We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”

Alpine Haus Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 306 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $24
Cuisines: Austrian, German, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: For a fine dining experience, come to Alpine Haus Restaurant, in New Braunfels, Texas. We specialize in Bavarian style cooking with influences from Germany, Austria and Switzerland. All the traditional Schnitzels, Rinder Rouladen, Sauerbraten, Rinder Goulash , Schweinebraten, Huhnerbrust Geschnetzeltes, and of course many different sausages round out a diverse menu. We also offer an extensive collection of German beers and wine with pairing information to help you make the best complimentary selection for your meal. Bring your friends and family to our restaurant for amazing food and an authentic German experience, located in a 164-year-old historic building in the heart of downtown New Braunfels.
Reviewed November 2, 2018

A charming atmosphere in the 1850's house, a cute and knowledgeable server named Mary Jane, and wonderful food. We hadn't eaten since breakfast so by dinner time we were starving. Our table shares a sausage platter as well as fried mushroom appetizers. Everyone has different entrees and finished with Alpine Pie. Everything was delightful!!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Veronica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 543 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2018 via mobile

Still my favorite German restaurant in the San Antonio area. Food is S authentic as you will find this side of the ocean. And the German beer list is extensive for a restaurant in this area.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Dennis10_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2018

Food was good, service was good, restaurant was quaint. We came specifically for the authentic potato dumplings, and while tasty, they fell short of our expectations. They lacked the density of authentic dumplings and had the texture more like mash potato balls. The purple cabbage was delicious, and would have hoped for a larger serving portion based on the price. Substantial list of beers for a small town restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SuperwonderPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2018 via mobile

We had a delicious authentic German dinner at Alpine Haus. Soup was homemade cream of garlic— perfect for a crisp fall evening. My husband had the cordon bleu schnitzel and I selected sauerbraten. I lived in Germany, and these harkened back to my memorable meals there. Our waitress, Shelby, was personable and knowledgeable. The owner was very accommodating, as we did not have a reservation yet there was seating so we were lucky! Our server surprised us with complementary apple strudel dessert which was light and flaky. We took advantage of the beer and wine recommendations for our main courses. Historic home was well appointed and cozy. It is tucked behind 2 larger buildings, so its helpful to know that it is directly across the street from the Faust Hotel.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Milestone2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2018 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful German meal, the food was some of the best German cuisine I’ve ever had. Great service and a quaint building. If you are in the area do your self s favor and have a great meal. I’m so glad we stopped by!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Crystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Haus Restaurant also viewed

 
New Braunfels, TX
New Braunfels, TX
 

Been to Alpine Haus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing