We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Historic Depot houses nice Railroad Museum

There is a small donation requested, but not required as you enter the old Depot. A small room... read more

Reviewed April 26, 2019
cmitch920
,
Maroa, Illinois
Interesting

This is a local museum, not a fancy building. It is right in downtown New Braunfels, so you can... read more

Reviewed March 3, 2019
mm52010
,
Livonia, Michigan
Read all 73 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around New Braunfels
from $25.00
More Info
from $37.90
More Info
from $59.50
More Info
from $75.00
More Info
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
42
25
6
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
42
25
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining car pullman dining real train model train layouts ho scale miniature train worth a visit san antonio all ages donation caboose engine cars track volunteers photos play
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 73 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2017

Looking at the front of the station from the road is very deceiving. Pulling into the parking lot behind the station had a great surprise with full size Pullman, engine, freight and caboose. Entering the station from the front you are taken back in time with a history of the station and items from the past. The staff is very knowledgeable and answers all the questions. There is an HO layout with small patters to look over the display. After leaving the station and heading to the back don't miss going into the baggage room... more displays and train layouts. The on to the train cars and all the displays. Wonderful look into rail travel. A must see for train geeks.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank GigabyteFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017

Our grandson loves trains and he had a great time here! While we were looking at memorabilia and old photos, he was playing with a little toddler train track. The guy running the place took us into a pretty good size train room and had about 2-3 trains running. Great detail in this little miniature town! We loved the nostalgia of it all. No charge, just donations and it was well worth it.

There is a dining car, steam engine and caboose that you can walk inside. Grandson thought that was super cool, and ringing the bell with papa on the steam engine! Nice little hour stop if you need a break from your activities/driving for the day.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank deegooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2017

We did a Train themed birthday photo shoot. All the photos turned out awesomely. Beautiful memories. Very educational to just visit. Higly recommend for any local or visitor.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2017

This is a small museum with a lot of train artifacts and a model railroad. There are toy trains for the kids to play with and

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Alexandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017

Several working model train sets with step ladders for kids (and maybe adults) to get close. I appreciate it is "free" with a donation according to your own budget. Parked there are some full size train cars, dinning and an engine car are open. I especially liked the display of china and menus and the Hobo lingo sign. Well done & thanks.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Anonymous855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews