We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A local favorite, however a very average chain restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montana Mike's Steakhouse

Montana Mike's Steakhouse
Ranked #77 of 260 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
160 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“A local favorite, however a very average chain restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

A locals' favorite, a large local crowd at dinner time, but nothing really special as steakhouses go. This restaurant has the look of a place that's been around for decades. Sawn logs, cool local atmosphere, and nice staff. Too bad the staff isn't very well trained, although nice, and the food isn't very good. Not horrid, just very low end of the scale.

The place is complimented by a full service bar, and a wide choice of menu items. I chose the bacon wrapped Filet, with a baked sweet potato and green beans. Not hard foods to cook. For a steakhouse, it should have been a lock. It wasn't. Steak was a lower grade meat, overcooked, and the beans were soggy. Sweet potato was ok.

Drinks were ok. It would probably be a better place to have a beer or a cocktail and socialize, than a place to dine. For what it was, I also felt the pricing was a little on the high side.

When driving down I-35, I'd probably pick another place on the next go around.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steve9631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia C, Public Relations Manager at Montana Mike's Steakhouse, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you were less than satisfied with the quality of your meal at Montana Mike's. While we pride ourselves on providing great tasting meals at affordable prices, there are times when we fall short of expectations. Fresh tasting food made with the highest quality ingredients is our objective with every serving. We hope you will give us another chance to prove this to you. If, for any reason, you are not completely happy with the taste of your food please bring it to the attention of your wait staff and it will be corrected immediately. We never want to serve a poor quality product to our guests. Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    36
    24
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Caney, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“mmm, Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The food was good. Very reasonable priced and the top shelf margarita was great. Waitress Elizabeth made our visit their even better and manager I can't recall his name but he was great as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NewCaney_TexasTerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My party of four ordered a total of three burgers and a baked potato. We asked for the burgers medium rare and should have been pink in the middle.However, they were black and almost burnt on the outside. the baked potato wasn't great either. Had really high expectations for this place. It is really cute inside and the server was wonderful. Too bad the food didn't match!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MandaC32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia C, Public Relations Manager at Montana Mike's Steakhouse, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We're sorry to hear your burgers were not cooked perfect to your order. We take our food preparation very seriously, and we know we did not meet your expectations or ours during your visit. The fact that your burgers were not cooked properly is just as disappointing to us as it is to you. This review will be used in our training programs as a reminder of what Montana Mike's is all about and what effect it has on our valued guests when we do not deliver on our promise of a high quality product cooked the way the guest expects. Again, we apologize for not meeting your expectations and hope you will give us another chance to earn your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

The food was excellent. Our server JJ was great our order was completely right. Right down to the items on our son's burger. The house margarita was good. As if that wasn't enough, our bill was affordable. $60 fed a family of 5 including 2 adult beverages 2 steaks the other 3 meals and a good tip. The atmosphere was cheerful and relaxed. We will return the next time we are in New Braunfels.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank teamvf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seguin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We like Mikes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

My family and I went to Montana Mikes on a Friday night and the service and food was very good. The steaks are prepared to order and the Mountain Topper Chicken is awesome. The only downside to me is it seems like the shrimp, and other seafood is frozen not fresh. But overall it is a very good place to eat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wash-Tex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montana Mike's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Montana Mike's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing