We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice for subs”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thundercloud Subs

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thundercloud Subs
Ranked #111 of 261 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Cuisines: Fast Food, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A good choice for subs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

I've probably eaten at every sub shop in New Braunfels, and while nearby Marco Polo's (Biz. 35 near IHOP) is hands-down the best sub in town, Thundercloud's may be #2 and is much cheaper. I always get the Veggie sub with hummus. It has all the veggies, including olives, and mushrooms, with hummus on one side of the bread and avacado on the other side, The Thunder sauce, just oil and paprika, is surprisingly delicious on subs. It all comes together really well. Consider getting a side of potato salad instead of chips - if you like creamy potato salad. They also have smoothies. I got my first Thundercloud 30 years ago at the original location on Guadalupe in Austin and I don't think they've changed a think on the menu since.
Service is also always very friendly and the place cultivates that "Keep Austin Weird" vibe, even in straight-laced New Braunfels.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RhetoricalTool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not the same as the original”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have been eating at Thunderclouds which originated in Austin for years and years. This branch was sub-par. the chicken salad sandwich was dry and the filling was skimpy. Disappointing.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank hannabarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Above average food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

The sandwiches here are a step up from Subway, but not over the top good. If you are in that area of town you won't be disappointed, just not worth a drive of any kind.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank TheLyonsGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
175 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Average sub shop but convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

I thought the subs were average. Nice selections. Bread not real fresh which was my biggest complaint. They are busy at lunchtime and the shop is quite small. We got ours to go. They do offer coupons in local flyers/magazines which makes it a better deal than full price. It would be convenient to grab a sub before tubing or going to the river but I live local and there are better sub places in my opinion.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2texanstraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Now these are some subs!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I was a bit hesitant at first, but after biting into my sub, I realized this place is hidden gem. Great value for a great sandwhich! I like that it's low key, it's local and it's filling for what you pay and order for.

I actually ate here twice in one day!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank AlexNRP069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thundercloud Subs also viewed

 

Been to Thundercloud Subs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing