We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fun for teens and pre teens.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in New Braunfels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Everyone enjoyed this park. Really brings family together. Stay together or explore the park, it was fun. Bring your own pots and pans,cause there was only two very small sauce pans in kitchen. Make appt for Comal River or you"ll spend most of the day trying to find entrance and tirefloats. At the end of the day you feel a bit of a workout:-* but kids happy:-)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parmend6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 791 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

Just returned form the Schlitterbahn resort. We went with 2 other families, our first visit. We were told by friends not to expect much and don't get your hopes up about the old resort. So we expected the worst and they were right. You could definitely tell this place had been around many years. We stayed at the "Resort", a suite that slept 10 ppl (room 305 and 306)in the older section. The rooms were old, expensive and right by the train tracks. And let me tell you, there's not just one train per night, there were at least 5 per night, blaring horns every hour or 2 during the night. Our rooms even shook. The rooms were outdated and very old, felt like you were staying at a Mom and Pop hotel, not a "Resort". On the other hand, it was fun, and we enjoyed the parks. We went as a last trip of the Summer before school started and it was a good get away.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank gagirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have been staying at the resort annually for over twenty years everything from motel rooms to three bedroom houses so we pretty much know what to expect. Alot of the rooms could use updating. We missed last year for the first time and were shocked by the stay and play package policy that started last year(so we were told) We generally stay five days and go to the park two or three of those days. We also like to go to the outlet mall and float the river. Some of our group golf and some go to nearby Gruene for the day. Needless to say we were very surprised and apalled at the mandatory park fee of $25 per person per day fee whether you are going or not. The rooms are overpriced but were ok when you could choose how you want to spend your day and not feel as if you are being mandated to PLAY.
We will go to the park again but we will not stay here, not with this policy change. By the way the only part of the park that opens early for resort guests is the tower where the master blaster is. Nothing else. No perks for resort guests.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Melody A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This place is a great location for your stay at the park. Can't beat walking from your room to the slides. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. Perfect size for 2 adults and 2 kids. However, that's were the greatness ends. It was $240 a night just for the room. With the stay and play package it was a little under $800.

The Bathroom: The sink was rusty and made the kids be very careful when brushing teeth etc. The shower had mildew all around the tub. The ceiling looked like it would fall to the floor any minute.

Bedroom: The beds are as hard as the floors. The ceilings are the same as in the bathroom.

The Trains: Holy Cow!!!! The train tracks are about 30 yds from the room. They run all night long with a horn happy engineer!

We will come back but must stay in the new park. They looked very nice am brand new!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cmack23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We love the Schlitterbahn Water Parks, but will stay far away from the "resort" or any hotel ran by this company. I made reservations the week previous for two nights in a "hotel-style" room. Spelled our last name several times for the reservation agent with words to make sure it was correct. Arrived yesterday evening and, lo and behold, there was no reservation. They had misspelled our name. I signed the documents not really looking at the receipt since I was tired from traveling. This would be a mistake on my part. No worries, we checked in to a small room that the door was open upon arrival with old pink bathroom and about two feet of walking space. No worries here, we paid for the location and could look past the aged, out-dated room with no wi-fi, wake up calls or a working interior lock. Go this morning out to the parks at the discounted rate, pretty good deal and proceeded to have a great time with the kids. we get a page from the resort while in the park, telling us we had not checked out after one night!?! Go to resort and was told there were no rooms available and it was my fault for signing the pro forma receipt for one night. We could pack up our belongings and go back to park and enjoy our day. Manager comes out as we are packing are belongings and "finds" a room that was $90 more that we could move to. She was doing us a favor with that offer. Bait and switch came to mind... Told her to keep it and left to go to the courtyard Marriott to a newer, cleaner room with existent wi-fi, pool, river access and resort atmosphere for 9 dollars more than our reserved night at the Bahn...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TXMom522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I'm not sure why anyone would complain about the pricing of the rooms/condos here. For $25 per person, in addition to the room rate, you have early and late access to the park. So, the condo and ticket package cost was roughly $85 per person for my family. We only stayed for one night but had access to the park early and late for two days. A general admission ticket for an adult with the early access add on is $80 for ONE day.Do the math people! So what if it doesn't look like a 2,3, or 4 star room. It's a water park!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This water park is average on the fun rating. The Schlitterbaun in Galveston has better slides and attractions than the one in New Braunfels. I was shocked at how expensive the tickets are to this park. Make sure you buy them on line or from Kroger or HEB for a better price. Bring your own food and drinks too. The concessions are very pricey but if you go to the food are at the Warneke (sp) pavillion, you can buy affordable food because it is mainly for the employees but they let patrons buy concessions there too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
3  Thank dstillwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#3 of 33 in New Braunfels
574 reviews
2.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
1.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Braunfels
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson
#6 of 33 in New Braunfels
71 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Schlitterbahn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Schlitterbahn

Address: 305 W Austin St, New Braunfels, TX 78130-4113 (Formerly Schlitterbahn Resort at New Braunfels)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Braunfels
#3 Family Hotel in New Braunfels
Price Range: $103 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Resort at Schlitterbahn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splash into family fun at the Resort at Schlitterbahn in New Braunfels, Texas. The Resort at Schlitterbahn intermingles the world's greatest waterpark with 220 onsite accommodations. Many rooms are so close to the action you can actually step out your door and into one of our rides. For a real family-style getaway, try one of our fully equipped vacation homes located near the waterpark. You'll find everything you need for family reunions, corporate retreats, weddings or other special gatherings - from comfy sitting areas and multiple beds to full kitchens and laundry rooms. Accommodations range from standard hotel rooms with two beds to cottages, suites and townhomes. Many units have full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Resort at Schlitterbahn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlitterbahn Resort At New Braunfels Hotel New Braunfels
Schlitterbahn Waterpark Hotel
Hotel Schlitterbahn Waterpark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing