We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well kept secret!”
Review of The River House

The River House
Ranked #14 of 271 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A well kept secret!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Dinner is only served on Friday and Saturday evenings, but it's well worth the limited schedule. We have been 3 times and it has been consistently good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    35
    6
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Favorite Place To Eat”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Just when I think it can't get better, it does. Absolutely love the quiche plate...get it every time!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank OneoftheSistas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Sangria”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Every time I go to Austin, I make sure to go to River House Tea Room just to have a glass of Sangria. It's VERY fruity and you can spend the whole afternoon enjoying it..

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank N061109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“What a delight with delicious food!”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I very seldom give 5 Stars to a restaurant, but this one deserves one! My daughter, granddaughter, and I stopped for lunch and were all very pleased with our new find! The weather was nice, so we sat outside at a shaded table. The extensive menu made it hard to choose! I started with a fresh, crisp salad followed by the amazing Grilled Salmon entree. Cooked to perfect with lovely flavors. Daughter ordered a Country Fried Chicken Salad that was large enough for 2 people! Annabell ordered a kids grilled cheese sandwich and french fries - a usual picky eater - but she polished off the whole plate!

I can hardly wait to return with my husband - he's going to love the River House too!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scubamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chef Carol never dissapoints”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Some people call Gruene a tourist trap, especially during the summer but the Tea room is one of those little places that is very popular for the locals. Their quiche is delish and the afternoon tea with snacks is relaxing.
Plenty of parking and it fills up fast. You can tell that Chef Carol is passionate about her food.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank rsbwebmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River House also viewed

 

Been to The River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing