We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Unclassy Restaurant & Bakery”
Review of Friesenhaus

Friesenhaus
Ranked #39 of 265 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Very Unclassy Restaurant & Bakery”
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

During my first visit at this restaurant (attending a Birthday Dinner with friends), we experienced horrible customer service from a waitress named Brittany!!! Because my friend Kim brought it to our attention that 15 % gratuity was included in the bill and that we didn't have to tip her, Brittany snatched her credit card and threw her receipt at her! Her manager backed her up!!! If you want to experience crappy service at a Germany restaurant, then please eat here :P !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Snscott28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    91
    48
    27
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst expieriance ever”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I was a guest of a party here not too long ago and I will never go back. Prior to arrival, no one had answered thier phone when I was lost trying to get directions, the food was not the best, they did not have baklava (a german dessert), the manager was not pleasant WHATSOEVER. We tried to bring a homemade cake to celebrate a friend's birthday and when we entered the restuarant, the manager immediatly told us to take the cake outside.. "if it wasn't his, it wasn't welcomed". After dinner I spoke to the manager about bringing the cake inside to eat from the car and he told me that he didn't believe in eating such a heavy dense "American" cake in his restuarant. He wanted to charge us $3 per person to eat the cake WE BROUGHT inside his restaurant. There were 11 of us.. that would have been $33 just to eat our own cake. I got him to bring the price down to $1.50 per person but it still wasn't worth the money to eat or own cake in his restuarant. This place definitally tries to scam people.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Lenise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WARNING DO NOT COME HERE!!!!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

DO NOT EAT THERE!!! - I am a German and the Food Sucked it did not taste any think that my mother makes/ But that not all i want yesterday for a b-day dinner, and the manger comes up and tel usl that we are not aloud to bring in outside cake and if you want to eat the cake there it 1.50 a person Really, After that we got the food when everyyone was finish we asked for the checks and the waitress got them gave it to us and then we say the 15% grat. and then want a tip no thats good. The waitress service sucked she was very rude and didnt show could customer service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“We Were Schnitzeled”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were in New Braunfels Friday night, and decided to go to the Friezenhaus for German food. Formerly Krauzes, this used to be my favorite place for red cabbage and potato pancakes. The place still had a good atmosphere. The waitresses still wore the cute native German dresses (dirndles?) and were very polite. The dark beer was tastey. As we waited, and waited, and waited some more, the accordian player sang "Who stole the schnitzel." We had ordered schnitzel, and were wondering that ourselves. When it finally came, so did the pancakes that had been ordered as the appetizer. The pancakes (kartlespuffen) were big and tough. The schnitzel reminded me of cardboard with onions on top. The egg noodles, (Spaetzle), would have made good ear plugs but were tasteless. The red cabbage was still good. We bought chocolate ice cream as we exited to get the taste of the wierd meal out of our palettes. I got home with a box full of food in the to-go container, but couldn't face thinking of eating it, and so it hit the trash. If you go there, drink beer and order some kind of wiener and cabbage. Don't get schnitzeled.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank PurplePaloma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulverde, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 835 helpful votes
“German Perfection”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We eat at the Friesenhaus at least once a week and so very enjoy the beautiful food and being able to buy the wonderful German meats, cheeses and brochen at the deli counter. We recently had out of state visitors and immediately knew that a trip to Friesenhaus was in order. As expected, the food was wonderful. To our amazement; however, the music was not playing and the owners seemed a bit off!??! Usually we are greeting with such warmth and having special guests we were looking forward to the usual treatment. Oh well, guess it was just a bad day. The food was great. A suggestion would be to offer sauerkraut without pineapple in it and offer some prepared in a more traditional way.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friesenhaus also viewed

New Braunfels, TX
New Braunfels, TX
 

Been to Friesenhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing