We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the coupons, But we go even with out them”
Review of Gristmill

Gristmill
Ranked #6 of 271 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Situated on a bluff overlooking the Guadalupe River, this spectacular restaurant nestled under the shade of towering oak trees has been the perfect getaway for a unique casual dining experience for thirty years. Located in the historic district of Gruene just beneath the famous Gruene water tower, we opened in 1977, serving steaks and hamburgers from a tiny kitchen in the corner of the building. Our menu still features thick steaks and large hamburgers, but the restaurant also serves up popular South Texas fare like chicken fried steak, fried catfish, grilled chicken, enormous sandwiches, fresh fish and special dishes like tomatillo chicken and bronzed catfish. Fudge pie, the enormous strawberry shortcake and our signature Jack Daniel's Pecan Pie are famous desserts. A full bar with a good wine list and fresh squeezed lime margaritas are also big hits.
new braunfels, tx
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the coupons, But we go even with out them”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

This is one of the best place to eat, and when they send us coupon we alwas go. In fact we ate the yesterday, a full rack of Baby back ribs and 2 sides, it was finger liking GOOD, and my husband got the same it was buy 1 get one free!!!! Go even with out the coupons it's SOOOO worth it

Helpful?
1 Thank BrandiNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,492
    760
    237
    57
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really Cool old Gristmill ruins”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

NEat, Neat place to eat, overlooks the river, next to Gruene, maybe Willie will be playing......

Helpful?
Thank unclegrumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seguin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Thank goodness I live close enough...”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

...so I can eat at the Gristmill whenever I get a hankering! You just can't beat this place for the building, the views, and the food. Located in an authentic old grist mill in the village of Gruene, the building retains the old stone and wooden floors and beams from the circa 1850s structure. When I started coming over here about 30 years ago, the restaurant was pretty much confined to the original mill building, but the place has become so popular that it has been expanded to form an absolutely HUGE place to eat. The expansions have been done with an eye to blending in with the original structure, and I'd say it's extremely well done. If the weather is nice, eat outside, overlooking the Guadalupe River.

I've never had a bad meal here, but my absolute favorites are the artichoke and spinach dip, and the baby back ribs. Don't miss the Gruene beans, either.

Live music on the weekends, when it can get really, really crowded. But buy a drink, sit out in the courtyard and listen to the music while you wait for your name to go up on the blackboard.

Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RedPondRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Excellent Outdoor Setting Overlooking the Guadalupe River”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

The Gristmill Restaurant is situated in an old gristmill . cotton gin building at the center of historic Gruene village. Head directly for the old Gruene water tower and you will find the restaurant. I recommend coming on a day when you sit on the deck outside overlooking the Guadalupe River. There are stairs and seating is on chairs / picnic benches. The Grist Burger, chicken-fried steak, and ribs (not on the menu) are particularly good choices. This is a fun restaurant especially when combined with a drink after the meal at the Gruene Tavern next door which has live music nightly.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Outstanding place for a meal and atmosphere”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I have been to this restaurant 4 times and have never been disappointed. You can dine inside or outside. Outside is a multi-tiered deck with views of the Guadalupe River. When the weather is great, I highly recommend sitting outside. I have even been there when it was 100+ degrees and sat under a fan and was very comfortable temperature wise.
The food is excellent. I have had the Beef Tenderloin Salad, the baby back ribs, and a couple other dishes I can't recall their names. Each was done just right.
The service is first class. There is a bevy of wait staff eager to keep your glass filled or take your order. Can't find anything wrong with this place. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gristmill also viewed

 

Been to Gristmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing