We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and smelly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson New Braunfels
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in New Braunfels
TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Overpriced and smelly”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I would NOT have stayed here but my daughter's softball team was booked into it. When I checked in, the clerk made a big production of telling me that it was a NON-SMOKING room and there would be a extra fee for smoking in the room. There was no elevator so I had to carry heavy bags up to second floor. When I went up to the room, it SMELLED like old cigarette SMOKE. The room was "surface clean". The bathroom fan was falling out of the ceiling. The blankets on the bed were very, very thin and also too short for the bed. I could not pull the blanket up to my shoulder without leaving my feet uncovered and I am a short person. My bed was rock hard and my daughter said she had to sleep on one side to avoid feeling the springs in hers. The next morning the continental breakfast consisted of some IFFY looking danishes and hard biscuits, cold cereal, and a waffle machine. The clerk at check-out was much friendlier than the one at check-in. The team was given a discounted rate of $115 a night. THIS HOTEL WAS NOT WORTH $115. The quality of this hotel is more along the lines of $50 and that would even be questionable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDS46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    41
    64
    59
    90
See reviews for
136
74
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very dirty. We checked in and ended up leaving. It was NOT clean, we saw a few spiders, the bathroom had stains along with the towels, and there was an unwelcoming odor. The staff was very nice, but would NOT suggest to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dually222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Braunfels hotels

San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My family and I went to Schlitterbahn for a mini vacation and found this hotel last minute. The front desk staff were very warm and nice - Very great hospitality. Free breakfast--much more than just a continental breakfast! Hot & cold food served. Comfortable beds, clean rooms, and great location. The front desk staff assisted us in getting our luggage and even with suggestions and directions of restaurants in the area (which were great, by the way), and assisted with getting transportation for myself and my family. Great experience! Definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel without having to sacrifice the cleanliness, service, or experience. Two thumbs up!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentworth Falls, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Inexpensive and clean, air conditioned, with a simple breakfast and a pool to cool down in. We needed a place to stay for a couple of nights but weren't sure for exactly how long. the staff were extremely accommodating and the hotel was quite close to shops and restaurants

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnPearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Braunfels
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#25 of 32 in New Braunfels
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada New Braunfels
Ramada New Braunfels
#14 of 32 in New Braunfels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 32 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 32 in New Braunfels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson New Braunfels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson New Braunfels

Property: Howard Johnson New Braunfels
Address: 201 Loop 337, New Braunfels, TX 78130-3219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson New Braunfels 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Inn New Braunfels is conveniently located off of interstate highway 35, only minutes away from Schlitterbahn Water Park and Guadalupe River where you can enjoy tubing, rafting, and canoeing. Landa Park and McKenna Children's Museum are only a short drive away. Gruene Hall is Texas' oldest dance hall and the Texas Ski Ranch offers all sorts of extreme sports. San Marcos Factory outlet malls and several golf courses are only 10 miles away. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area, with many of them within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Howard Johnson New Braunfels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Braunfels Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing