We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to kick back and relax!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gruene River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gruene River Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 New Braunfels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A great place to kick back and relax!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here two nights and loved the charm of the building and surroundings. Spent time on the porch (private from others with wood walls seperating porches) admiring the sunset and river. We had a large whirlpool tub which was fantastic!
The walk to shops, restaurants and of course Gruene hall was perfect as it ensured the surroundings were quiet!
Lady that checked us in was more then friendly and was able to suggest restaurants.
I loved this place!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvs2travellots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    26
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
11
58
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Wow, is all i can say about Gruene River Inn. The most beautiful view in New Braunfels, overlooking the city. The rooms are so inviting, they need to come and fix up my house... lol... Overall: Great place to stay, staff there to help, and just like staying at a home-a-way-from -home!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawnPhillips78130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Gruene River Inn is absolutely outstanding! The guestrooms are lovely, the staff is stellar (& on site 24/7 in case you need anything), and the view is spectacular.

Not expensive at all, and these folks know more about the local area & night life than anyone.

I was traveling on business & loved it both times I stayed there.
Kept thinking "this is a great place for a romantic getaway" and I'll definitely go there again:-)

Room Tip: Trust the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaseTheFool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Have stayed there on more than one occasion. Always been like a home away from home. Clean, the food is good, within walking distance of downtown Gruene, not noisy at all. I recommend Gruene River Inn to any and everyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DraeBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

As a professional musician I spend alot of time in hotels. This is one of my personal favorites. The staff is courteous and a accomidating. The view of the Guadalupe river is enchanting. Spend a few days at the Gruene inn. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnPowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I am glad I only had one night here. The mountain climb to our bedroom along tight winding wooden stairs was like a tree house and is a danger if there is a fire. The room was uncomfortable and not very clean, soap scum in the tub and dirty floors. A creaky, uncomfortable bed. Rules of what not to do or things won't work. Skimpy low grade breakfast with more rules to make sure all got a little bit. A woman working there came to our door trying to unlock our door while we were in the room shortly after check in. What was up with that? There was no peep hole to see who it was. Done with this.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheScreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Not so bad, but not so good. Bed was hard as a rock. Bathtub faucet leaked and no shower. Had no view of anything. Was close to a lot of shops and food places and within walking distance. Nice people and were helpful when TV did not work. Had a little continental breakfast which was good. If I go back I would want to stay at their main facility.

Room Tip: Call early to be able to get a room with a view of your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
0.7 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#22 of 32 in New Braunfels
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#2 of 32 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
#10 of 32 in New Braunfels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
#7 of 32 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gruene Mansion Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gruene River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gruene River Inn

Property: Gruene River Inn
Address: 1111 Gruene Road, New Braunfels, TX 78130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gruene River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2001, Gruene River Inn is one of the newest accommodations in the New Braunfels and Gruene community. Located a quarter-of-a-mile from Gruene Hall, our Inn is not far from shopping, or dining at the Gristmill. On the banks of the Guadalupe River, the Gruene River Inn gives guests panoramic views that are unmatched in the area. Guests are welcome to fish or swim out back in the Guadalupe River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gruene River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruene River Hotel New Braunfels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing