We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service”
Review of Gruene River Grill

Gruene River Grill
Ranked #3 of 264 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
AMARILLO
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a quietly nestled cafe in the heart of Gruene. The food is good and reasonably priced. The service is excellent. The place is large enough to accompany larger groups.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Texans615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    275
    67
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
129 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great local Restaurant”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Weather permitting, the outdoor patio is wonderful, with a nice view overlooking the river. We watched turtles, birds & some other wildlife enjoy the waterway.

Service was very good: waitress was friendly, timely & did a very good job - no complaints at all.

We started with the Spinach dip appetizer: It was good, nothing over-the-top, but OK. The tortilla chips served with them were hot & tasted very fresh - nice touch there.

Entrees were the Lemon Chicken, which was excellent and large salad - both a good value for the money. Would eat here again - nice ambiance & walking distance to many of the shops in this quaint area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LP303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Large Group That Dines There Annually During Wurstfest”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We are part of a rather large group that has dined at the Gruene River Grill annually for several years. Prior to that, we dined at various places with various degrees of food quality and success. We settled on the Gruene River Grill because of it's location, the good food, the good service and the good atmosphere. The number of people in our group varies from 14 to 25 depending on who shows up that year. We always have a great time at the Gruene River Grill and always leave feeling good and ready to brouse the nearby shops and antique stores. We usually dine there on the first Saturday evening of the Wurstfest so we tend to get there a little early (no later than 5:30 p.m.) to beat the crowd and get a parking place. Luckily there is an overflow parking lot across the street from the grill and we have used that on occasion even at our relatively early hour. I heartily recommend it...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rocketscientist08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, service is lacking.”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Have eaten here before. Good food. Husband and I split the balsamic ribeye and it was excellent, each had an asian salad and a few mexican martinis and those were wonderful as well. The service was SLOW and had to ask multiple times for basics like a straw!! Waited on other tables first even though they arrived after we did. Someone must have lit a match under him because he finally sort of came to life when we were almost ready to leave. If it's not the typical 100 degrees, sitting outside is splendid.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiner, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not as good is the Gristmill.”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were in Gruene on a very busy Saturday. It was the Tour de Gruene with hundreds of people on bicycles. We had often heard that the Gruene River grill was better than the Gristmill, so we decided to try it for ourselves. Beautiful flowers and a waterlily pond out front. We walked in at 12:30 expecting to wait for a table. The restaurant was less than 1/2 full. We started off with the appetizers shrimp won tons I had read from an earlier reviewer. They were good but not anything special. Next to the main course. I ordered the Jalapeno crawfish chowder. It was so thick it was like a thick gravy. And very spicy. I passed my uneaten bowl around and no one liked it (table of 5.) For my lunch I had the Greek salad again ok but not great. Next time it's back to the Gristmill, even if there is a wait for a table!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 8Beach_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gruene River Grill also viewed

 

Been to Gruene River Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing