We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast I've EVER had!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Braunfels
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gruene River Hotel & Retreat
Ranked #3 of 12 New Braunfels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2010

My friends and I went to the Gruene Apple for a "girls weekend" and had a WONDERFUL relaxing time. We relaxed by the pool, shopped at the Gruene boutiques, and hit the nearby Outlet Mall. Our room, Room with a View, was beautiful, spacious, and filled with unique treasures. The Gruene Apple is truly a unique and enjoyable inn!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GingerJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 110 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2010

How do you describe heaven?

You could start with individualized rooms decorated with favorite themes, intellectual stimulation provided by an all-inclusive library, lots of lounging areas with both inside and out, a recreation lounge.complete with pool table, shuffleboard, Pac-Man Machine, cappachino machine & movie viewing availabe at select times. AND then you have gourmet breakfast prepared entirely by the members of this family who dreamed, built, and graciously maintains this 'little piece of paradise" .

The only trouble you will have is remembering that you have to leave -- sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pearl76053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at the Gruene Apple B&B on a company paid get-away weekend twice now and the second time was just as good, if not better, than the first. First impressions are everything...they stayed open later than their normal business hours to welcome those of us that weren't able to get out of Dallas quick enough, so it was nice to have a smiling face when we walked in the door. The rooms are absolutely amazing...they think of every detail to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The beds are awesome - they just scream luxury and they are known for their gourmet breakfasts. Can you say yummy?!!! Holy night...we're talking gourmet quiches, homemade biscuits and gravy, bacon, sausage, crepes stuffed with 3 kinds of cheeses served with a strawberry sauce, cinnamon french toast casserole served with a praline sauce, fresh fruit galore, and for the not-such-a-big-breakfast-eaters out there, they have cereal, muffins, and homemade breads and jams. You can't beat the breakfast, but more importantly, you can't beat the service. They will bend over backwards to make your stay as welcoming and warming as possible. I love the Gruene Apple B&B and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else when in town. Love, Love, LOVE this place!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happycamper197175006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We love the different room designs, the Breakfast was fabulous every morning. The wine tasting is fun and the evening movie is great. The Game room is a blast. The view of the river and the location to all the shops,restaurants, and dance hall can't be beat (walking distance to all.). The service was excellent !!!!!!!!! We will go back again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wrt1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

I love the Gruene Apple. It is truly one of the hidden gems of Texas. The room was amazing-- beautifully decorated, spacious, luxurious and clean. It has a 5 star look yet still has a cozy, comfortable feel. The picturesque view of the river was breathtaking. The owners and staff were so welcoming and incredibly nice. I plan to visit again very soon. Love, Love the Gruene Apple!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

This stop is highly overrated by AAA. Rooms are un- insulated and noisy, pool is unheated and spa avaialbe only "by request". Staff is rude and obnoxious on phone and in person! Worst, in a charming village with historic structures, this is an architectually boring, new building with FAKE flowers leading to the door. bathrooms have cheap plastic glassware and tiny coffee pots with very cheap cups and no place for toiletries. None of the nicer amenities you expect form a 4 starrrated property.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reviewerabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We visit the Gruene area twice a year. This is one of our two favorite places to stay, with this being the most luxurious. It is very quiet and for adults only. The rooms only accommodate two people. You can walk down to the Guadalupe River (a bit steep), they have a pool, a library and large game room. Some of the other amenities include free wine every evening at 5:30 and a movie at 7:00. I think that every room has a private balcony. The location is very convenient and in easy walking distance to everything in Gruene.
My suggestion to anyone visiting this place and watching their weight: Diet before and after! This is because of their breakfast. It is amazing! We stayed here for three nights and every day's menu was different. Homemade biscuits with gravy, egg casseroles, bacon, sausage, homemade granola/oatmeal, then there is the fruit and sweet table! Oh my! I even bought their cookbook!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lafayette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
2.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
0.9 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#26 of 33 in New Braunfels
110 reviews
2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#2 of 33 in New Braunfels
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Braunfels
0.1 mi away
Gruene Mansion Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Gruene Homestead Inn
Gruene Homestead Inn
#4 of 12 in New Braunfels
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gruene River Hotel & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gruene River Hotel & Retreat

Address: 1235 Gruene Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78130-3003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in New Braunfels
Price Range: $145 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Gruene, with Guadalupe River access, this 14 room, boutique retreat provides a truly unique vacation or corporate retreat guest experience. Walk down to the river from the backyard or stroll through the historic district's amazing shops and restaurants, and kick up your heels to live music at Texas' oldest dance hall. Enjoy a complimentary wine happy hour each evening, and come to the table hungry in the morning for a fabulous gourmet breakfast buffet. For a romantic getaway, business retreat or fun weekend of dining, dancing, shopping and sight seeing, the Gruene River Hotel and Retreat! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gruene Apple Hotel New Braunfels
Gruene Apple Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing