We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful German dinning experience”

Alpine Haus Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 263 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $24
Cuisines: Austrian, German, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: For a fine dining experience, come to Alpine Haus Restaurant, in New Braunfels, Texas. We specialize in Bavarian style cooking with influences from Germany, Austria and Switzerland. All the traditional Schnitzels, Rinder Rouladen, Sauerbraten, Rinder Goulash , Schweinebraten, Huhnerbrust Geschnetzeltes, and of course many different sausages round out a diverse menu. We also offer an extensive collection of German beers and wine with pairing information to help you make the best complimentary selection for your meal. Bring your friends and family to our restaurant for amazing food and an authentic German experience, located in a 164-year-old historic building in the heart of downtown New Braunfels.
new braunfels texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful German dinning experience”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Dinner
First impressions charming, warm and inviting.
Excellent service and the food was outstanding.
The whole dinner was special from start to finish.
Salad fresh and crisp
Potato salad melted in your mouth, the best we ever had.
And the red cabbage was a real treat - sweet and sour - yum.
We ordered schnitzel and it was the best we ever had - ( and we lived in Germany before!).
Don't forget to order desert - it is all delicious.
We plan to come back many times.
What a treasure here in New Braunfels, TX

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank darlene c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    70
    23
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A visit to Germany without the plane fare or 10 hour trip”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband, daughter and I arrived to town looking for the best German fare New Braunfels had to offer. We succeeded!! We have visited New Braunfels numerous times and eaten German food each time but never as well prepared and tasty as we found it to be at this establishment. Every dish was prepared to perfection and the chef even came out to check on us and the quality of the meal. The meal was superb as were the three desserts we all shared. The waitstaff were all very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely return as soon as we travel to the hill country again. It is worth the drive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Texexpatsinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful, intimate dining experience!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Built around a historic old home, the food here rates absolutely tops in this community - and we're local, so we've tried all the German cuisine here. The folks are from Southern Germany (which DOES make a difference), and the folks really go out of their way to make you feel at home. If you're not familiar with German dishes, they'll gladly tell you what is what!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a treasure!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I'm of German heritage, so I'm very critical of so-called German restaurants. I can tell you that Alpine Haus more than impressed me! I had the rouladen, potato dumplings and red cabbage, and it was so tasty. The menu has a wonderful selection of entrees, beers and wines, and our server was so friendly and knowledgeable! I will definitely be back, now that we know where it is. My only complaint would be that it's a little hard to find because it is set back from the street and the sign isn't very big. But once you know it's there you won't have any problems. The decor was wonderful, too. It was simple and clean, not overdone with kitschy junk. Love this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnetteTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Jem in New Braunfels”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Probably the best Schnitzel I've ever had! And I have been to Germany, Switzerland, and Austria. Pricing was reasonable and the portions were pretty generous. Everything was fresh and homemade, you could tell by the breading on the fried mushrooms. I liked that they didn't rush the experience, they took their time with bringing out each meal so that you could enjoy it. The waitress was really sweet and on top of everything we asked for. Everyone really enjoyed eating here and we will be back again :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Haus Restaurant also viewed

 
New Braunfels, TX
 

Been to Alpine Haus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing