We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wanted to try 1 of everything” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Naegelin's Bakery

Naegelin's Bakery
Ranked #1 of 11 Dessert in New Braunfels
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The fresh cookies, pastries, pies and cakes from Naegelin's Bakery are of historic proportions and timeless quality. It's all in the preparation. The Granzin family still uses recipes developed by the Naegelin family during more than a century of experimentation to get the right ingredients. As you walk into the front door of the bakery, the sweet smell of baked foods engulfs you like a warm blanket. The glass cases are full of what seems like an almost endless array of cookies and pastries in a rainbow of colors. The bakery is still famous for their strudels that Naegelin perfected years ago. The Granzin's have added terrific sausage kolaches in addition to the menu of fruit filled kolaches. We suggest you try the popular favorite: the Lebkuche, a thick, rectangular brown cookie covered with pink frosting. Don't forget to try our apple strudel! We look forward to seeing you soon!
Monroeville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I wanted to try 1 of everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

First time here. Everything looked and smelled so delicious I wanted to try everything, But, I only tried 3 different bakery items (a strawberry cupcake. a colachie & a cinnammon swirl). Everything I tried was delicious!!! The coffee was also great.I even shipped some baked goods to my home in N.J. for when I return.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    78
    42
    15
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious sweets!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

There are some delicious sweets available at this bakery!! The sugar cookies are perfectly moist and crunchy on the edges. There is generally going to be a line to wait in, but their selection is great for a variety of different people with sweet tooths. Another one of my favorites is the gingerbread man cookie, available all times of the year & certain to cheer up your day.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Writeforev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
208 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Oldest Bakery in Texas they say - Wonderful Pastries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

You have to get one each of the Apple and Cherry Turnovers, big and super. You will not know what to pick from all the choices... great comfort food for washing your coffee down.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
155 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Cherry Strudel was good, other pasteries I purchased were
nothing special. Pumperknickle bread fell apart, ok flavor.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LillyBKDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It's all about the strudel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Oldest bakery in the state of Texas. Almost enough said but their apple or even better peach when in season is the most delicious melt in your mouth concoction in the world. Heat slightly and serve with ice cream.......delicious!!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank austntachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naegelin's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Naegelin's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing