We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Families...Stay away!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gruene Outpost River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in New Braunfels
Grand Prairie, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Families...Stay away!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

This place is dirty and moldy and in need of some major updates. Our door would not lock from the outside and told management, but they never repaired it. The room was a decent size with a kitchen, but 2 burners would not work on the stove. We did receive so-called "clean" towels everyday...however they were stained. The room rate was $175/night and I would at least expected the room to be in working condition and clean. The pictures on the website are very misleading and portray the lodge as a great place for familes. If you like loud music, partying and trash....then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank pearlGrandPrairie_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    24
    10
    10
    33
See reviews for
40
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

I only will recommend Gruene River Outpost for those who are looking for a good party and fun place to stay on the Guadalupe River. My friends and I, a group of 6, stayed here over the 4th of July weekend and it was a blast. If you are looking for a nicer getaway, I would recommend you looking into one of the B&Bs out there.

Location: Great location right off of the river.

Check In: Nice and Easy and we got a free bag of Ice

Room: The room was less then stellar for the price. I was hoping for something at least average, but it didn't even matter by the end of the trip. We were in there for a very minimum amount of time.

Grounds: There's a pool that closes at 10pm. We actually jumped the fence,but got kicked out which was a good thing because we went and swam and hung out in the river instead. Plenty of picnic tables and grills too.

Rental: We walked from our room down towards to the river, rented our tubes ($20) and got a free cooler tube. The tubes are actually canvas and are really nice. Took a shuttle up and float back to the deck there.

Shuttle Service: We had plans to go see Eli Young and Jack Ingram at the Whitewater amphitheater and paid $10/pp for a round trip ride there. It was nice to enjoy ourselves and not have to drive.

Overall, I would come back again because we had such a great time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AimeeinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

My daughter reserved several rooms and the conference room for a wedding. She did it alone, without dear old mom and dad along. I looked at the facilities about a week+ latter. The rooms were dated and not the cleanest I"ve seen. The conference room was unkept with a collection of shabby furniture. The sorounding grounds had large piles of old brush. My daughter cancelled her reservations a full four weeks in advance. She was told by the manager she couldn't retrive her deposit but would be given credit for a future visit. That sucks. It's dumpy now and will be, if and when she uses her credits.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadKing65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Braunfels hotels

Houston
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2009

The Outpost is not the cleanest place to stay. We have always thought of our room as a place to take a shower and sleep. We pay for the location to the river. I have only had one problem with the staff in 2 years... my group was left ont he side of the river for an hour waiting on tubes. The camp DID give me a credit for free tubes on my next stay. Fine with me. Look, do your research before hand. The complaints about his place came from un-informed people. This is not a romantic hideaway.... this ia a river camp to party, relax and float from. I like nice accomodations too but, this is great for the river atomoshpere....

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverjoker281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2008

Really enjoyed our weekend stay at Gruene Outpost River Lodge. We arrived Friday and floated down the river to Common Street (1 ½ hr). Pass Common Street is a City Park that you can get out and have one person walk back to the Lodge to get the car and pick everybody up. It is only a 15 minute walk back to the Lodge. The Room at the Lodge was facing the river and was down stairs. It was very clean and nice and (A/C) cold. It had been newly remodeled with nice 12 inch tile. The kitchen was small but served our purpose. There was not a coffee post or pans in the room but we called and they had one for us. They supplied towels and wash clothes but no utensils or plates. Saturday was a mad house on the river with drunken 20 year olds bumper to bumper. So Saturday is the day to go to the antique stores at Gruene and old downtown New Braunfels. But Sunday was a different world, very family atmosphere. You can put your own tubes in at Gruene crossing and park your car at Gruene and float down to the Lodge. Then for 5 bucks the Lodge will take you back to your car. They would rather have you rent from them but it is $18.00 a trip compared to buying tubes for $15 from wal-mart. Overall the Lodge is located in a very nice place for floating from Gruene to the Lodge. The trip takes from 1 ½ hours to 3 hours.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank firebreak2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2008

This place is a dump. The check-in clerk is rude and people smoke and drink right outside your door all night. This place is in major need of a renovation. Don't let the outside fool you- I've seen girl scout camps better than this place. Even though it is right on the river- that is about the only good thing I can say. We paid $160.00 a night for something out of the 70's- NEVER AGAIN.

  • Liked — location on the Guadelupe River
  • Disliked — desk clerk, outdated room, scratchie towels and price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelnCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2007

My husband and I have absolutely nothing nice to say about this place. He took me here on my birthday for a surprise and he was very heartbroken when we got there because he was hoping for something nice, quiet and romantic. If rat droppings on the floor, stained sheets, torn stinky carpet, mystery grudge on all the countertops, bugs in the sink, toilet and bathtub, a toilet seat that won't stay up, peeled back linoleum and loud frat parties are nice and romantic than this is the place for you. Of course the people running the place are smart, they get you to pay in advance with a min. two night stay. Needless to say, we left immediately after the first night and they charged us the full amount and would not apologize or work with us in any way. So we paid for an entire night that we were not there. The place was so disgusting that we considered sleeping in our truck halfway through the night. No one has ever made an attempt to clean this place up. Cobwebs are everywhere, the mini blinds were all broken and covered in a layer of dust and we counted ten dead flys in the window seal. If the people running this place had any kind of business sense, they would care about guest satisfaction, but they just told us "Oh well, we haven't had any complaints before, there's nothing we can do". Which I find really hard to believe unless other people just like to spend $120 a night to eat and sleep in filthy conditions.

  • Disliked — the attitude of the staff and the filthiness of the place
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chopepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
2.2 mi away
No photo provided
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#1 of 31 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
#10 of 31 in New Braunfels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
#6 of 31 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Braunfels
4.6 mi away
T Bar M Camps & Retreats
T Bar M Camps & Retreats
#17 of 31 in New Braunfels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gruene Outpost River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gruene Outpost River Lodge

Property: Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Address: 1273 River Ter, New Braunfels, TX 78130-3448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Gruene Outpost River Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come on down and enjoy our laid-back, family owned river lodge in New Braunfels along the beautiful banks of the Guadalupe River. The Lodge is a place to let your hair down, relax, grab a cold beer and enjoy exciting activities on the river, from kayaking to tubing and rafting. Play a game of volleyball, dive into the sparkling swimming pool, or play video games on the big screen in our clubhouse. If none of that strikes your fancy, head to historic Gruene for some local shopping, enjoy our Texas flavors or people watch with a glass of Texas wine under the trees. Don't forget to check out Gruene Hall, the oldest dance hall in Texas. Later in the afternoon, back at The Lodge, relax in a hammock under the canopy of pecan and black oak trees. As night falls, the fireflies let you know that it is time for a campfire, s'mores and maybe a ghost story. Our accommodations and location are perfect for Snowbirds or Winter Texans as known by the locals. Many of our rooms have full kitchens and queen-size pillow-top beds. "It is a wonderful property with none of the cookie cutter look and feel of "today". It is a home away from home feel." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gruene Outpost River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruene River Outpost Hotel New Braunfels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing