We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gallo Great!”
Review of Los Gallos

Los Gallos
Ranked #83 of 262 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
123 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Gallo Great!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The food here is really good. They are known for their breakfast tacos but we've only had their full meals. They always arrive hot and ample. The flavors are wonderful!

Helpful?
2 Thank 4TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Huge Tacos”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hungry? Drop into to Kono's Los Gallos restaurant and run into the locals enjoying enormous breakfast tacos, migas, and more.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NBTxGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never had migas before. Now I'm hooked.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Los Gallos is a small cafe. It doesn't look like much. The service is really good and the food is great. The salsa is wonderful but the real attraction for me is a breakfast of migas, which I had never had before a recent trip to New Braunfels to see my daughter. She is hooked on migas so we went there. All it took was once and I was hooked too. Migas is a scrambled egg dish with onions and cheese and corn tortilla chips and is smothered in ranchero sauce. The ranchero sauce is not peppery hot but it is very flavorful. The eggs are served with refried beans which are also delicious. Also it was extremely easy on the pocketbook. My son-in-law had enchiladas and said they were very good also. I was only in town for a week and we went there 3 times!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, TX
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Breakfast Tacos to Die For”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have lived in New Braunfels for 20 odd years. And, I have traveled all over the Southwest and Mexico. Los Gallos,, beyond a shadow of a doubt, has the best Tex-Mex breakfast I have ever eaten. I feel quite fortunate to live in the same town they are located. They started out in a little shack and now have a true little restaurant with a drive thru and boy are they busy. There is usually a table inside to sit at but the drive thru almost has cars in it. Breakfast (especially since they open at 6AM) and lunch. Their Huevos Rancheros has no equal and their pancakes (yes I said pancakes) are really out of this world. And you can have your breakfast taco built the way you want. You can either use the ala carte line or sit at a table and be waited on. Either way you manipulate the menu as your taste requires. If you are ever in New Braunfels make it a point to stop. You WILL NOT be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CJHollandNBTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love their huge breakfast tacos”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Their breakfast tacos are the best around, they are big enough to fill even the hungriest guys...personally love the carne guisada the best.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Gallos also viewed

 
New Braunfels, TX
New Braunfels, TX
 

Been to Los Gallos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing