We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Getaway”
Review of Lamb's Rest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lamb's Rest Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 New Braunfels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Henderson, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Getaway”
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a Spring Break shopping trip. We stayed in the Lilycot Garden Cottage. The room had its own private balcony. The bed was comfortable and the shower pressure was awesome. The room was very clean. There was a fireplace and a flat screen tv in our room. Breakfast was fancy and very good. The hosts will go out if their way to make sure you are enjoying your stay. They give food and shopping recommendations as well as helpful directions.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrothell, Owner at Lamb's Rest Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
What a lovely review, Sarah. Thanks for taking the time to write it up. I'm delighted to hear that you loved the Lilycot Garden Cottage! It's one of our favorite rooms on the property. But what pleases even more is that you loved the breakfast, thanks for letting us know you found it yummy!

Needless to say, we'd love to see you back here for another little getaway soon.

Best wishes,
Judy Rothell
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    6
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
57
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
361 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This lovely home, on the banks of the Guadalupe River, is a peaceful respite from the outside world. After a friendly welcome, you are left alone to explore the "common areas" of the house and the grounds. A walk down to the river finds hammocks, chairs, tables and swings set among the beautiful plants, trees, and flowers. Even though it was February, the loveliness of what would be when spring arrives is apparent. Inside the rooms are all very distinctive and comfortable, many with an outside entrance to enjoy as you please. The delicious breakfast is served in a charming setting that enables you to become acquainted with fellow travelers. This is when you find out that so many people return again and again. Hopefully we will too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigilau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrothell, Owner at Lamb's Rest Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a thoughtful review. Your portrayal of our place is spot on! Even though you paid us a visit in February, I'm glad that you could imagine what the place looks like when the landscaping is a bit more lush.

I'm also happy to hear that you enjoyed the spread we put out for breakfast. One of the reasons we got into this business was being able to interact and learn from all of the travelers and I'm happy that you enjoyed that aspect of your stay as well.

Please come back and visit us sometime soon. The hammock is calling your name.

Best,
Judy Rothell
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerrville
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My sister and I stayed in the Mulberrie room weekend of Feb. 17, 2013. The entire inn is situated about 5 miles away from the noise of Gruene and New Braunfels and the grounds are a veritable garden overlooking the river. This particular room also has an enclosed porch room with a single bed (window seat style.) The bathroom was a bit small, but ample for us. We enjoyed visiting with family on the outside deck and in the courtyard. The breakfast was so completely delicious and abundant that we skipped lunch that day; we appreciated the blessing of the meal by the host, too. There were four couples staying that same night and we never heard a peep from their rooms because the insulation is excellent. The cost was a bit pricey for off-season.

Room Tip: For a couple, I'd recommend a room with a king sized bed; those rooms have larger bathrooms as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrothell, Owner at Lamb's Rest Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us! We're delighted to hear that you and your sister had a wonderful trip to New Braunfels and that you fully enjoyed the accommodations. As far as the breakfast goes, I'm so happy that you two loved it!

Hope to see you back for another stay soon.

All the best,
Judy Rothell
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
159 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and I visited the Gruene area for some adult time away from the children. We stayed in the Quilly's Antiques Room and absolutely loved it. It had a nice private porch area to sit on. We really enjoyed the sitting areas down by the river as well. The "door" room was a great place to do our morning quiet time. The bed was comfortable, one of the only times I didn't get a backache from hotel beds. The room was exceptionally clean. The inn was completely full while we were there and it was still very quiet. The breakfast on the weekends is a gourmet breakfast and so if you don't like that type of food then you may need to eat breakfast out. The room price is a decent price, with or without breakfast. We really appreciated the "corporate" blessing of the food each morning, made us feel right at home! We will definitely be returning here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1027rm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrothell, Innkeeper at Lamb's Rest Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
This is what we love to hear! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We just want our guests to be completely happy and at home with us. Whether that's providing a comfortable bed for you or a hearty breakfast to kickstart your day, we're here to help! It's so wonderful that you had a lovely stay here, and we'd love to have you back the next time you need a little vacation.

Sincerely,
Judy Rothell
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Annual River trip took us to a new B&B this year. Great little quaint B&B with great beds. Every room has their own bathroom with great beds. Stayed in the Mulberry room with a small sun room that can sleep an additional person with it's own outside entrance. (Loved the outside entrance especially after normal hours so we wouldn't disturb the great owners that live on property.)

Bring your fishing gear and tubes as the Guadalupe is just a few steps away. You can put in right at the B&B or just enjoy the view of the river from the upper and lower decks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t2tranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrothell, Innkeeper at Lamb's Rest Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
t2tranch,

Thanks so much for your lovely review! I'm very happy we were able to make your stay a relaxing and comfortable one. And you never have to worry about disturbing us, though of course we appreciate your sweet words.

I hope you got some good fishing and tubing in. Thanks again, and we'd love to have you back if you're ever in the area!

Best,
Judy Rothell
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Seven of us spent the weekend here to celebrate a birthday among us girlfriends- and every one of us was taken away with the beauty of the site, the fabulously gracious hosts and the scrumptous breakfasts that had us asking for recipes. The location is private and quiet- overlooks the river and you can watch people float by. For those who need to stay out of the sun, there are areas to sit outside and not be in the sun. It was a magical weekend for us and I highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrothell, Innkeeper at Lamb's Rest Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Marie,

Thanks so much for your review and recommendation! Any time we can contribute to a "magical weekend" it makes us very happy. We're glad you and your girlfriends had such a good time with us - it's incredibly humbling. I'll be sure the whole staff sees your kind words. Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Judy Rothell
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is the place, nice, clean, quiet, great breakfast, private. We stayed two nights here and enjoyed the pool, hottub, garden and river front pier. They made us feel really special.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLyonsGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrothell, Innkeeper at Lamb's Rest Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
TheLyonsGroup,

Thank you very much for your review. I'll pass this review onto our staff, too. It's our mission to provide a comfortable, relaxing stay for all of our visitors. I'm glad you were able to enjoy a lot of our amenities, like the pool, hot tub and riverfront pier. Thanks again for giving us a shot - we're so happy you had a lovely time!

Best,
Judy Rothell
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
3.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#4 of 32 in New Braunfels
511 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#23 of 32 in New Braunfels
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites
Best Western Inn & Suites
#8 of 32 in New Braunfels
365 reviews
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Braunfels
0.7 mi away
Gruene Mansion Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamb's Rest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb's Rest Inn

Property: Lamb's Rest Inn
Address: 1385 Edwards Blvd, New Braunfels, TX 78132-4055
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamb's Rest Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience warm Texas hospitality in this charming and romantic inn on the Guadalupe River in the heart of the Texas hill country. The Lamb's Rest Inn offers distinctive bed and breakfast accommodations, located less than a mile from historic Gruene. The lush gardens, fountains, pool and hot tub provide several outdoor settings for a quiet respite. Seven uniquely decorated guest rooms feature down comforters, luxurious linens and robes, TVs, wireless internet, private baths some with spa tubs, fireplaces, Keurig coffee, signature soaps and shampoo. Guests enjoy a a delicious full gourmet breakfast every day of the week. Complimentary non-alcoholic beverages and award winning chocolate chip cookies are available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Lamb's Rest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing