We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gotta love Newks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of John Newcombe's Tennis Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Braunfels
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
John Newcombe's Tennis Ranch
wscott26
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gotta love Newks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2008

My wife and I just came back from a Sun - Fri package at Newks resorts. We had a fantastic week and great attention, instruction and live ball play from the two lead pros - Sal and Chris. The instruction is comprehensive and specific to the individual with the Pros going beyond general text book instruction to focussing on looking to develop further your strengths and areas of improvement. Accommodation was comfortable and the food was hearty (particularly the great Thanksgiving meal that was prepared) If you want a fun hard week of tennis instruction with relaxed evening activities in a great woodland setting then Newks can't be beat for accommodation, instruction, fun and value for money. Will definitely be back. Will & Suzanne.

  • Liked — can't be beat for accommodation, tennis instruction, fun and value for money
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank wscott26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at John Newcombe's Tennis Ranch, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Will and Suzanne,

Thank you for your compliments. It was great to have you here and we look forward to welcoming you back. Happy tennis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    6
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
7
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2008

GREAT TENNIS PROS. WONDERFUL AUSSIE HOSPITALITY. Plentiful tennis courts including hard true clay courts. This is not a country club, but a great tennis camp and lots of fun! Food is average, as is the accommodations (very 3-star). We had a 1-bedroom condo and loved the large space, full kitchen, and washer/dryer in room. The pro's really do a fantastic job and work hard at personally accomodating everyone's request from tennis to evening activities which always adjourn in the bar for some games, music and hanging out. - The camp location in the Hill Country of Texas is gorgeous. This is a very low key resort and TONS OF FUN! We already booked our next 5-night stay the day after we left camp.

  • Liked — well located
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelAgentDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at John Newcombe's Tennis Ranch, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your helpful feedback on the Ranch. We loved having you here and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver,CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2005

My family and I were directed to the Newcombe property while visiting New Braunfels for a large birthday celebration over the Thanksgiving weekend. We quickly left our baggage in a small, dated, stuffy room and headed out to join family and friends. We returned several hours later, tired from travel and visiting. The beds were horrible, bathroom barely clean and air conditioner not working. As it was 11:00 at night, my husband and I decided to "deal with it in the morning". We were so tired. Little did we know the walls and ceiling were made of paper. Heavy footsteps above and a basketall game on TV in the next room proved too much. We could even hear the halftime scores. I went to the front desk to find a security guard immmersed in a book and not able to help. He was not surprised at all when I suggested to him we would pack up our children to find a comfortable hotel. We did. We were billed for the night. When the Newcombe company learns the simple business value of renovation we would consider returning. Nowadays travel, alone or with family, must be comfortable. And there is too much competition to settle for anything less. Yes, it caters to tennis players but do tennis players really settle for THAT?

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
10 Thank mmlseptember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at John Newcombe's Tennis Ranch, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your constructive criticisms of the Ranch.

We have updated our rooms since your visit in 2005 and have improved substantially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2005

Don't expect much in the way of accommodations. We had to change rooms 3 times (toilet not working, no air conditioning, loud neighbors, etc). But we went to play tennis, and that was worth the trip. The Pros are wonderful for ALL level players. Everyone there was so nice, very down to earth and definitely not a country club atmosphere. They do a good job of mixing hard work with fun. You have to attend the karaoke party in the bar on Saturday night - a blast! I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mom3Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at John Newcombe's Tennis Ranch, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We have updated the rooms and the facility since your stay in 2005.

We are glad you enjoyed the tennis and our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2005

Perfect place to go with a group of tennis-playing friends for the weekend.

There are lots of pros to accomodate all levels of tennis. Accomodations and food are basic, but since you won't spend any time in your room, who cares? And you will be so hungry from so much tennis, everything tastes great.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at John Newcombe's Tennis Ranch, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments on our program. We loved having you as our guest. We hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2003

My experience at Newk's tennis camp is on I will never forget.I went in 1977 and 1978. I just remember it being so exciting and fun, but very challenging. At the end of camp they gave out a first place trophy and a scholorship to go back that wnter and try out for a team that would play in tournaments while wimbleton was going on. I won both first place and the scholorship. I didn't even know till the end of the camp they were giving this out. It was by far the most excitng thing that ever happened to me. I went back in the wnter but did not make it. It was close though. Now I have three children and my daughter has been to the camp twice. I give tennis lessons in the summer and I always highly recomend and have helped send my tennis students to Newk's camp because of my wonderful experienc that I had.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at John Newcombe's Tennis Ranch, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments about the Ranch. We love having you as part of our Team-Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
6.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 31 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
5.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
6.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#1 of 31 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
#6 of 31 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.2 mi away
T Bar M Camps & Retreats
T Bar M Camps & Retreats
#17 of 31 in New Braunfels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hill Country Cottage and RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Newcombe's Tennis Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Newcombe's Tennis Ranch

Property: John Newcombe's Tennis Ranch
Address: 325 Mission Valley Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78132-3629
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1968, by tennis Legend, John Newcombe, the Tennis Ranch has evolved into one of the premier tennis destinations in the world. Nestled in the rolling Hill Country of Texas, the Ranch offers year-round junior tennis camps, adult tennis vacations, a world class tennis academy and fantasy camps with tennis legends. The Ranch is a totally unique tennis environment that can be enjoyed by everyone at all levels. Whether you’re a beginner or an expert, there’s a program here for you! In addition to tennis, the Ranch offers corporate team building, adventure camps and meetings and special events. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John Newcombe`s Tennis Ranch Hotel New Braunfels
John Newcombes Tennis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing