We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love the atmosphere here”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gristmill

Gristmill
Ranked #6 of 261 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated on a bluff overlooking the Guadalupe River, this spectacular restaurant nestled under the shade of towering oak trees has been the perfect getaway for a unique casual dining experience for thirty years. Located in the historic district of Gruene just beneath the famous Gruene water tower, we opened in 1977, serving steaks and hamburgers from a tiny kitchen in the corner of the building. Our menu still features thick steaks and large hamburgers, but the restaurant also serves up popular South Texas fare like chicken fried steak, fried catfish, grilled chicken, enormous sandwiches, fresh fish and special dishes like tomatillo chicken and bronzed catfish. Fudge pie, the enormous strawberry shortcake and our signature Jack Daniel's Pecan Pie are famous desserts. A full bar with a good wine list and fresh squeezed lime margaritas are also big hits.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
265 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“love the atmosphere here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

The food is very good here, and it is fun to wander from room to room and just enjoy, the onions so big my daughter used as a braclet...portions more than enough, you get your money's worth. I like it better NOT in summer as it isn't airconditioned and can be warm at times even with the fans but doesn't stop tons of folks from coming..go little off high season and it is perfect. Always fun and wait staff great.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank skylanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,394
    719
    222
    52
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Level Contributor
459 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat When You're Touring the Texas Hill Country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

My wife and I have eaten here before, but this time we were with several relatives (brother- and sister-in-law, nephew, his girlfriend, etc.). We ate at a table outside. The service was good, and the food was tasty, not overpriced, and there was tons of it (plan on getting a to-go box). We ordered a spinach/artichoke appetizer with chips, chicken tortilla soup, and pasta salad and had way more than the two of us could eat in one sitting. The ambiance is excellent, particularly after you've had a couple of beers. I did find the rest rooms somewhat hard to locate, however.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank psychprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Place, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

This place was hoping when we were there, many larger parties had an hour long wait for a table. There were two of us, we were willing to sit outside in an enclosed, and heated space, so we got right in. The Service was excellent and the food was very good, and lots of it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittery Point, Maine
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Food was served cold and not very good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

I think people must go to this restaurant primarily for the view because the food was mediocre at best, and I thought it was a very poor value for the money. Five of us went last night. We selected a variety of entrees. I had the avocado grilled chicken and it was horrible. My brother had the chicken fried steak and it was low average quality. The next person had chicken fried chicken and said it was about average but the portions was small. We sat outside on the cool night next a propane heater and should have just gone elsewhere. For the money we spent, I would rate this is a very low experience dining and would not return. The food was the worst I've had in Texas on this visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Iconic restaurant in historic downtown Gruene. Nice relaxed atmosphere, with mostly outdoor seating. We really enjoyed the whole experience. The food was good, but the portion sizes are huge! Plan to take some home with you.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gristmill also viewed

 

Been to Gristmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing