We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, quiet place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Historic Kuebler Waldrip Haus Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 12 New Braunfels B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 28, 2008

The owners take great pride in their B&B and it shows. We stayed in the Hillside Hideaway room and it was very comfortable. The owners gave a great recommendation for a German restaurant in town. Make sure you save room for the complimentary Blue Bell ice cream for dessert. The breakfast hit the spot before hitting the road.
The one thing people might like to be aware of is that there are many cats on the property and in/around the house. It didn't bother us but I know many people are allergic.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 89 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2008

All I can say is this place is great in every way. You can't meet better people anywhere. The owner and her son are the best at making you feel at home. They even opened up the school house to watch the Big 12 Conference game between UT Texas & A&M for my husband on the big screen. Don't ever miss the breakfast here!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelnCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

My wife and I go to the New Braunfels area about once a year. We stay in quite a few B&Bs. This is probably our all time favorite. The owners are some of the nicest and most accomadating people you will ever meet. The rooms are all as unique and nice as you will find.
Now this is more Texas rustic style, not victorian proper. So if that is what you like (we sure do), it is a must stay place !

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fttom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

I can't even begin to describe how restful and relaxing this place is! We were down in that area for a dance competition in downton San Antonio. We spent two nights downtown in a four star hotel and two nights at the Keubler-Waldrip. Next year we'll just skip the whole downtown hotel experience, the Keubler-Waldrip was one hundred times better!!!! Very clean, very peaceful and breakfast was incredible. We will definitely be back next summer.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HappyfamilyOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2008

Mrs. Waldrip and her son, Darrell, have done such a fantastic job of restoring and preserving history, both in the main house and the schoolhouse. We were lucky enough to stay on the first floor of the schoolhouse, a very large room that includes a kitchen. And it includes so much more; a great room, but, due to its size and spaciousness, would be perfect for a family.
Even though it seems to be way out in the country, it's just minutes to New Braunfels or Gruene. And we loved the German sausage, eggs and sweet rolls for breakfast near the fireplace. Indeed, so much to remember; so much that's great.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grover2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2008

A great place to stay where you are near Gruene , New Braunfels, and rafting. Also close to San Antonio. We were lucky enough to meet the lady and her son who are the owners. Very sweet interesting people. We also were lucky enough to meet her friend who is an artist whose work reflects the south west and the native Indians. I will always remember the conversation I had with the owners grandson Winston.Absolutely adorable. We were given a 50% discount due to the fact that we were in the area to see our son who is in the Air Force. A breakfast that was huge and tasty! A great overall experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Coper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2007

This was my first B&B experience and I absolutely LOVED the Kuebler Waldrip Haus B&B. I've already decided this will be an annual retreat. The atmosphere wraps you with warmth, charm, and relaxation from the freshly baked chocolate chip cookies offered upon arrival to the Blue Bell ice cream in the evening. Darell and Margie are wonderful hosts and are always available for anything you may need. They have a wealth of knowledge of the area, local history and great stories to enjoy.

And...the breakfasts! I can't rave enough about the delicious variety of foods served. They definitely are not 'continental' breakfasts. They are hearty and very filling from the fresh fruit, buscuits, muffins, ham, sausage, potatoes, wonderful egg dishes, crumb cake, etc. I looked forward to every morning and was easily able to skip lunch.

I would definitely recommend the Kuebler Waldrip Haus to anyone!

Christy F.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Christy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
2.9 mi away
Gruene Mansion Inn Bed & Breakfast
3.3 mi away
Gruene Homestead Inn
Gruene Homestead Inn
#4 of 12 in New Braunfels
89 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lamb's Rest Inn
Lamb's Rest Inn
#6 of 12 in New Braunfels
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Gruene River Inn
Gruene River Inn
#7 of 12 in New Braunfels
102 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
#1 of 33 in New Braunfels
793 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#2 of 33 in New Braunfels
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Kuebler Waldrip Haus Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Kuebler Waldrip Haus Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1620 Hueco Springs Loop Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78132-3040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in New Braunfels
Price Range: $135 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Friendship, Great Food and Texas Hospitality can be found here. The Historic Kuebler Waldrip Haus Bed and Breakfast is a Texas bed and breakfast conveniently located on 43 peaceful acres just 4-6 minutes from Historic Gruene and New Braunfels, 30 minutes to San Antonio, and 45-60 min. to Austin. Enjoy a casual relaxed atmosphere with open spaces, trees, maybe some wildlife and our resident cats. Choose from one of our three beautifully restored buildings. The buildings include DEER HAVEN COTTAGE building (900 sq. Ft.), a cozy 3 bedroom cottage with tile floors, a shower/jacuzzi bath, living room, and kitchen, and sleeps 2-6 guests; the HISTORIC KUEBLER WALDRIP HAUS building (5000 sq. Ft.), an original 1847 German pioneer limestone and timber log home with 5 separate bedrooms each with a private bath; and the HISTORIC DANVILLE SCHOOLHOUSE building (2500 sq. Ft.), an original 1863 one-room Texas schoolhouse with 5 separate bedrooms and 5 private baths. The schoolhouse was named for Daniel Murchison, a Texas Ranger, and moved to our ranch from Solms in Comal County in 1990. It has been restored with the original hardwood floors, chalk board with stage, and it now has 5 separate bedrooms. All of our rooms can be rented separately, and are perfect for a couple, a family with children or a weekday or weekend getaway. Total facilities can sleep a minimum of 22 people up to 33 people. Children welcome from 0-100. HISTORY: The original property was listed under the Veramendi Spanish land grant in the 1800's. The property was owned by a French wine merchant, Francois Guilbeau as an investment, and the main house was built in 1847. It was then owned by Andreas and Katherine Pape of Hanover, Germany who built the main house in 1847. The second family was Willie and Olga Kraft and children, and they owned the property from 1900 until 1974. In 1974, Margy and Larry Waldrip and their three sons, Dibrell, Darrell and David bought and moved the property, and they have lovingly restored the Kuebler Waldrip Haus building to its present state. PRESS ARTICLES include the Houston Chronicle, Texas Monthly book Texas Bed and Breakfast by Ann Ruff, The Great Stays of Texas (HHAT), and "House Full of History" in the Texas Hill Country Magazine, (summer 2010). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Historic Kuebler Waldrip Haus Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing