We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best handmade corn tortillas”

Los Cucos Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #73 of 265 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
San Antonio, TX
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best handmade corn tortillas”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is one of our favorite restaurants. The menu is huge, with lots of pictures,and the TexMex is not your typical TexMex. Good seafood dishes, the Mexican(not regular) chalupas are great, as are the fish tacos. They are very accommodating about special requests. Service has usually been excellent. About the tortillas. Don't bother with the flour-I've eaten a lot of flour tortillas-and I don't know why they serve these. They are bad. But the corn-are made there and are fabulous! I wonder if reviewers who don't care for Los Cucos are looking for "typical" TexMex enchiladas and crispy tacos. We love the different choices and are rarely disappointed in the quality and taste.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrigatoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    25
    14
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“This place is HORRIBLE”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The service is terrible, I won't tell you where to go but look at my other reviews and you will see where we liked eating. Don't waste your time or money here.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MomOf2OKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beef was tough and not marinated”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We ate here because it is near Schlitterbahn. We had mixed fajitas, chicken taco salad, and a chimichanga. The meat on the salad was cold and had iceberg lettuce. Also the con queso had congealed on top. So the salad had been sitting. The fajitas were sizzling but meat was tough. This location is one large open rectangle. The smoke from the bar travels throughout the place. I do not recommend this place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AlhoaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Margaritas”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I really love their margaritas and chips, salsa, and green dip. The salsa is warm and has a distinct flavor, and the margaritas wash it down so well.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheLyonsGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“ruined fathers day”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I called in advance on fathers day to see when they closed ( 9pm ) but when we arrived at 855 we were turned away as they had already closed. Too bad as the food was good there once before. To make it worse we passed up other places on the way there that were open on the way there but they had closed by the time we left the Cucos parking lot.
And some in our party were faithful returning customers !!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Cucos Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Los Cucos Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing