We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“River Front Cabins - okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in New Braunfels
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“River Front Cabins - okay”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked a River Front cabin for $400 for 1 night, but included a 2-day park pass for 4 people with early admission.

We got to the check-in by 8:45 a.m. on a Monday, and it was pretty seamless. Parked closeby and took the tram to the new park for early admission to the better rides. Lines were still quite long, but the brief period of early admission was helpful.

Got our keys (back at the resort on the old side) at 4:30 and went to the room. Parking for the River Front cabins was right outside and well-located. The only downside is that when the park is open, there are swarms of people walking past the cabins and parking. The cabin was very nice, with the exception of the ant infestation in the kitchen overnight.

The next morning, the main pass-through gate to the new park was closed, but a service gate (left open for some reason) permitted us direct entry to the good rides at the new park.

The old park was somewhat of a disappointment. Grimy. Overcrowded. Rides broken down. We did a couple of rides and left.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTreviewer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlitterbahnNB, Director of Lodging at The Resort at Schlitterbahn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
MTreviewer2013,

Thank you for your recent review! Your comments are very valuable to our management team. As you mentioned, the extended ride time each morning is a wonderful benefit that many of our guests enjoy. The Riverbend Cabins are a nice option for guests wanting to be in the park and they have a wonderful view of the Comal River. We hope to see you around the park!

Sincerely,

Kathryn H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    174
    80
    58
    58
See reviews for
461
55
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Recently my family of 4 stayed in a Treehaus for 3 nights. We routinely used to stay along the Comal River in the King Suites. Now the new ride The Falls is in the place of those rooms. Sadly even the Treehaus suites do not offer the same view as those old rooms but they are new! We really enjoyed the easy access to the park attractions and the new furniture. In this room we had enough bath towels for all of us and we received 2 bar soaps! The office told us upon check in that someone is always at the office. In the past the office closed. Our room included 2 double beds, bunk beds, & 1 bath. The room can hold 6 people but I do not suggest putting 6 people in that Treehaus. Everything is very close together in that suite. Ladies the only mirror is above the bathroom sink. I would love to see a full length mirror in that room. There is also no safe or eyehole in the door. Yes we love New Braunsfels but you should be careful no matter where you are. The 1st person in the shower will get all the hot water. The water turned cold on us every night! Also a fan on the balcony would be really nice.

Beware that Schlitterbahn guests may rent out furniture space under the treehaus. Also the lifeguards have lockers and a table under the rooms. We were pretty annoyed with the fact that our room was not ready at 3:30! Some of us stayed behind at the room door while the others went to check in. I watched as the ladies went through the room again and empted the freezer. When we arrived to check in at 11:00 the ladies were at the room so perhaps there needs to better time management or more employees. Schlitterbahn used to have no problem with finishing rooms before 4:00. We also do not appreciate the fact that everyone has to check in at the Bahn office. Schlitterbahn must reopen the office at the Rapids. The Treehaus parking is assigned. The slots are not made for oversize vehicles. We ran into problems with people parking over the lines.

All the lifeguards were awesome and aware of the guests. The landscaping looked better managed compared to last summer. Thank you to the employees for locating our car keys!! We believe they fell out of our pocket on the shuttle. Our only wish is that someone could have called us that evening saying keys had been located. Luckily we had brought the spare key. So we were able to go out to eat. We just didn’t sleep.

FYI always go to the office and check out!! We had an extra $300 dollars charged to our room! Management could offer no explanation. You prepay for everything upon check in. We had the papers proving we were charged the agreed upon nightly rate and park tickets. My advice is don’t do “express checkout” by leaving your keys in the room. Always go to the desk and ask for a receipt.

Room Tip: Rooms in the original section are near a train. Always ask how many beds are in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlhoaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlitterbahnNB, Director of Lodging at The Resort at Schlitterbahn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
AlhoaTX,

Thank you for you recent review. I'm very glad to hear that you had a good experience with our lifeguards and at our park. The Treehaus Luxury Suites are a nice option for many guests. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our management team. We value our guest's input and will take into consideration your comments during future planning. Thank you for your continued support!

Sincerely,

Kathryn H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed on the original side of Schlitterbahn and was leery of it after hearing that it was old, however I enjoyed the vintage feel. Plus, the convenience of being literally in the waterpark can't be beat. We had a full kitchen and a grill on the patio. One of the rides literally dropped us off at our room's door. The staff are genuinely polite and helpful. I am picky about where I stay and am usually pretty stiff on giving excellent reviews, but I absolutely loved this place. The bathroom was tiny but that's my only complaint. We never ventured to the new side of the park because we loved the shade and convenience of the original side. Plenty of restaurants and grocery stores nearby, as well.

Room Tip: Rooms on the original side are literally in the park. Some of the newer rooms require some walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlitterbahnNB, Director of Lodging at The Resort at Schlitterbahn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Charlotte C,

Thank you for your recent review! I'm very pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable. We strive to provide our guests with specialized service and I'm glad that you experienced some of that service. We hope to see you again around the park!

Sincerely,

Kathryn H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I agree w the first review. We paid over $1200 for our 2 day stay plus tickets. We were suppose to have a cabin that slept 8, and we had 8 people. Our old cement block of a condo had 2 bedrooms, one couch that pulled out and one chair that also pulled out. We had to move the coffe table into the bed of our truck just to sleep at night. NO one could walk around and our dinning table also sat 4- children- not adults. But the management was not so helpful to us. They wouldn't even come remove the coffee table- we had to do it- daily. For that amount of money you'd think they would have been a bit more accommodating. As much as the kids love staying IN the waterpark, we are booking elsewhere this year. July 2012 The DeBye Family

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DeByeDandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlitterbahnNB, Director of Lodging at The Resort at Schlitterbahn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
DeByeDandS,

Thank you for your recent review. I'm sorry to hear that the accommodations were not up to your standards. We are currently in the process of undergoing much needed renovations to many of our resort rooms. We hope that you and your family will join us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Kathryn H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at the original section suites last summer and had a wonderful time! You can't beat the convenience of walking right out your door and being in the park! I do wish that the extended hour were in the evening rather than in the morning! We visited White Water at Silver Dollar City this summer, which stays open until 10:00 at night! Floating a lazy river at night is really cool! Just a suggestion! :) I'm in love with this place though! Wish it were a little more reasonable in price, so I didn't have talk my husband into it every summer!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CourtDelafuente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlitterbahnNB, Director of Lodging at The Resort at Schlitterbahn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
CourtDelafuente,

Thank you for your review! Floating the river at night sure does sound fun! I'll be sure to pass that on to our park operations team for future planning. Stay tuned for great deals for The Resort at Schlitterbahn. We hope to serve you and your family for many more years to come! Thank you for your continued support.

Sincerely,

Kathryn H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

So the rooms don't look like the Hilton. BUT, you get many things in return: 1)Part of the park opens an hour early, 2) some pools stay open late, 3) NO transportation issues to/from the park, 4)River transportation, 5)Family activities at night, 6)The ability to walk back to the room for lunch, 7)If family members are tired of the sun and heat they can go back to the room and let the others stay at the park, etc

We always bring a fan when traveling to any hotel for white noise.

Room Tip: We stay right in front of the kids' area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlitterbahnNB, Director of Lodging at The Resort at Schlitterbahn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Robin S,

Thank you for your review! I could not have said it better myself! We hope to serve you and your family for many years to come. Stay tuned for new and exciting things at Schlitterbahn. Thank you for your continued support and loyalty!

Sincerely,

Kathryn H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have been going to Schlitterbahn for years, however we decided to try the stay and play. Schlitterstein lofts were very accommodating. We stayed in 2 different units (because we decided at the last minute to stay another day). There is no sign of a train or its horn at these lofts. The lofts were very nice and updated with granite countertops, whirlpool tubs, and washer/dryer units in every unit (very good for drying our towels). Parking is covered which was good for us since it rained while we were there. We got to enjoy after hours perks such as the park's hot tubs and swimming pools. We were able to go in early to the park and beat the crowd. The only drawback I personally didn't like was the size of the bed in the master suite. In my opinion for the price we paid, there should be a king size bed in the master. I'm used to a king size, and this bed felt like a full size. The beds were however comfortable and the pillows were of good quality. The view from the balcony was awesome. The rear balcony opens to the Comal and the master suite balcony opens to the parking lot. The appliances were very good, but the dryer (Bosch brand) was a little slower than what we are used to at home. That being said, it still dried our clothes while we slept.

The check-in staff were great. We received great service from them. They answered all of our questions and were very friendly. We saw the Schlitterbahn security guards that they had on staff, so we know they were there to watch our valuables, but the environment seemed pretty safe.

If any improvements can be made, I would suggest upgrading the units with king size beds and replacing the tile in the shower stall floor. The rock-ish floor is not the most comfortable afer walking around all day in the park bare footed.

Overall, our experience was great. There are a couple of areas where improvement is possible. I would definitely recommend the lofts to a friend. But for the money, give us the larger beds. Give us the value!

Room Tip: All rooms were great. You can drive to the park or take the shuttle that stops by. Third floor uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carry j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlitterbahnNB, Director of Lodging at The Resort at Schlitterbahn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
carry j,

Thank you for your review! The new SchlitterStein Lofts are a great addition to our current inventory. The lofts provide a great view of the Comal River. A perfect place to enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning! I'm very pleased that you received great customer service from our Resort staff. We strive to make your vacation as memorable as possible for you and your family.

Sincerely,

Kathryn H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#3 of 32 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
2.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
2.1 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites
Best Western Inn & Suites
#8 of 32 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Braunfels
1.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Schlitterbahn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Schlitterbahn

Property: The Resort at Schlitterbahn
Address: 305 W Austin St, New Braunfels, TX 78130-4113 (Formerly Schlitterbahn Resort at New Braunfels)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Braunfels
#3 Family Hotel in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Resort at Schlitterbahn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splash into family fun at the Resort at Schlitterbahn in New Braunfels, Texas. The Resort at Schlitterbahn intermingles the world's greatest waterpark with 211 onsite accommodations. Many rooms are so close to the action you can actually step out your door and into one of our rides. For a real family-style getaway, try one of our fully equipped vacation homes located near the waterpark. You'll find everything you need for family reunions, corporate retreats, weddings or other special gatherings - from comfy sitting areas and multiple beds to full kitchens and laundry rooms. Accommodations range from standard hotel rooms with two beds to cottages, suites and townhomes. Many units have full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Resort at Schlitterbahn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlitterbahn Resort At New Braunfels Hotel New Braunfels
Schlitterbahn Waterpark Hotel
Hotel Schlitterbahn Waterpark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing