We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great scenery and great food”
Review of Gristmill

Gristmill
Ranked #6 of 265 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Situated on a bluff overlooking the Guadalupe River, this spectacular restaurant nestled under the shade of towering oak trees has been the perfect getaway for a unique casual dining experience for thirty years. Located in the historic district of Gruene just beneath the famous Gruene water tower, we opened in 1977, serving steaks and hamburgers from a tiny kitchen in the corner of the building. Our menu still features thick steaks and large hamburgers, but the restaurant also serves up popular South Texas fare like chicken fried steak, fried catfish, grilled chicken, enormous sandwiches, fresh fish and special dishes like tomatillo chicken and bronzed catfish. Fudge pie, the enormous strawberry shortcake and our signature Jack Daniel's Pecan Pie are famous desserts. A full bar with a good wine list and fresh squeezed lime margaritas are also big hits.
San Marcos, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great scenery and great food”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Located in Historic Gruene overlooking the Guadalupe River, this place has great atmosphere. The food is great! Watch out for long waits on Saturday nights, but it goes by somewhat fast since they have over 1000 tables.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kitkat681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,474
    754
    234
    52
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lumberton, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food with a great view!!!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

First of all, before you are seated at the Gristmill, ask for a table with a view of the river. Pure Awesomeness. All the food is excellent, we've eaten here a couple dozen times, never had anything bad. And the staff has always been super friendly

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeyMcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It rocked”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

A hour wait, but so well worth it! Fabulous Texas food and wonderful rustic interior! Attentive staff!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TriciaT211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It's a tradition”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Gristmill is a required stop for everyone hanging in New Braunfels. They turn a LOT of tables daily and have it down to a science. The amount of food served nightly must be staggering. It's the end of July in Texas, but dinner at 6:00pm is tolerable outside because of all the trees and shade. Would AC be better? Probably...Still can't fathom why some strategically placed fans can't we deployed. Food was good, not exceptional. Quantity was good. Onion rings are outstanding and service is great. I'v gone several times over the years and will continue to return. There is a lot of ambiance in this place and the food is solid and reliable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikesth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very hot outside in July, but pretty”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The atmosphere almost makes up for no a/c, not quite. My chicken fried chicken was a little pink and not very good, but my family enjoyed their chicken fried steak. It was overpriced, especially my strawberry daiquiri that I could not taste a bit of alcohol in for $6.50 (and extremely small). It's in a nice area with shops all around.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gristmill also viewed

 

Been to Gristmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing