We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay for history”
Review of Naegelin's Bakery

Naegelin's Bakery
Ranked #1 of 11 Dessert in New Braunfels
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The fresh cookies, pastries, pies and cakes from Naegelin's Bakery are of historic proportions and timeless quality. It's all in the preparation. The Granzin family still uses recipes developed by the Naegelin family during more than a century of experimentation to get the right ingredients. As you walk into the front door of the bakery, the sweet smell of baked foods engulfs you like a warm blanket. The glass cases are full of what seems like an almost endless array of cookies and pastries in a rainbow of colors. The bakery is still famous for their strudels that Naegelin perfected years ago. The Granzin's have added terrific sausage kolaches in addition to the menu of fruit filled kolaches. We suggest you try the popular favorite: the Lebkuche, a thick, rectangular brown cookie covered with pink frosting. Don't forget to try our apple strudel! We look forward to seeing you soon!
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You pay for history”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is the oldest bakery in Texas that being said they're still around for a reason! If you are willing to wait and pa y a bit more you will find it how they survived. However their prices reflect their histoic status. On very busy days they have a line out the door

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rose0119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    83
    43
    15
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Non fattening deliciousness”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The most incredibly delicious pastries on God's green earth. I've been coming here for over 40 years, and I can honestly say that every single thing I have ever eaten here was scrumptious! The service is fast and friendly. The prices are fair. If you come to New Braunfels and don't come to Naeglin's for some baked goods, you didn't actually visit New Braunfels.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW BRAUNFELS
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Can't miss for strudel - pass on everything else”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Seriously, the strudel here - all 3 flavors (apple, cherry, and um, I want to say peach, but really I'm not sure- apple is my fav! And I'm a cherry girl :D) is really the best I have ever had anywhere. You would be remiss, if you came to NB and didn't grab a strudel (or at least half, ok fine, they sell it by the slice too) to take home for breakfast.
Sadly, the donuts are yuck, the gingerbread is often hard, and the breads are forgettable. I finally quit trying new things and stuck with my strudel.
Don't miss!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alohalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fresh Pasteries!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Even if you've had breakfast somewhere else you still need to stop in and get a strudel to take home with you! I wanted to sample everything but narrowed my selection down to the éclair and an apple strudel - both delish!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
circle pines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cute bakery, great service and baked goods”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Oldest bakery in Texas - so we had to go! Lots of wonderful baked good and very reasonable prices. Service with a smile too!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Flashy221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naegelin's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Naegelin's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing