We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites New Braunfels
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in New Braunfels
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Clean, new, fridge and microwave in room. No frills. Comfortable beds. Good location. Short drive to Guerne, river toobing, and water park. Liked the free TX shaped make-your-own waffles at breakfast. Pool is a joke though--small and just stuck to the side of the building in the parking lot. Still--save $ and stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bllrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 52 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2009

I arrived at the hotel and was fairly impressed at first. Hotel was clean, stay was fairly quiet, and location was nice. Free internet worked well.

This is a brand new hotel. On the second floor by my room was a brand new ice machine. It was "broken". Yeah...well, it was on, but I believe the water line on the back had not yet been connected. So I had to walk down stairs and all the way down the hall just to get a bucket of ice.

Biggest Complaint. I was working for a health fair that let out at 11 am. Check out here is 11 am. I called the front desk to inquire if it would be okay if I checked out a little late (never imagining it would be a problem) so that I did not have to pack all my stuff the night before. I was told basically "yes, you can check out late, but we're going to charge you". I have never ever received such an answer from any hotel that I've stayed in. ALL other hotels have been very gracious and have allowed up to 1 or 2 hours to get out. I would have only needed about 30 minutes or so and I just think that this is bad business. I needed enough time to get back from a health fair that was ~ 6 miles away and ended at 11. I needed enough time to drive back, grab my stuff, load up, and leave. Very petty.

Perhaps this is not a very big deal, but I can only imagine if there was a greater problem or accommodation requested of this facility. My guess at their answer. "sure we'll help you, just give us your credit card and you can do whatever you want."

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buglerank00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2008

We just stopped in when we saw the "Now Open" sign, which was mentioned in a review several months ago. We stayed there for $59 so I guess their business has died down quite a bit from the summer. Room was nice and appeared to be new or recently remodeled. Breakfast was great, especially the Texas-shaped waffles. New Braunsfels was kind of disappointing so we found ourselves heading over to the town of Gruene every day.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamaralea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

I just finished up a two night stay at the new EconoLodge. I was using reward points, so that's what originally drew me to the property. Overall for New Braunfels, it was a pretty good hotel. This area is known for its natural water recreation and attracts a lot of college students and families. Room rates can get hugely expensive even at the most mediocre of places. Folks can get pretty loud at any property. They're just trying to have a good time.

The hotel is fairly new, having opened up earlier in 2008. Everything was pretty basic. They had a wide-screen TV, but it was only standard definition, but there were lots of cable tv channels. Wireless internet worked great. The room was in pretty good shape, but we did note that there was no alarm clock. The room refrigerator worked great and was a good size to handle all of our upcoming tube trip drinks and snacks. Breakfast included bananas, cereal, orange juice, toast and self-made Texas shaped waffles. Once again, it was pretty basic, but did the job okay. I think the hotel had a pretty good location, being almost directly behind Oma's. The halls did get pretty rowdy at night, so I'd recommend a set of earplugs.

The pool was a little too small. The only quirk that we noticed was that the toilets on the first floor were really in the wrong place. We suspect it was a mistake from construction. Everything worked well, it just looked a little strange.

I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank houstondude99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

After getting a "so called a/c cabin" on the river that turned out to be a sweat box....my friends and I decided to look for a hotel....we were tired and sunburned...the first ne we found was econolodge. It was reasonably priced, and was a much better deal than what we had paid the night before, so we took it......thinking it would just be your average hotel....thw man at the front desk was extremely nice...and the room was WONDERFUL!!!! The bathroom was amazing and extremely spacious!! tons of rooms in the room as well...which woked perfect for me and my friends. i definately recomend this hotel...extremely comfortable!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tripnshopgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

My boyfriend and I drove out to New Braunfels from Houston. After floating the Guadalupe, we were tired and sunburned. So we decided to find a hotel around that area. We were headed toward the La Quinta when we saw the Econolodge with their "Now Open" sign and decided that a brand new building seemed like a safe bet. The guy at the front desk was friendly enough. We booked a room with a king bed and were told that our room would be ready in 30 mins. I thought it kind of odd that housekeeping still had not finished their work by 4:30pm. I was hoping to take a shower before we went out to eat. We returned 30 mins later and our room was ready. The room was rather nice, with a wide screen tv, mini-fridge and microwave, and granite counters and shower. However, there were a few things about the place that made me wonder why I had paid $150 for a single night. First, not everything had been thoroughly wiped or changed out because we kept finding other people's hair on our bathroom counter and inside of our towels. Secondly, they weren't very accommodating with their toiletries, as we were only given a single,small bar of soap and bottle of shampoo. Also, our bed did not have a fitted sheet! We merely had two flat sheets spread across the bed. I was disgusted at the thought of the sheet pulling up and exposing the bare mattress to my face in the middle of the night. Furthermore, get some better wall insulation/sound proofing, especially when you know that younger college kids will be staying there. They kept us up half of the night walking up and down the hallways, getting drunk, and stating that things were "like, awesome" very loudly. The next morning, my boyfriend went to check out the complimentary breakfast and was told that it had ended at 9. Freakin' nine in the morning! Check out wasn't until 11. We figured we could at least get a cup of coffee at 9:30 in the morning. Overall, it just wasn't worth the money. If I had paid $80-100 a night for this, I would have been just fine. But, for $150, you could at least let me know when breakfast ends. Also, don't expect to spend any time in their pool. Its only 3 ft deep and the size of a small closet. While we were there, it was constantly crowded with at least a dozen frat kids. And there seemed to be a small redneck tailgate party at around sunset. It was just weird. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank m0schmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taylen1, front desk at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites New Braunfels, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2008

I am sorry your stay was not enjoyable. To comment on a few things that you said, we have gotten the most complements on the cleaness of are rooms. I am not sure what may have happened during your stay, but the head houskeeper is excellent. As for the noise, it was the middle of summer and we are in a turist town.Due to having two rivers and Schlitterbahn the need for a large pool is not needed. Most of our guest do not come for the pool. Also, during a guests stay he or she is welcomed to request more toliettrie items from the front desk. There is a standard amount that is put in all the rooms, that does not mean you are being limited.

We hope that you would give our hotel another try and I appologize for your inconvience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Braunfels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#1 of 33 in New Braunfels
574 reviews
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Braunfels
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#11 of 33 in New Braunfels
257 reviews
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites New Braunfels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites New Braunfels

Address: 1254 Fm 1101, I-35 and Highway 46, New Braunfels, TX 78130-2605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in New Braunfels
Price Range: $61 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites New Braunfels 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge Inn & Suites New Braunfels is a new construction hotel that opened for 2008 and offers the amenities you are looking for. It is a 100% smoke free hotel and offers a free breakfast, outdoor pool with heated spa, free high speed internet, fitness center, and guest laundry. The rooms all have microwaves and refrigerators. The hotel is conveniently located near several food outlets and all of the New Braunfels water attractions including Schlitterbahn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites New Braunfels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge New Braunfels
New Braunfels Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing