We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, with a few poor points & a few good ones.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Schlitterbahn Inn
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in New Braunfels
Reviewed April 9, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Cindi P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 333 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

Pros: The bed was soft and the room was clean. Breakfast was Ok. The price was good as was the location.

Cons: there was a punch hole about eye level in the bathroom door. Also the handle for the door was completely lose as in you could not close the door for fear you would not be able to open it to get our.
The coax for the cable TV was broken so they rigged it up to work for the meantime until wer checked out so they could really fix it.

Due to these things I think we should have received a discount or voucher for another night at the chain but since I bought the room through priceline. The staff was very nice through and said they would repair the items age or stay but that does nothing for my stay. Lol

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We like to stay here when we visit for Wurstfest in the fall. We know what to expect. It's inexpensive, easy access to everything, and the Wurst Wagen makes a stop. One look can tell you that you're not staying at the Ritz or Waldorf Astoria. However what this property lacks in luxury more than makes up for in other areas. Service is one of those. Every time I've been the staff has always been pleasant and easy to work with. The amenities are basic. A mini fridge in the room and a working bathroom. They have desks in most rooms as well. For us, staying at this property is literally just a place to rest our heads after a long day of enjoying the best festival in the world. Don't go into it with more expectations than that and you'll be just fine.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the pool as it's the furthest away from the busy highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MATTHEW H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jenna R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
2  Thank Softballparent1... V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I've attached pictures that show the general poor quality in which the hotel is kept. The first night of 2 that we spent there we didn't have a working toilet. We moved to another room for the 2nd night. It was the same as the first room in the lack of cleanliness, but the toilet worked...bonus. The hallways smell like urine. We were able to see first hand why when someone from another room brought 2 dogs out into the hallway where they proceded urinate on the carpet. There was a half full bottle of beer sitting in the window seal of the hallway that appeared to be from the previous day as there was nobody around. Giant glob of green gum stuck to the ceiling above the stairs. Thick layer of dust on top of the headboards in both rooms, obviously the norm. The shower curtain rod that was hanging on for dear life in the 1st room. Hole in the wall in the 2nd room Both rooms vanity's were pulling away from the wall. Room 1 had torn sheets. There were cigarette burns on the sides of the bathtubs in each room we stayed in. I could go on, but you can view the pictures.

PS - The owner eventually showed up to address the complaints that several people had and gave us $10 per night discount. We spent a night and morning without a working toilet and we got back $20 of our $180.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CTfromLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Braunfels / San Antonio
Americas Best Value Inn - New Br...
#24 of 33 in New Braunfels
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#1 of 33 in New Braunfels
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada New Braunfels
Ramada New Braunfels
#13 of 33 in New Braunfels
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#11 of 33 in New Braunfels
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Schlitterbahn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Schlitterbahn Inn

Address: 201 Loop 337, New Braunfels, TX 78130-3219 (Formerly Howard Johnson New Braunfels)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in New Braunfels
Price Range: $47 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Schlitterbahn Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Howard Johnson Schlitterbahn Inn. Conveniently located off I-35, our location offers affordable accommodations with easy access to major attractions like Schlitterbahn Waterpark and the Natural Bridge Caverns. Our hotel makes mornings better with our free Rise & Dine continental breakfast. Stay connected with our free WiFi Internet access or go for a swim in our seasonal outdoor pool, then relax in our Jacuzzi. We also offer free large-vehicle parking. Miles of tube chutes, endless rivers, and uphill water coasters at Schlitterbahn Waterpark, less than two miles from our hotel. Descend underground for a tour of Natural Bridge Caverns and enjoy a drive-thru safari at Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch. Hit the shops at Tanger Outlets or experience dancing and live music at Gruene Hall. Book your wedding party, sports team, or other group travel at our hotel. Submit your request for information about special rates on blocks of rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Schlitterbahn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson New Braunfels
New Braunfels Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing