We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great variety of BBQ”

New Braunfels Smokehouse
Ranked #60 of 262 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great variety of BBQ”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went here after getting the groupon and were very impressed with what we found. They have a wide variety of different BBQs and a huge selection of items to purchase to take home with all different kinds of smoked meats, sausages, etc. We ate at the restaurant and found everything we had to be good. We will definitely be going back!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    34
    23
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2,372 reviews
1,727 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 978 helpful votes
“Had Not Been Here In 20 Years”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We last stopped in New Braunfels Smokehouse perhaps 20 years ago. Have been getting the mail out catalogs for years though. The ad that got us to thinking was the one showing the chicken and dumplings which we love. This place has been around since 1945 and is still thriving. The old fashion dumplings and chicken are the entrée to order.I do believe though that the food and serve was better years ago. This place has a loot of competition that it did not have many years ago.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texaswillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It's meat.”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Was heading home and stopped in to pick up some brisket and sausage since I was driving by and it was easy. Nothing special especially in a town that has good BBQ. I got it to go, but there was no one inside eating around 5PM. The brisket was more expensive than other BBQ in the area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank myocastor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrell, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
112 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“All things smoked are best here!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This smokehouse is the best around. They choose their cuts well (such as pork chops) and have some fat in their sausages but nothing more than to make a good sausage. They don't overload the fat here.

I also send care packages to my relatives each year for the Holiday season. As gift packages go, These are reasonably priced for the high Quality product they produce. They also supply the brauts to Wunderfest.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“My, how things have changed!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My history with the New Braunfels Smokehouse goes back many years. Every time I drove past New Braunfels, I made it a point to stop in for a meal and several rings of the wonderful Bismarkian sausage.

The "new" location (at the back of the original property) is much smaller and has a very limited menu. The Bismarkian sausage is just as good, but there's a little "something" missing that changes the experience from really outstanding to a little more in the middle.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank texquill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Braunfels Smokehouse also viewed

 
New Braunfels, TX
New Braunfels, TX
 

Been to New Braunfels Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing