We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gruene Outpost River Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in New Braunfels
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Management was nice, helpful and courteous. Location on the river provides great relaxation. Beds and housing wasn't great but okay for a place to flop after tubing and touring Gruene. A good time can definitely be had. Rates were reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    24
    10
    10
    33
See reviews for
38
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

The folks there are nice enough, but the room we had really sucked for sleeping. They have only cheap blinds on the windows, and a bright light just outside the door that keeps the room lit all night. In addition, the beds and sheets are super cheap and uncomfortable - not even up to Motel 6 standards. The room was clean, though. The kitchen has absolutely nothing, so bring whatever you may need.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AccentJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Braunfels hotels

Sherman, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed here for a family reunion, and we probably had about half of the rooms occupied along with reserving and using the club house the entire weekend. The location is PERFECT - I've been coming to New Braunfels and Gruene for more than 20 years, and have never stayed in a more perfect location. The grounds were beautifully maintained and very clean. The cabin layout and the room set-ups are perfect for large gatherings with family and friends. I stayed in a room that slept 8 people, and there was plenty of space. My two boys (5 and 3 years old) absolutely loved the pool; it has a fun, little water slide that's safe for little ones and still fun for the older kids. The service was excellent. I had several questions and requests leading up to my stay, and the staff was always helpful and accommodating. During our stay, the staff made every effort to help me and my boys have a great time, along with the rest of our family.

There is lots of feedback on the rooms, so here's mine -- some of the rooms are outdated; and some have been remodeled. The remodeled rooms were very nice. I got to see quite a few because so many of my relatives were staying there. My room was very outdated, albeit very clean, and I felt a little anxious about it when I first got there. However, I quickly realized they were perfect for a stay on the river! In New Braunfels, you're outside the entire time (or you should be!), and you'll usually come back wet and in need of a change from being on the river/Schlitterbahn/pool/etc. So, it was actually perfect for what we needed, and for anyone who doesn't plan on spending a lot of time in their room. If you're thinking of staying here, but not sure because of the feedback on the rooms, then I would just request to be in one of the remodeled rooms.

Overall -- beautiful place, perfect location, wonderful service, and lots of fun. I would definitely recommend this place for a family/friends trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsyfromtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Great location. You're pretty close to food and entertainment, and the property is located right on the Guadalupe River. However, the price of the rooms is a premium considering the tiny bathroom and outdated room. The upper bed is in a loft that sits right beneath a skylight, so whoever has to sleep up there will sweat miserably. We carried our loft mattress down the stairs and put it on the floor so we could sleep comfortably w/ the other couple we shared our room with. Air circulation and cooling was non-existent on the loft. There was also a lack of seating and/our social accommodations in the room such as a couch or more than two chairs. And the chairs they did have were wicker dining chairs. Maybe they anticipate everyone hanging out outside, but unless you walk down a ways towards the river bank, there aren't many places to hang around and sit. Perhaps some benches outside the rooms or some sort of chairs would be nice. It sucked when you wanted to hang out in the A/C and socialize w/ others in their rooms because you had nowhere to sit except for the bed. though I realize that the proprieters have to make their money in mainly one season, we felt a little gouged at $200 per night. Maybe if our river entertainment like tubing and/or rafting were included, this would be a good deal, but we paid an additional $30 per person for about a 5 mile drive and raft rental. It came out to about $120 a raft (4 people). I don't know how much tubes were. For the money, it was not a very comfortable, clean pleasant place to stay, but it was right on the river and staff was nice. I recommend bringing your own towels. Theirs were like sandpaper. Pretty much the only thing this place has going for it is location. The owners should consider reinvesting some money back into it to improve the place some to warrant their prices. I feel that $80 a night for this kind of room would have been pushing it, but given the location, I understand they can get a bit more. However, I don't think after staying here once now that I would pay more than $130-$150 a night (taxes and fees included) to stay here. It's just kind of dumpy, even if it is on the river.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xnschmidtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

What a blast we had!!! My husband and I went and took our 3 girls!!! We stayed in a waterfront suite. It was so nice clean and cold!!! Thanks to the new wonderful MANAGER Stacey she made our stay perfect!!! My girls didn't want to leave. IT IS THE PERFECT FAMILY GETAWAY. half a mile from the GRISTMILL and about 3 mins from schliterbaun. SO GREAT!!! SUCH A COZY FEEL AND GREAT FAMILY PLACE. WE can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christyter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband and I along with our two sons and a grandson stayed here for three days in July, 2012. As they had said in their ads, it isn't fancy...but it was just fine for what we needed. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean...the full kitchen was more than adequate and the appliances were full-size and functional. The grounds were neatly kept, the pool gave our grandson lotsa fun, the location was fantastic for our shopping, eating, a visit to Natural Bridge Caverns, and Two Ton Tuesday reveling. The river was slower than we've experienced before...can't fault the owners for that...but the tube rentals on the premises were convenient and being able to get out right in front of our lodgings was great. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. I think that the complainers haven't read the advertising or spent too much time in their rooms instead of using them for a lift-off base. AND we have stayed in five star hotels that didn't give us enough towels...the maids were right on. We'd come back again...no doubt.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Was pleased by the location to the surrounding area, but that was it. There was a rainstorm when we stayed so I awoke to a leak, got out of bed to assess the leak and fell because of the tile floors. The crack in the roof was over a foot and a half wide and was dripping just 3-4 feet from the bed. Also had my Chi flat iron taken from the room by maidservice. When informed of the both the office could have cared less. I WILL NOT stay here again and we frequent New Braunfels 1-2 times a year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#2 of 31 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
#11 of 31 in New Braunfels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard New Braunfels River Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
#6 of 31 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Braunfels
4.6 mi away
T Bar M Camps & Retreats
T Bar M Camps & Retreats
#17 of 31 in New Braunfels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gruene Outpost River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gruene Outpost River Lodge

Property: Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Address: 1273 River Terrace, New Braunfels, TX 78130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gruene Outpost River Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come on down and enjoy our laid-back, family owned river lodge in New Braunfels along the beautiful banks of the Guadalupe River. The Lodge is a place to let your hair down, relax, grab a cold beer and enjoy exciting activities on the river, from kayaking to tubing and rafting. Play a game of volleyball, dive into the sparkling swimming pool, or play video games on the big screen in our clubhouse. If none of that strikes your fancy, head to historic Gruene for some local shopping, enjoy our Texas flavors or people watch with a glass of Texas wine under the trees. Don't forget to check out Gruene Hall, the oldest dance hall in Texas. Later in the afternoon, back at The Lodge, relax in a hammock under the canopy of pecan and black oak trees. As night falls, the fireflies let you know that it is time for a campfire, s'mores and maybe a ghost story. Our accommodations and location are perfect for Snowbirds or Winter Texans as known by the locals. Many of our rooms have full kitchens and queen-size pillow-top beds. "It is a wonderful property with none of the cookie cutter look and feel of "today". It is a home away from home feel." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gruene Outpost River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruene River Outpost Hotel New Braunfels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing