We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Rudy's

Rudy's
Ranked #13 of 265 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Bar-B-Q was added to the operation in 1989, and Rudy's "Country Store" and Bar-B-Q has been serving up tasty food ever since. The same original recipes that built Rudy's Leon Springs' reputation are now available throughout the Southwest.
Comfort, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Coming through New Braunfels on the way home from an auto race. It was late and we were hungry. Stopped at Rudy's at a quarter after ten. Our brisket was tender and delicious. The service was just great although they were closing at ten thirty. Not our first visit, and won't be our last.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    71
    33
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love, love, love Rudy's”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

It's been some time since I've been to Rudy's, but it has got to be one of my favorite places to eat of all time. It's simple, but delicious. You order your meat by weight and the sides are wonderful. My favorite is the creamed corn. It does not get any better than this corn. The Rudy's sauce is fantastic as well. You will not be disappointed with a visit to Rudy's.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clemsongrad93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Too much fat on the brisket!”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I did the take out order for the first time this week at Rudy's BBQ restaurant. I asked the waitress what the difference was between the moist brisket and the lean brisket. She said the lean had less fat and was drier. I should have ordered the lean. There was more fat than meat on the moist brisket. I will not go back there again even to try the lean. I wasn't that impressed with the quality of the meat. Will look for a better source for barbecue.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dowagiac, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Texas BBQ.”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Some say you have to go to Lockhart for the best Texas BBQ, which we did, and it was great. But Rudy's is one of my favorites. Picnic tables, no plates, gas station in front and lots of great food.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank blbuszek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wow - Great BBQ!”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This was some great BBQ Texas style that I found delicious, original and fun! The meat was super tender and flavorful, but I still drowned it in spicy BBQ sauce. Loved the creamed corn and the cold beer to have with it.

Very good stuff!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank AlexNRP069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing