We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-So”

Alpine Haus Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 306 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $24
Cuisines: Austrian, German, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: For a fine dining experience, come to Alpine Haus Restaurant, in New Braunfels, Texas. We specialize in Bavarian style cooking with influences from Germany, Austria and Switzerland. All the traditional Schnitzels, Rinder Rouladen, Sauerbraten, Rinder Goulash , Schweinebraten, Huhnerbrust Geschnetzeltes, and of course many different sausages round out a diverse menu. We also offer an extensive collection of German beers and wine with pairing information to help you make the best complimentary selection for your meal. Bring your friends and family to our restaurant for amazing food and an authentic German experience, located in a 164-year-old historic building in the heart of downtown New Braunfels.
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

Not like any dining experience I ever had in Germany.
The food was OK but three in our party of four thought everything was too salty. The atmosphere was OK but nothing special and I would probably not go again. We did have a good waiter but once they got busy it was difficult for him to keep up. It was not what I would consider a typical German guest house/restaurant atmosphere although they did have some interesting beer Steins and other items around the restaurant. I also feel like it was a little overpriced.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 543 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

Just had a wonderful dinner at the Alpine House. Met the owner and tried many items off the menu.....even three desserts. Our favorite was the Cordon Bleu Schnitzel. If the son (chef) wasn’t already married we would have taken him home. Great selection of beers. Thank you Alpine House for a great evening.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank NoellaG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

The food is excellent! Probably the best German food I’ve had that wasn’t home cooked. Highly recommend this restaurant if you are in the New Braunfels area. Make sure you make a reservation though.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Wsteinhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

This restaurant has fine German food. It has a lovely atmosphere that lends itself to relaxed dining and quiet conversation.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018 via mobile

We were treated to a tasty and authentic German meal by our hosts and good friends during our visit to Texas. The Alpine Haus is the real thing when it comes to authentic German cuisine. The Rouladen was tender enough to cut with a dinner fork. The potato dumplings were cooked to perfection. The pan gravy complemented the dish and the side of red cabbage was as good as my grandmother’s used to be. I look forward to another visit in the near future.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 47Mikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Haus Restaurant also viewed

 
New Braunfels, TX
New Braunfels, TX
 

Been to Alpine Haus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing