We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best German Restaurant in America”

Alpine Haus Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 261 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $24
Cuisines: German, European, Central European, Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: For a fine dining experience, come to Alpine Haus Restaurant, in New Braunfels, Texas. We specialize in Bavarian style cooking with influences from Germany, Austria and Switzerland. All the traditional Schnitzels, Rinder Rouladen, Sauerbraten, Rinder Goulash , Schweinebraten, Huhnerbrust Geschnetzeltes, and of course many different sausages round out a diverse menu. We also offer an extensive collection of German beers and wine with pairing information to help you make the best complimentary selection for your meal. Bring your friends and family to our restaurant for amazing food and an authentic German experience, located in a 164-year-old historic building in the heart of downtown New Braunfels.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Best German Restaurant in America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Ok, I haven't been to all if the German restaurants in America, but my wife and I did live in Germany for 3 years when we were first married 40 years ago. So, we do know good German food. Their schnitzel, spaetzle, sauerkraut and red cabbage were the best we have had since those days in Germany years ago. This place is rated number 1 here and it deserves the rating in the food, the service and atmosphere. Tonight we have been listening to two lovely young ladies play the accordion and violin all evening. I can't imagine another German restaurant here in the states that can top this one. Go and you will be pleased.

Helpful?
1 Thank RLStandridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    70
    23
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Alpine Haus outside of San Antonio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was a great little German restaurant. The hostess that seated us is true blue German and her son is the chef. It is obvious that they take pride in the quality of the food, it's presentation, and the cleanliness of the restaurant. My wife and have two different palates; she is from Mississippi and I am from Germany. Still, we both were very satisfied with this delightful little restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The Fox says I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I brought my girlfriend here for our 6 month anniversary. The beer and wine selection was pretty good and it's a nice little restaurant. To be honest though the food and the service were our favorite parts. The food was amazing. And Phillip was our waiter and he was wonderful. He was so nice, polite, and very attentive. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexS2314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best German Restaurant this side of Fredricksburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

In the past we felt like we had to go to Fredricksburg (or Germany or Austria) to get really good German food. This is truly outstanding. We live in NB and have eaten here many times, both lunch and dinner, as well as bringing guests. It has never disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marybw33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Orignal, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Schnitzels in Austria....Schnitzels in New Braunfels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Very Very good restaurant, we were in New Braunfels the first week on January, We found that Haus on the internet. We were very happy to go eat german food there. The taste of the food remembered us ou trip in austria last June. The service was excellent, the wine was goog, the food was super good. The owners are very friendly too. We would recommand that restaurant to anyone who want a taste of Germany or Austria. The decor was fabulous, like those restaurant in europe! WOW!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank millette2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Haus Restaurant also viewed

 
New Braunfels, TX
New Braunfels, TX
 

Been to Alpine Haus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing