We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History is Great, But Comfort Is Better”
Review of The Faust Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Faust Hotel
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in New Braunfels
texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“History is Great, But Comfort Is Better”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

There is a definite "charm" to this hotel, albeit most of it is captured in the Foyer of the Hotel. Our room, #404 - The Ambassdor Suite, was probably larger than most. What struck us upon entering our floor off of the elevator was the dingy carpet. We had quite a time opening our door to our room, but eventually we did figure it out.

The "suite" was furnished with period pieces, and I believe they may have actually been antiques, because each was very "tired" in apperance. This suite has two rooms that have been joined together.

You enter into the bedroom portion of the room which had a king size bed which was too soft, maybe time for a matress replacement, as it seems to sloop down on the edges. The sheets were too small for the bed, as was the blanket which was terribly worn at the edges. The pillows were VERY fluffy and firm, which is good if you are wanting to sit up in bed and use them as props, but to rest upon if you aren't used to such things gives you a pretty bad crick in your neck. The bathroom needed better lighting and if you are a person with a larger frame, you would have a terrible time using the toilet as it is wedged between the sink and the wall. I'm not a big person and it took some acrobatics to get the paper off the roll. You step "up" into the bathroom which proved to be hazardous in the middle of the night.

The "living area" was what used to be another room and was furnished with a settee, chair and coffee table. There was also a bar with two stools at it. Not sure why the bar was there, but it did have a refrigerator which got very cold, a Keurig coffee maker (we had four pods left for us, and not really ample sugar/creamer) To me if you are going to have an amenity like this you should leave it well stocked.

The suite was cooled by two window units, which worked fine and were on when we entered the room. The rub in this is that since it is summer in Texas they had to be on at all times and with two of them going, the noise level was quite loud.

We had no run ins with any type of paranormals, which suited us fine.

We were booked in to this hotel for two nights, but we left after one night. The bed and the noise from the window units were just more than we could handle.

My suggestion is if you want to stay at a historic hotel, be warned that this one is truly historic, as is evidenced by the use of furnishings that beg to be updated.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a stay, but if you are in New Braunsfel it is worth a quick "look" just for the history.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camrachic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    55
    33
    21
    16
See reviews for
27
80
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sealy, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Recent stay...room 415.
I was aware of the reviews and happenings at the Faust and looked forward to the stay. I stayed in a double room with my girlfriend and son. Room was small...compared to todays room sizes but not terrible. There have been obvious improvements to the electrical, plumbing and paint since the 2007/2008 reviews I read. The step up into the bathroom was awkward and caused me to trip in the middle of the night. A/C was a window unit and set to 70....was not maintaining a comfortable coolness. The only ghostly experience was that...In the hallway...near the window..there is a piece of furniture with 2 doors. Doors were opened.
I closed the doors and turned to look out of the window. The doors opened back up. I again closed them. They opened in front of me. I excused this as a probable bad latch or uneven floor.
Next morning. ..as we were leaving. ..walked back to the window to take pictures of the furniture and hallway, doors were closed. When I reviewed the pictures I had taken...I noticed an orb floating by that furniture. Also another in the middle of the long hallway on fourth floor. Nothing bad...just kinda creepy. Beautiful hotel....I believe it is haunted.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdeweese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

What a disappointment. Quaint, historic hotel. Nice decor. A/C in room was off upon arrival - despite the 105 temp outside. Room NEVER cooled off. Mentioned it to front desk staff (very friendly) thst room was hot as we left for dinner. All she offered was "I'm sorry.". Bed was squeaky. Nearby train seemed to pass ever hour. Hotel connected to bar (which appeared nice) must by a bikers' club. Could hear motorcycles revving up throughout night. If all that wasn't bad enough - room was next to noisy ice maker. Would've rather stated home than waste $$ here. Hotel management - I'm sorry.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aggiekelly92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Braunfels hotels

Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We recently stayed for the weekend and love the charm of this hotel. The front desk reception, Ashley was helpful and sweet and we were happy to see her in the mornings. The rooms and bathroom are small but clean and comfortable. I was glad to stay in a hotel that was different and had some character. We especially enjoyed the brewery and had a great chicken sandwich, and enjoyed the conversations with our bartendars. We intend to return to New Braunfels and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel is quaint and interesting. The room was small and the restroom even smaller. My room had a doulbe size bed. No closet, only an armoire. The cooing system was a window unit. Even though you might see these things as a negative my overall expereince was good. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, and the A/C was cold. I slept very good that night. It was an adventure of sorts :) I plan to go back one day.Maybe I'll see the resident ghost next tiem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here one night last week in a $98 plus tax small room with a comfortable double bed, very small step-up bathroom, very small shower, and you guessed it......a very small flat screen TV.
While the lobby was antique and quaint the room was not. The front desk was very cordial and gave us a very good restaurant recommendation. The best thing going for the hotel is its very good location in the downtown historical district and a nice bar with daily happy hours and free popcorn. And the next best thing is that smoking is absolutely not permitted and no animals are allowed. The continental breakfast was free actually good.......biscuits and gravy, orange juice, very good coffee, cereals, pastries, bagels, etc. The presentation however was poor and the young man tending the breakfast was poorly dressed.
We are glad we stayed, however we will probably not return. The charm and location only slightly outweighed the deficits. We do hope the new owner succeeds. We love historic hotels such as the one in downtown Bryan TX that is similar to the Faust but has been upgraded,

Room Tip: Don't get the $98 double. Take a look at the $130 rooms and see if they are bigger and better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlinlite319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Faust for one night en route to Austin. The building and interior are beautiful but the rooms feel a little dirty and unloved. The bar had some good beers but the food was far from inspiring

Good points:
Beautiful detail and great architecture
Good local beers
Easy to find from I35

Annoyances:
Dirty room and bathroom
No opening windows (sorry I am British)
Breakfast was not really worth having

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom Kitte n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#3 of 32 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites
Best Western Inn & Suites
#8 of 32 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Braunfels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Faust Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Faust Hotel

Property: The Faust Hotel
Address: 240 S Seguin Ave, New Braunfels, TX 78130-5119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since coming under new ownership in July 2009, there has been a great deal of effort put towards restoring The Faust Hotel & Brewing Company to its original luxury and grandeur. The project has been extensive and is still in progress, but many changes and upgrades can be found throughout the entire property. Our newly redesigned guest suites feature 1920's Art Deco design while incorporating modern amenities including:Wireless Internet, Flat Screen Televisions, Refrigerators, Microwaves, Keurig Coffee Makers, Brita Pitchers. In addition to our guest suites, we have a variety of accommodations to suit your needs including rooms with 1 or 2 double beds, queen and king size beds. The brew pub has something to please everyone in your party: Flat screen TVs, darts, live music, trivia and the comforting surroundings of a classic brauhaus. The Faust Brewing Company now features an array of house brews, including Faust Golden Ale, Altered States German Altbier and Mike Crowe IPA, as well as a variety of seasonal favorites. Leading the production is Ray Mitteldorf, a professional brew master with 17 years experience. For a complete experience, the pub has recently launched its new tapas-style menu, created by Chef Chris Kilisz. His exclusive menu features items specifically designed for sharing and pairing with the pub’s own microbrews: their signature dish, the Faust Wellington, Mini Dogs topped with sauerkraut, sautéed bell peppers and onions and spicy mustard, and German Nachos, to name a few. Just as the pub isn’t limited to beer (there’s liquor and wine, too), the menu isn’t limited to German-inspired options: it boasts a broad spectrum of international cuisine with dishes such as the Croque Monsieur, Souvlaki Skewers, Proscuitto Caprese Bruschetta, and Cochanitas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Faust Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faust Hotel New Braunfels
Faust New Braunfels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing