We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“NOT BAD FOR THE PRICE” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gruene Outpost River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in New Braunfels
tx
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“NOT BAD FOR THE PRICE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here Oct 26-28th. It was not bad. The worst part was the beds were so loud when you moved on the mattress.They were not that uncomfortable but they made alot of noise. The bathtub could use some clean grout. The gounds were fun, We started a fire in the fire pit one night. The girl at the front desk when we checked in was not all that friendly. But our stay was okay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cksimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    24
    10
    10
    33
See reviews for
40
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were put in a room where all the rooms were being re-done - so all the others were boarded up. Ours was dirty and off by ourselves - not safe feeling at all - the check in 5/15/12 the lady was rude and not helpful at all - the check out the young lady was very nice and very helpful. We moved to a nicer motel up the road (even though our bike was being repaired across the street at the Harley Shop)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Braunfels hotels

Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Overpriced and nasty! We just stayed during the Labor Day weekend and it was horrible. Dirty, dingy, buggy, saggy bed, tipsy toilet , employees loitering and smoking outside of our room while on their breaks, etc. Good thing I drank alot of beer while floating the river that enabled me to sleep through this nightmare. Do not fall for their flashy website and emphasis on location. It's not worth it!

Room Tip: Room 115 sucks
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Drodgers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

If you don't plan on getting into the water...I'd give this place a 3.5. The rooms were clean. Not fancy. (But don't expect any coffee pots or other amenities). The pool was "okay". BUT....the water in the river was awful. You know the Green "hairy" stuff (algae? Plant?) It was out of control. The water came up to my ribs...the green "sweater" came up to my hips. I can't explan how bad it was. To top it off, we had come to the river just one week before and stayed at a place about a mile down the road. That place did not have the same problems. I think we were a bit spoiled being that we had just stayed down the road...and had access to canoes, paddle boats, a bigger pool, etc. for the same price. I hate giving a bad review. The staff was so nice. But I can honestly say I will never go back there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Management was nice, helpful and courteous. Location on the river provides great relaxation. Beds and housing wasn't great but okay for a place to flop after tubing and touring Gruene. A good time can definitely be had. Rates were reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

The folks there are nice enough, but the room we had really sucked for sleeping. They have only cheap blinds on the windows, and a bright light just outside the door that keeps the room lit all night. In addition, the beds and sheets are super cheap and uncomfortable - not even up to Motel 6 standards. The room was clean, though. The kitchen has absolutely nothing, so bring whatever you may need.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AccentJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed here for a family reunion, and we probably had about half of the rooms occupied along with reserving and using the club house the entire weekend. The location is PERFECT - I've been coming to New Braunfels and Gruene for more than 20 years, and have never stayed in a more perfect location. The grounds were beautifully maintained and very clean. The cabin layout and the room set-ups are perfect for large gatherings with family and friends. I stayed in a room that slept 8 people, and there was plenty of space. My two boys (5 and 3 years old) absolutely loved the pool; it has a fun, little water slide that's safe for little ones and still fun for the older kids. The service was excellent. I had several questions and requests leading up to my stay, and the staff was always helpful and accommodating. During our stay, the staff made every effort to help me and my boys have a great time, along with the rest of our family.

There is lots of feedback on the rooms, so here's mine -- some of the rooms are outdated; and some have been remodeled. The remodeled rooms were very nice. I got to see quite a few because so many of my relatives were staying there. My room was very outdated, albeit very clean, and I felt a little anxious about it when I first got there. However, I quickly realized they were perfect for a stay on the river! In New Braunfels, you're outside the entire time (or you should be!), and you'll usually come back wet and in need of a change from being on the river/Schlitterbahn/pool/etc. So, it was actually perfect for what we needed, and for anyone who doesn't plan on spending a lot of time in their room. If you're thinking of staying here, but not sure because of the feedback on the rooms, then I would just request to be in one of the remodeled rooms.

Overall -- beautiful place, perfect location, wonderful service, and lots of fun. I would definitely recommend this place for a family/friends trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsyfromtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#3 of 31 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
#10 of 31 in New Braunfels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
#6 of 31 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
4.6 mi away
T Bar M Camps & Retreats
T Bar M Camps & Retreats
#17 of 31 in New Braunfels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.5 mi away
Prince Solms Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gruene Outpost River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gruene Outpost River Lodge

Property: Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Address: 1273 River Terrace, New Braunfels, TX 78130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gruene Outpost River Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come on down and enjoy our laid-back, family owned river lodge in New Braunfels along the beautiful banks of the Guadalupe River. The Lodge is a place to let your hair down, relax, grab a cold beer and enjoy exciting activities on the river, from kayaking to tubing and rafting. Play a game of volleyball, dive into the sparkling swimming pool, or play video games on the big screen in our clubhouse. If none of that strikes your fancy, head to historic Gruene for some local shopping, enjoy our Texas flavors or people watch with a glass of Texas wine under the trees. Don't forget to check out Gruene Hall, the oldest dance hall in Texas. Later in the afternoon, back at The Lodge, relax in a hammock under the canopy of pecan and black oak trees. As night falls, the fireflies let you know that it is time for a campfire, s'mores and maybe a ghost story. Our accommodations and location are perfect for Snowbirds or Winter Texans as known by the locals. Many of our rooms have full kitchens and queen-size pillow-top beds. "It is a wonderful property with none of the cookie cutter look and feel of "today". It is a home away from home feel." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gruene Outpost River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruene River Outpost Hotel New Braunfels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing