    58
    31
    9
    18
See reviews for
44
19
10
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The price and service were the best, and my stay was quiet and comfortable. I rate the Hilton Garden Inn as excellent.
The service, the room, the in-house resturant, the easy acces to the hotel, made me trip away from home feel like I was at home.

Room Tip: Any room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClemG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Odessa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
One of our goals is to make our guests feel as much like they are at home as possible and it looks like we are doing just that by your review. Thank you so much for all the nice compliments of our hotel the Hilton Garden Inn Odessa. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Above average room, clean and comfortable. Staff competency somewhat questionable. Putrid smell in and around elevators in lobby and on room floors, but rest of lobby and hallways acceptable and attractive. Queen beds have dual firmness controls (didn't realize there was a control on both sides until leaving, giving unbalanced firmness and a backache). Buffet breakfast offered in lobby similar to a Holiday Inn, but unlike H.I. it is not included in the price ($11+). Price is absolutley ridiculous for the value, but is determined by market and there's not much you can do about it. (Chances are you aren't going to Odessa anyway unless you have to, so keep your expectations down.)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road get blinding morning sun, but will be cooler later in the afternoon/evening th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Odessa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is pricey, but the linens and beds are super comfy. I experienced top notch customer service and felt safe and secure during my stay. Odessa is in an oil boom and lodging is scarce. All of the lower priced hotels are taken by oil field trash. Close to plenty of dining. I will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reddirt1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Odessa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Your statement "I experienced top notch customer service and felt safe and secure during my stay." is greatly appreciated. Thank you for such a nice review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My hubby traveled for business and stayed here on 2/13/2013. We sort of have a tradition as he travels for work a great deal that I send him Milk & Cookies for holidays, birthdays, extra. Therefore, I called this hotel in the afternoon and I spoke with Brittany at the front desk explaining that my hubby was there and I am trying to deliver him Milk & Cookies... could they help me out for Valentine's Day. He called me a bit later and he received: Milk & Cookies with strawberries and chocolate sauce with a printed out note exclaiming Happy Valentine's Day. Now if this isn't going above and beyond.... I don't know what is!!! I have also found out that his stay was nice, clean and he would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Odessa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Our associates pride themselves on providing excellent guest service and will be pleased to hear you mentioned them in your review! It will certainly be shared with them. Thank you from all of us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Odessa. I am glad he had a good Valentines Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Nice clean hotel with nice amenities - clean rooms, excellent breakfast cooked to order, good restaurant & bar - but very pricey for a chain hotel ($300 per night). In all fairness, all hotels in the Permian Basin are very pricey now because of the busy oil & gas activity in that region. Will I stay here again? I'll probably swallow the high price and stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Odessa, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
 Thank you for taking the time to compliment our hotel the Hilton Garden Inn Odessa. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, MD
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I was here for business for a week and had no issues. The check in went smoothly and the front desk person was very friendly. My co workers and I were beat from the drive in from Dallas so we had drinks and dinner at the hotel. The wait staff was friendly and efficient. The food was surprisingly good for hotel fare. The drinks were moderately pricey. The fitness room had several treadmills that were all working. There were a few weights, but not a lot. The hotel was clean and quiet. The hotel room doors did slam shut loudly. After reading other reviews, I can say that I had none of the issues reported and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diverdude2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Odessa, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
 Our associates here at the Hilton Garden Inn Odessa pride themselves on providing excellent guest service and will be pleased to hear they exceeded your expectations! Your review will certainly be shared with them. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Odessa hotels
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Odessa
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Odessa
Hampton Inn Odessa
#5 of 40 in Odessa
187 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus North Odessa Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Odessa
2.1 mi away
MCM Elegante Hotel
MCM Elegante Hotel
#16 of 40 in Odessa
107 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Odessa North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Odessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Odessa

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Odessa
Address: 5221 John Ben Shepperd Pkwy, Odessa, TX 79762-4869
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Odessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Odessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Odessa 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Odessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Odessa Hotel Odessa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing