We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best B&B in all of New Braunfels!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Historic Kuebler Waldrip Haus Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 12 New Braunfels B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I took a weekend trip to Gruene and thank you trip advisor users for helping us find this gem! The location is quietly tucked in the middle of nowhere (perfect for fresh air, quiet, and star gazing!) and there is so much history to the schoolhouse and home, it was like sleeping in a museum! Upon arrival Darell gave us a walk through the property and escorted us to our West room. There was more than enough space for two and the room had all the amenities one would need. The common area in the main house was comfy with a nice big fireplace (perfect for our rainy weekend!), great amenities (games, drinks, movies, ice cream!), and their cats were so friendly! Breakfast the next day was very enjoyable. Typical American breakfast foods were served with some if the best salsa I have ever tasted! The best part of breakfast was being able to speak to Mrs. Waldrip about various topics from house pieces to her trips to Mexico. Darell, Mrs. Waldrip, and their cats really made this a weekend to remember and I highly recommend Kuebler-Waldrip to anyone looking for real Texas hospitality and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SchuSchu85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 88 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

Margy Waldrip and her son Darrell personify the warm hearted, gracious hospitality that Texas would like to claim as its trademark. Others have written of the delicious and generous breakfasts, the open ice cream and golden toffee bar (Margy will freely share her prize-winning recipe with any one who wishes it), and the incredibly friendly cats -- even for those of us who are 'dog people.' I'd like to emphasize what a stress-free, welcoming atmosphere Margy, Darrell, Tony, and their staff create. My extended family of nine stayed in the Schoolhouse for six days to celebrate my mother's 91st birthday. It felt like being at "home." If we'd wished, there were facilities for cooking. We preferred exploring the many restaurants in the area, returning to lounge and talk on the large porch surrounding the Schoolhouse. For a relaxing, quiet, welcoming place to stay, the Kuebler Waldrip Haus cannot be surpassed.

Room Tip: The Schoolhouse, separate from the main house, is an excellent choice for family or friends, supplyi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent 4 nights at this historic B & B while visiting friends in San Antonio. Margy and her son were perfect hosts....the breakfasts, served family style, were delicious and plentiful...eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes, muffins, cinnamon buns, fruit, etc. Every morning was something different with lots of choices for picky eaters like us. We stayed in the downstairs room in the main house...it was large and very comfortable. Every night there was conversation in the great room with Margy and other guests in front of the large TV, while eating ice cream, cookies, and taffey. We loved the cats, especially Socks and Buddy, who spent some time in our room. Maybe cat-haters should stay in the schoolhouse, or upstairs rooms, but we enjoyed their company. Would recommend this B & B to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lomein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Went on a girls trip to New Braunfels from 6/29-7/1 and had an amazing time! By chance we ended up at the Historic Kuebler Waldrip Haus and I am SO glad we did! There were 3 of us staying at the Haus and they put us up in the Gilbeau room. It was perfect for us with a queen sized bed and a twin. The room was so spaceous! The bathroom had two sinks and the toilet/shower/bath were in a separate room. Darrell was kind enough to wait up for our arrival at 10p on Friday night, and they did not charge us for coming in late (I was shocked and grateful!). He kindly helped us with our luggage and got us all settled in. We went down to the common room to make a few cocktails (we brought our own) and to our surprise there was a mini wine bar set up as well as all of the Blue Bell icecream anyone could want to eat. Even though the main house was full, we really felt like we were the only ones there (until breakfast, that is). I cannot say enough good things about our stay. The breakfast...don't even get me started! It was all homemade goodness. We didn't eat lunch because of how full we were. Table service, and all. I was also VERY impressed with the cleanliness of our room and the house itself. Spick and span! Mrs. Waldrip chatted us up and breakfast and was so warm and inviting. You can really tell that people are her passion and this little place is her slice of heaven.

LOCATION: We wanted to go into Gruene and not have to drive far to get back to the Haus and it was just the best, you're right in the middle of everything, without being right SMACK dab in the middle of it. 7 minutes to Gruene, 15 minutes into downtown New Braunfels. It was perfect.

Again, I cannot stress how much we enjoyed our stay! Can't wait to take my husband!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rpage2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Our family of six (kids ages 9-15) enjoyed our two night stay at this friendly & welcoming B&B, in Katherine's Attic. Our room was a spacious rustic loft with two king beds and a twin, plus a private modern bathroom and small kitchenette and large balcony that we shared with another room. We were in the main house, with easy access to the common area which had a well-stocked kitchen with all sorts of drinks, blue bell ice cream, homemade cookies, delicious homemade almond toffee, and other snacks. There was a TV with a DVD & VHS player and a modest family-friendly library to choose a movie from (which we did the 1st night). Breakfast is family style, starting at 9am on weekends. Both days were awesome. One of my daughters said it was the best hotel breakfast she'd ever eaten (I would definitely place it in our top 5). First day we had pork tamales, with optional homemade salsa, cream cheese mini-muffins that melted in your mouth, sopapillas with local jam and/or honey, sliced ham, egg & cheese quiche, and fresh berries. Second day was baked cheesy sliced potatoes, scrambled eggs, amazing toasted bread from a local bakery (Naeglins?), bacon, pancakes, and baked cinnamon apples with blueberries. A selection of cold cereals is also offered, plus OJ, coffee, and teas. Darryl & his mom are very friendly & helpful. Our room was nicely decorated with old-fashioned quilts that complemented the wooden beams, but our bathroom was modern. It was nice to have two sinks in our unit. Our unit was very quiet and comfortable for sleeping at night. We will stay here again the next time we visit the New Braunfels area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sugarlandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We came for our honeymoon and again 7 years later for our anniversary. Mrs. Waldrip and her son Darryl who live there and run the property are so sweet, so gracious. Breakfast is a heapin' helpin' of Texas down-home. We stayed in the main house when we went first and then in the schoolhouse the second time. The Schoolhouse experience was surreal. You are sleeping literally in a classroom/bedroom. Kind of like a dream you might have had in high school.

Not a ton to do in the area, but if you are looking for a several day get-away from Austin or Houston to be alone with your special one (or by yourself), You'll really enjoy this place. Good tubing on the river there, rodeo, and big TX style live music saloon that seems to be hopping every night in the middle of nowhere down a dirt road from the Waldrip House.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeannieRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Rented the entire Danville Schoolhouse for a girls group shopping weekend of eight girls. It was great that had the school room to gather for group dinner (yes you can cook in this kitchen) and activities yet the school house has plenty of rooms and more importantly bathrooms so we had our own spaces for rest and wash up. We loved the B&B breakfast and it was a great way to start our day together.

Room Tip: Danville School house was great for a group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marymorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
2.9 mi away
Gruene Mansion Inn Bed & Breakfast
3.3 mi away
Gruene Homestead Inn
Gruene Homestead Inn
#4 of 12 in New Braunfels
89 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lamb's Rest Inn
Lamb's Rest Inn
#5 of 12 in New Braunfels
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Gruene River Inn
Gruene River Inn
#7 of 12 in New Braunfels
102 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
#1 of 33 in New Braunfels
791 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#3 of 33 in New Braunfels
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Kuebler Waldrip Haus Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Kuebler Waldrip Haus Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1620 Hueco Springs Loop Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78132-3040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in New Braunfels
Price Range: $135 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Friendship, Great Food and Texas Hospitality can be found here. The Historic Kuebler Waldrip Haus Bed and Breakfast is a Texas bed and breakfast conveniently located on 43 peaceful acres just 4-6 minutes from Historic Gruene and New Braunfels, 30 minutes to San Antonio, and 45-60 min. to Austin. Enjoy a casual relaxed atmosphere with open spaces, trees, maybe some wildlife and our resident cats. Choose from one of our three beautifully restored buildings. The buildings include DEER HAVEN COTTAGE building (900 sq. Ft.), a cozy 3 bedroom cottage with tile floors, a shower/jacuzzi bath, living room, and kitchen, and sleeps 2-6 guests; the HISTORIC KUEBLER WALDRIP HAUS building (5000 sq. Ft.), an original 1847 German pioneer limestone and timber log home with 5 separate bedrooms each with a private bath; and the HISTORIC DANVILLE SCHOOLHOUSE building (2500 sq. Ft.), an original 1863 one-room Texas schoolhouse with 5 separate bedrooms and 5 private baths. The schoolhouse was named for Daniel Murchison, a Texas Ranger, and moved to our ranch from Solms in Comal County in 1990. It has been restored with the original hardwood floors, chalk board with stage, and it now has 5 separate bedrooms. All of our rooms can be rented separately, and are perfect for a couple, a family with children or a weekday or weekend getaway. Total facilities can sleep a minimum of 22 people up to 33 people. Children welcome from 0-100. HISTORY: The original property was listed under the Veramendi Spanish land grant in the 1800's. The property was owned by a French wine merchant, Francois Guilbeau as an investment, and the main house was built in 1847. It was then owned by Andreas and Katherine Pape of Hanover, Germany who built the main house in 1847. The second family was Willie and Olga Kraft and children, and they owned the property from 1900 until 1974. In 1974, Margy and Larry Waldrip and their three sons, Dibrell, Darrell and David bought and moved the property, and they have lovingly restored the Kuebler Waldrip Haus building to its present state. PRESS ARTICLES include the Houston Chronicle, Texas Monthly book Texas Bed and Breakfast by Ann Ruff, The Great Stays of Texas (HHAT), and "House Full of History" in the Texas Hill Country Magazine, (summer 2010). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Historic Kuebler Waldrip Haus Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing